Skip to main content
King County logo

The King County Transit Advisory Commission improves transit services, planning, and programs by advising Metro’s staff members and general manager, the King County Executive and Council, local jurisdictions, and subarea transportation boards concerning transit policy issues.

About the commission

The commission was established in January 2011 by King County ordinance #17025 (PDF download).The ordinance merged two previous advisory groups, the Transit Advisory Committee and the Accessible Services Advisory Committee.

Learn more about…

  • Advise Metro on the inception and development of long-range planning efforts.
  • Advise Metro and King County on issues essential to transit service in King County, including matters of concern to the elderly and persons with disabilities.
  • Serve as a resource for inter-jurisdictional transit promotion and coordination.

The commission members include residents, businesses, and other stakeholders concerned about transit service in the county. Most are bus riders. All live in King County, and collectively they reflect the county's diversity. At least half are people who have disabilities, are elderly, or work with these populations.

Members are appointed by the King County Executive and approved by the King County Council for two-year appointments.

Current members
  • Judy Daufney-Stenberg
  • David Johnson
  • Matt Koltnow
  • Andrew Martin
  • Gale Shinozaki
  • Lucas Simons
  • Jacob Struiksma
  • David Wiggins

The commission meets monthly or as needed to complete its work plan and address other issues as they arise. Monthly meetings are held from 6 to 8 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month in downtown Seattle.

These meetings are open to the public, but please note that the commission is not a decision making body, so it does not accept public comment. If you wish to express your views on transit to decision makers, the King County Council's Regional Transit Committee and Mobility Committee meet regularly and offer time on their agendas for public comment.

We are currently accepting applications for new members. We’re recruiting applicants from county council districts 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, and 9, and we encourage youths, people of color, and people with disabilities to apply.

Please complete and submit our application by July 20.

You may also download the application and return it to us by email or regular mail (see the contact information on this page).

Translation disclaimer