1401 E Jefferson Suite 506

m Superior Court of the State of Centalied Diversion Service

s Cotn Washington Seattle WA 98122
KingCounty for the County of King 332?323?3
NOTICE TO PARENTS AND YOUTH (FAX) (206)296-1453
Date:
C/O: Re:
DOB:
JCN:

The Prosecuting Attorney has forwarded to our agency a referral from the AUBURN Police Department aileging
that the above named youth committed the following offense(s):

of on

The prosecutor’s office has reviewed this offense report and found it to be sufficient to file a criminal charge, but has
determined that it will be sent to a Diversion unit rather than filed in Juvenile Court. Diversion units handle
minor/first-time offenders. The purpose of the program is to help parents and child resolve this matter instead of going
through the formal court process.

The differences between Juvenile Court filings and Diversion are as follows:

Juvenile Court: Hearings are open to the public - Lawyer appointed
Appear before Judge
Hearings are held in Seattle during the day
If convicted, the conviction is public record
Fee is charged

Diversion: Proceedings are confidential — No lawyer appointed
Appear before diversion citizen board
Meetings are held in the community, usually in the evening
Criminal history is not a public record
Fee is charged

If you sign a diversion agreement for, or are sentenced in court for one or more of the following offenses: inhaling
toxic fumes; a controlled substance violation; a liquor violation; assault; harassment; reckless burning; malicious
mischief: weapons; and/or reckless endangerment, notice will be sent to your school principal.

You have the right to talk to a lawyer before you decide to go through diversion. A Public Defender is available free
of charge 8:30 to 4:30, Monday through Friday, at 206-205-5998. Please do this within 3 days of receiving this letter.

If you choose to go through Diversion, please fill out the enclosed diversion fee form and return it by

IF YOU DO NOT RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE, YOU WILL LOSE YOUR OPPORTUNITY FOR
COMMUNITY DIVERSION, AND YOUR CASE WILL BE RETURNED TO COURT FOR THE
FILING OF CRIMINAL CHARGES.

We know this may be a difficult time for you and your family. It is our intention to handle this matter as quickly
and confidentially as possible.



Q Superior Court of the State of Centralized Diversion Services

1401 E Jefferson Suite 506

o Washington Seattle WA 98122
KingCounty . catle WA 9
for the County of King oo 1175
DIVERSION SERVICES (FAX) (206)296-1493
WHAT IS A DIVERSION FEE?

Under King County Law and Chapter 171 Laws of Washington 1993 and RCW 13.40, the Superior Court is required to recover the
costs of diversion. To the extent that they are financially able, parents and guardians are responsible for the costs of the diversion
service of their children in Washington State. The maximum amount you are required to pay is $263.00, the cost of diversion,

IS A FEE WAIVER AVAILABLE?

No child may be denied diversion based on the parents’ inability to pay. FOSTER PARENTS and PARENTS WHO RECEIVE S§SI
BENEFITS ARE NOT REQUIRED T¢ PAY DIVERSION FEES, For families receiving medical coupons, all family members MUST
_be listed on current coupon and a copy must be included with the fee form. Those with adequate incomes will be required to pay the
full amount.

If you are receiving public assistance, cither through DSHS or supplemental social security, please enclose a copy of a check stub or
- statement of benefits including your case number in order to document that you receive assistance. This does not include
pensions such as widow/chitd benefits from a deceased spouse or parent, The information you provide by matl will be confidential
and will only be used in regards to the diversion fee. This information is subject to verification.

WHAT IF I AM ABLE TO PAY?

If you are able to pay the $263.00, please fill out Side A only. Check method of payment, sign and return fo our office. Enclose your
payment if appropriate.

WHAT IF I CANNOT PAY?

If you do not have the capacity to pay the $263.00, you must apply for a financial status review. To apply for a financial status review
you must fill out Section A (labeled "Diversion Fee'') and Section B (labeled "Financial Statement™) of the Diversion Form.

Section B is on the back of Section A, Mail this completed form along with copies of your two most recent pay stubs, most recent

W2 tax forms, and/or other documents which verify your financial status. A Finzncial Screener at the Superior Court will review
your financial status and assess or waive your fee based on the federal poverty guidelines. The assessed fee may be paid in four
instailments.

If you have any questions, call (206) 296-1130 between 8:30a.m. and 4:30p.m., Monday through Friday.

WHAT IF I WANT THIS MATTER REFERRED TO COURT RATHER THAN DIVERSION?

If you decide that you want this matter referred (o court, you need to fill out Side A only and check the proper box. If you want to
consult with the Public Defender’s Office, they can be reached at 206-205-5998.



FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

SECTION A AIRS Customer #5120~
DIVERSION FEE 3::;:?? Fee

PLEASE FILL OUT AND MAIL TO: King County Superior Court

From:

Re:

Balance Billed

Juvenile Diversion Services
1401 E. Jefferson Suite 506
Seattle, WA 98122

PARENT OR GUARDIAN MUST COMPLETE SECTION A (Please Print)

Parent/Guardian Last Name Parent/guardian First Name (relationship to youth)

Address (Apt # if applicable)

City, State, Zip Code

Is this a new address?

Area Code and Phone Number (Preferably daytime) Yes No
Diversion # Child's Name
Offense(s) Child's Birthdate

AMOUNT OF FEE

#% Per King County Law, the fee for diversion is $263.00.
** If you are able to pay, complete Section A only. The form MUST be filled out completely or it will be returned.

DO YOU QUALIFY FOR NQO FEE? Fill out Section A completely.

- For foster parents - Enclose a copy of the childs DSHS card and caseworker information.

- For recipients of SSI Disabliity - Enclose a copy of the Disability letter.

- For families receiving medical coupons, all family members MUST be listed on the current coupon - a copy MUST be
enclosed with the Diversion Fee Form.

DO YOU QUALIFY FOR A REDUCED FEE? Fili out Section A and Section B {on back) completely.

- Include a copy of the most recent pay stub/unemployment check and/for last year's W-2 tax information. Return form to the
above address. The Screener will assess the information. Do not send payment to the above address, you will be billed for

the amount owed.
- If parents(s) are not included on the DSHS medical coupon, fill out Section A and Section B (on back) completely. You
MUST include a recent copy of a pay stub and /or last year's W-2 tax form.

METHQD OF PAYMENT _ (Choose One)

Enclosed is a check or money order for $263.00 payable to King County Superior Court
Please bill me. (The billed amount may be paid in four instatllments)
Copy of medical card/coupon or DSHS/ Social Security letter enclosed.

or
Please reject the case from Diversion. 1 wish to go to trial.

X X
Signature of Parent/Guardian Date

INTERPRETER LANGUAGE {IF REQUIRED):



SECTION B
FINANCIAL STATEMENT

Please complete, sign and return to:  King County Superior Court
Juvenile Diversion Services
1401 E. Jefferson Suite 506
Seattle, WA 98115
Or by fax at (206) 296-1493

Social Security # Total Number in household:
(Count yourself, spouse and legal dependents})
Marital Status (Please circle one): Single Married Divorced Separated Widowed

If you are requesting 2 reduction in fee, please answer the following blanlks. You must enclose a copy of your most recent check stub
and/or W-2 tax form and return to Superior Court.

EMPLOYMENT HISTORY
Adult Employer: How long worked? _°
Spouse/Partner Employer: How long worked?
Child's Employer: How long worked?
Monthly Net Wages (Adult): § Monthly Net Wages (Spouse/Partner): §
Monthly Wages Child: $ If homemaker, please indicate §
If self-employed, please specify quarterly income: $ How long?
Other Income (Source and Monthly Amount): $
MONTHLY EXPENSES
Rent/Mortgage
Utilities (heat, light, water, sewer, garbage, etc):
Telephone
Auto or other Loan Payments
Food

Medical Insurance (if you pay, not your employer})
Medical/Dental bills (either monthly payments on past due bills
or monthly expenditures not reimbursed by medical insurance)
Auto Insurance

Child Support

Day Care (for legal dependents only)

Consolidated Debt Payments/Credit Card Payments (monthly)
Payment on Existing Court Orders

FAMILY ASSETS

Equity in Real Estate (value of property minus balance of loan)

Bank/Credit Union Savings Balance

Bank/Credit Union Checking Balance

IRA Balance

Money Market Balance

Mutual Funds (current value)

Stocks/Bonds (current value)

401 K or Deferred Income Balance

Vehicle: Make Model Year Balance

I HEREBY CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THIS INFORMATION IS TRUE
AND CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.

Signature of Parent/Guardian Date




