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How to 

Ask for an Order of Default  
If the Respondent has not appeared 
 
 
Use this packet ONLY if:  

▪ The other party was properly served, and if he/she did not appear at any hearings or file any 
documents in your case and the other party has missed the deadline to respond: 
 

20 days If respondent was served in person in Washington state  

60 days If respondent was served in person outside of Washington state or by publication. 

90 days If respondent was served by mail. 

 

▪ If it has been more than a year since the other party was personally served or served by mail, you are 
required to schedule a hearing in family law and serve the other party with notice of the hearing. 
Please see Facilitator instruction “Default in Family Law.” 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Talk to a lawyer, if you can 
These instructions have been developed by the King County Superior Court Family Law Information Center. 
They are not intended to be a substitute for legal advice.  They provide only legal information. It’s a good idea 
to talk to a lawyer before you file any forms.   
 
If you cannot afford a lawyer, you can:  

 
• You can obtain a list of low-cost and free legal resources. https://kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/superior-

court/docs/family/facilitator/family-law-resources.ashx?la=en 
 

• Get help from the Family Law Facilitators office. You can get information about their services at 
https://kingcounty.gov/courts/superior-court/family/facilitator.aspx.  

 

https://kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/superior-court/docs/family/facilitator/family-law-resources.ashx?la=en
https://kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/superior-court/docs/family/facilitator/family-law-resources.ashx?la=en
https://kingcounty.gov/courts/superior-court/family/facilitator.aspx
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Step 1:  Fill out these forms. 
 

       All of these forms can be downloaded at:  www.courts.wa.gov/forms/ 
 

Form Name Form Number Notes Completed  

Motion for Default  FL All Family 161 
This is where you tell the 
court why the other party is in 
default. 

 

Order on Motion for Default  FL All Family 162 
Fill this out the way you would 
like the Commissioner to 
decide. 

 

 
 
Note: You must have valid proof of service of the Summons, Petition and Case Schedule. Provide a 
copy of the Proof of Personal Service along with your completed forms. 
 

 
Step 2:  Fill Out the Ex Parte via the Clerk Cover sheet  
  
      This form can be downloaded at:   

http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/forms.aspx or it is available at the Clerk’s office 
Form Name Form Number Notes Completed  

Ex-Parte via the Clerk Coversheet  
None Use accurate contact 

information 
 

 
 
Step 3: Submit original forms to the Clerk’s Office. 

 

▪ Deliver your completed documents to the clerk’s office in person (E-609 in Seattle or 2C in 
Kent).   
 
Or 
 

For information on how to submit your request via mail or electronically, visit:  
http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/documents/ExParte.aspx 
 

▪ There is a fee required for the clerk’s office to present your documents to the 
commissioner.  If you believe you are eligible for a fee waiver, speak to a clerk or visit: 
http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/fees.aspx 
 

▪ The clerk will notify you of the commissioner’s decision by the method you selected in the Ex 
Parte via the Clerk Coversheet.  

 

▪ After the Order has been signed the Clerk will automatically file the original documents and 
return a copy of the Order to you via the method you requested.   
 

• Once you receive the signed Order on Motion for Default and you are ready to finalize your case, you can 
visit the Family Law Information Center for instructions on how to schedule and prepare for your final 
hearing. 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20161%20Motion%20for%20Default_2020%2003.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20162%20Order%20on%20Motion%20for%20Default_2020%2003.doc
http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/forms.aspx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/expvc-coversheet-docx.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/documents/ExParte.aspx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/fees.aspx

