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 FLIC 5.1 

 
 
How to ask for  
Custody of a child that is not yours  
and the parents do not agree  

 
IMPORTANT!  The current law about nonparental custody, RCW 26.10, will not be in effect after 
12/31/2020.  If your case is not concluded by that time with final orders entered (either by default or by 
agreement), you will need to file a Petition for Minor Guardianship under RCW 11.130.185 et seq. 

 

 

 
  

Talk to a lawyer, if you can 
These instructions have been developed by the King County Superior Court Family Law Information Center. They 
are not intended to be a substitute for legal advice.  They provide only legal information. It’s a good idea to talk to 
a lawyer before you file any forms.  If you cannot afford a lawyer, you can:  

 

• Find a lawyer to help you with the most difficult parts of your case, such as reviewing your forms, 
explaining how to get ready for court and confirming this is the best legal action for your case.  You can 
contact the King County Bar Association to ask for a referral. 

 

• Ask the Family Law Facilitator’s office for a list of low-cost and free legal resources.  
 

King County Superior Court  
516 3rd Ave, Room W-382 
Seattle, WA 98104 

Maleng Regional Justice Center 
401 4th Ave North, Room 3D 
Kent, WA 98032 
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 Step 1:  Fill out these forms:  
 

These forms can be downloaded at: http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/forms.aspx   
Form Name Form Number Notes Completed 

Case Information Cover Sheet   
 

Confidential Information FL All Family 001 Download this form at: 
www.courts.wa.gov/forms 

 

Attachment to Confidential 
Information (Additional Parties or 
Children) 

FL All Family 002  

 

 
 

 These forms can be downloaded at: www.courts.wa.gov/forms 
Form Name Form Number Notes Completed 

Order to DSHS to Release CPS 
Information (Non-Parent 
Custody) 

FL Non-Parent 407 This form orders the Dept. of Children 
and Family Services to give the Court 
any information they have about 
everyone living in your home.  See 
Step 3 

 

Sealed CPS Information (Cover 
Sheet) 

FL Non-Parent 408  
 

Criminal History Record (Cover 
Sheet) (Non-Parent Custody) 

FL Non-Parent 406 Petitioner needs to submit a 
Washington State Patrol background 
check for each household member 
over 16.  You can ask for these 
records for $12 each request at:         
http://watch.wsp.wa.gov/ or by mail 
for $16 for each request by filling out a 
Request for Conviction Criminal 
History Record form and send the 
completed form with a check or money 
order to:  

Washington State Patrol 
Identification and Criminal History 

Section 
P.O. Box 42633 

        Olympia, WA  98504-2633 
 
Attach Criminal History Record(s) you 
obtain from Washington State Patrol 
to this Cover Sheet.   

 

Summons: Notice about Non-
Parent Custody Petition 

FL Non-Parent 400  
 

Non-Parent Custody Petition FL Non-Parent 401  
 

Residential Schedule (Non-
Parent Custody)  

FL Non-Parent 405 Visitation for parents can be requested 
here. 

 

Notice Re Military Dependent FL All Family 103  
 

 
 
 
 

http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/forms.aspx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/CICS-family-docx.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/confidential-info-docx.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/confidential-info-attachmt-docx.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/confidential-info-attachmt-docx.ashx?la=en
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20407%20Order%20to%20DCYF%20to%20Release%20CPS%20Info_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20407%20Order%20to%20DCYF%20to%20Release%20CPS%20Info_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20407%20Order%20to%20DCYF%20to%20Release%20CPS%20Info_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20408%20Sealed%20CPS%20Info%20Cover%20Sheet%20Final_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20408%20Sealed%20CPS%20Info%20Cover%20Sheet%20Final_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20406%20Criminal%20History%20Record%20Cover%20Sheet.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20406%20Criminal%20History%20Record%20Cover%20Sheet.doc
http://watch.wsp.wa.gov/
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20400%20Summons-Non-Parent%20Custody%20Petition_2016_09.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20400%20Summons-Non-Parent%20Custody%20Petition_2016_09.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20401%20Non-Parent%20Custody%20Petition_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20405%20Residential%20Schedule%20-%20NPC_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20405%20Residential%20Schedule%20-%20NPC_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20103%20Notice%20re%20Military%20Dependent.doc
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Fill out these forms if the child is – or might be – a member of an Indian tribe: 
Indian Child Welfare Act Notice (Non-
Parent Custody) 

FL Non-Parent 402 If the child is, or may be, a member 
of an Indian tribe, send this Notice 
to the Department of the Interior, 
Bureau of Indian Affairs  

 

Proof of Mailing (Indian Child Welfare 
Act Notice) 

FL Non-Parent 404  
 

ICWA Notice-Attachment for Additional 
Child 

FL Non-Parent 403 If there is more than one child who 
may be a member of an Indian tribe 
involved in the Non-Parent case, 
use this form for any additional 
children. 

 

  
Step 2: Make copies of your paperwork. 

 

▪ Original set to file with the Clerk’s office  

▪ Copy 1 is for your records   

▪ Copy 2 is to serve the mother (DO NOT serve the Confidential Information Form) 

▪ Copy 3 is to serve the father (DO NOT serve the Confidential Information Form) 

 
Note: You will also have to serve anybody that claim to have custody of the child.  

 
Step 3: Take your completed forms to the Clerk’s Office and pay a fee. 

 
The Clerk will ask you to pay a filing fee.  If you cannot afford to pay the fee, ask for an application to 
let you file for free.  This application is called a Motion and Declaration for Waiver of Civil Filing Fees and 
Surcharges (Kent or Seattle). 
 
The Clerk will also ask you to pay the Ex-Parte via the Clerk processing fee to have an Order Directing 
DCFS/CPS to Release Information and Order Restricting Access presented to the Commissioner on 
your behalf.  After the order is signed the Clerk will automatically file the original and return a copy of the 
order to you via the method you requested.  
 
When you file your forms, the Clerk will give you two copies of your Case Schedule.  Each party will need 
to be served with one copy.  Keep one copy for your records and follow the deadlines that are listed in the 
Case Schedule.  

 
Step 4:  Serve child’s parents (and anyone else with claims to custody of the child).  
 

You must have the parents served with copies of:  

▪ The Case Schedule that the Clerk gave you when you filed, and  

▪ All of the forms in Step 1, except the Confidential Information Form. 
 
How to serve  
 
Someone over the age of 18 – not you - must serve (give) the other party copies of your court papers.  
 
After serving, the server fills out a Proof of Personal Service (FL All Family 101) form and gives it to 
you. Keep a copy for your own records and file the original with the Clerk’s Office.   
 
If any party is served outside the state of Washington, you will also fill out and file the Declaration: 
Personal Service Could Not be Made in Washington (FL All Family Law 102) form. 
 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20402%20ICWA%20Notice.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20402%20ICWA%20Notice.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20404%20Proof%20of%20Mailing%20-%20ICWA%20Notice.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20404%20Proof%20of%20Mailing%20-%20ICWA%20Notice.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20403%20ICWA%20Notice%20Attachment.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20403%20ICWA%20Notice%20Attachment.doc
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/scforms/documents/General/Kentparty.ashx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/scforms/documents/General/Seattleparty.ashx
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20101%20Proof%20of%20Personal%20Service_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20102%20Decl%20Personal%20Service%20Could%20Not%20Be%20Made%20in%20WA.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20102%20Decl%20Personal%20Service%20Could%20Not%20Be%20Made%20in%20WA.doc
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Note:  For personal service outside of Washington State, the signature of the server must be notarized or 
sworn before a court clerk on the Proof of Personal Service Form (FL All Family 101). 

 

 
Step 5:  Schedule your Adequate Cause Hearing  

 
You must have a special hearing, called an “Adequate Cause Hearing.” At that hearing, a Commissioner 
will decide if there is a valid reason for your case to move forward, or not.  
 
Note:  This hearing cannot happen before the deadline for Responding to the Petition has passed.  See 
“Set a court date” below for response times. 

 

Fill out these forms, which can be downloaded at www.courts.wa.gov/forms  
 

Motion for Adequate Cause 
Decision (Non-parent Custody) 

FL Non-Parent 416  

Declaration of (name): 
_________________ 

FL All Family 135  

Order on Adequate Cause for Non-
parent Custody 

FL Non-Parent 417 Fill this out the way you would like the 
Commissioner to decide; do not file with 
the Clerk’s Office. 

 

 Fill out this form, which can be downloaded at www.kingcounty.gov/courts/scforms.aspx 

Family Law Notice of Court Date 
(Commissioners) 

Kent or Seattle 
 

 

Fill out these forms if you are asking for a temporary custody order at the Adequate Cause 
hearing, which can be downloaded at www.courts.wa.gov/forms:  
 

Motion for Temporary Non-Parent 
Custody Order [ ] and Restraining 
Order 

FL Non-Parent 423  

 

Temporary Non-Parent Custody 
Order 

FL Non-Parent 424 Fill this out the way you would like 
the Commissioner to decide; do 
not file with the Clerk’s Office. 

 

 
Fill out these forms if you are asking for a temporary child support order at the Adequate 
Cause hearing, which can be downloaded at www.courts.wa.gov/forms:  

Child Support Worksheets WSCSS-
Worksheets 

Online Child Support Calculation software is 
available at 
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/dcs/SSGen/Home 
 

 

Child Support Schedule & 
Instructions 

Use this information to calculate Child Support Worksheets.  
 

Child Support Order FL All Family 130 Fill this out the way that you would like the 
Commissioner to decide.  
One for each parent. Do not file with the 
Clerk’s Office. 

 

Financial Declaration of (name): 
_______________ 

FL All Family 131   

 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20416%20Motion%20for%20Adequate%20Cause%20Decision.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20416%20Motion%20for%20Adequate%20Cause%20Decision.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20135%20Declaration%20-%20blank.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20135%20Declaration%20-%20blank.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20417%20Order%20on%20Adequate%20Cause%20for%20NPC.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20417%20Order%20on%20Adequate%20Cause%20for%20NPC.doc
http://www.kingcounty.gov/courts/scforms.aspx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/notice-date-family-knt-docx.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/notice-date-family-sea-docx.ashx?la=en
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20423%20Motion%20for%20Temp%20NPC%20Order_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20423%20Motion%20for%20Temp%20NPC%20Order_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20423%20Motion%20for%20Temp%20NPC%20Order_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20424%20Temp%20NPC%20Order_2019%2012.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20424%20Temp%20NPC%20Order_2019%2012.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/WSCSS_Worksheets2019%2001.pdf
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/dcs/SSGen/Home
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/WSCSS_Schedule_2019%2001.pdf
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/WSCSS_Schedule_2019%2001.pdf
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20130%20Child%20Support%20Order_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20131%20Financial%20Declaration_2016%2009%2026.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20131%20Financial%20Declaration_2016%2009%2026.doc
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▪ Set a court date   
 

To set your court date, you must fill out and file the Family Law Notice of Court Date (Commissioners), 
Kent or Seattle. That form lets you choose a date for your court hearing. The date you choose must be 
at least 14 days after the day you file the Notice of Court Date (Commissioners) and:  

 

If served in person in Washington, your date must be at least 20 days from the 
date of service;  

If served in person outside of Washington state or by publication (with advance 
court permission), your date must be at least 60 days from date the of service; 

If served by mail (with advance court permission), your date must be at least 90 
days from the date of service. 

 
 

▪ Time:  All Adequate Cause hearings are at 1:30pm every weekday (except Wednesdays in Kent) 
 

▪ Place: Seattle Courthouse, 516 3rd Ave, Seattle WA 98104 (Seattle cases)  
                                             Maleng Regional Justice Center, 401 4th Ave N, Kent, WA  98032 (Kent cases) 

 
▪ Room: W-291 (Seattle cases)  

                                              1F (Kent cases)  
 

Step 6:   File forms with the Clerk’s Office. 
 

File with the Clerk (2C in Kent and E-609 in Seattle) the originals of all papers from Step 5, except the 
following forms:  Order on Adequate Cause for Non-parent Custody, Temporary Non-Parent Custody 
Order, and Child Support Order. 

 
Step 7: Deliver Commissioner’s copy for Adequate Cause hearing. 
 
 The Commissioner’s copy is a set of all forms served to the other parties in Step 4 and all the forms 

completed in Step 5, including the proposed orders that you would like the court to sign at your hearing.  
  
 Take this copy to the Family Law window and turn it in at least 3 court days by 12 noon before your 

hearing.   
 
Copy the words below in the upper right hand corner on the first page of each form you are delivering to 
the Commissioner: 

   
Commissioner’s Working Papers 
Family Law Motions 
Hearing Date: _________________ 
Hearing Time: _________________ 
Presented By: (your name): _______________________________________ 

 
Step 8:  Serve the child’s parents (and anyone else with claims to custody of the child).  
 

What to serve  
Serve the other parties with a copy of all forms in Step 5. 
 
How to serve 

http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/notice-date-exparte-knt-docx.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/notice-date-exparte-sea-docx.ashx?la=en
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As long as no order restrains you from having contact with the other party, you may deliver or mail the 
forms yourself at least 14 court days before the hearing (add 3 more days for mailing). 
 
If the other party has an attorney, deliver or mail the forms to the attorney instead. After you have 
delivered or mailed the forms to the other party or attorney, fill out the Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery 
form. File the original with the Clerk’s Office, keep a copy for your records, and bring it with you to the 
hearing.   
 
You may also have someone else serve the other party or his/her attorney for you. The server must be 
over 18.  After serving, the server fills out the Proof of Personal Service and returns it to you.  File the 
original with the Clerk’s Office, keep a copy for your records, and bring it with you to the hearing.   

  
 
Step 9:   Confirm your Adequate Cause hearing  
 

  

 

Your hearing will be cancelled if you don’t confirm your hearing and deliver 
the copies to the Commissioner on time.    

 You can confirm by phone, in person, or online.  Here is how:  
Call or in person  
 

206-477-1523 (Seattle) 
Room W-292 
 
206-477-2750 (Kent) 
Room A1222 

3 court days before your hearing between 2:30pm and 4:15pm. 
or 

2 court days before your hearing between 8:30am and noon. 
 
When you call, give your case number, date, and time of hearing. 
The Clerk will give you a confirmation number.  

Online: 
 
https://blue.kingcounty.gov/courts/s
uperiorcourt/confirmations/default.
aspx 

You can confirm your hearing online starting at: 
 
Noon 3 court days before the hearing until noon of the 2nd 
court day before your hearing. 
 
You must give your email address, phone number, and 
information to identify your case.  If you do not get a confirmation 
email, you must contact the confirmation phone number above 
before the deadline.  

  

 
Step 10: Go to your Adequate Cause hearing. 

 
▪ Arrive at least 30 minutes early! You will need time to go through security.  
▪ Go to the Family Law window at the courthouse to check in.   
▪ Take your original orders and all copies of the forms you filed.  
▪ You must give the Court your original orders if asked.  If you want copies of the signed orders the day of 

your hearing, tell the Clerk. 

  
Step 11: Wait for a Response to Your Petition. 
 

You must wait: 

20 days If the other party was served in person in Washington state.  

60 days If the other party was served in person outside of Washington state, or by publication 
because of a court order.  

https://blue.kingcounty.gov/courts/superiorcourt/confirmations/default.aspx
https://blue.kingcounty.gov/courts/superiorcourt/confirmations/default.aspx
https://blue.kingcounty.gov/courts/superiorcourt/confirmations/default.aspx
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90 days If the other party was served by mail because of a court order.  

 
 
 
 

 
  

Step 12: Go to the Case Review Hearing. 
 

The date, time, and place for this hearing are listed on your Case Schedule. You and all other Petitioners 
must go to this hearing. The court may dismiss your case if you fail to follow your Case Schedule and fail 
to appear at this hearing. You can request to have your final documents be granted at this hearing if all 
parties agree. 

  
Step 13: Try to reach an agreement. 
 

You must participate in Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) by the deadline in your Case Schedule. You 
and the parent(s) must try to reach an agreement with the help of a professional, such as an attorney or 
social worker.   
 
The Legal Resource List available in the Facilitator’s office contains information on programs that offer 
ADR.   

 
Step 14: Get ready for your trial.  
 

If you and the other parties cannot come to an agreement about your case you will have a trial before a 
Judge.  

 

You will need these forms: 
Findings and Conclusions on Non-
Parent Custody Petition 

FL Non-
Parent 430 

 
 

Final Non-Parent Custody Order FL Non-
Parent 431 

 
 

Residential Schedule (Non-Parent 
Custody)  

FL Non-
Parent 405 

 
 

 
 
Also fill out these forms if you are asking for child support:  

Child Support Worksheets (CSW) WSCSS-
Worksheets 

 
 

Child Support Order FL All Family 
130 

One order for each parent who must pay 
support.  

Financial Declaration of (name): 
_______________ 

FL All Family 
131 

 
 

 
 
You may also need this form: 

Law Enforcement Information 
Sheet 

WPF All Cases 
01.0400 

This form is necessary only if you are 
requesting restraining orders.  

If the other parties DO serve and file a Response, follow your Case Schedule.  Your trial will be in 
about 11 months.  

 
If other parties DO NOT serve and file a Response by the deadline you can finish your case by default.  
Ask the Family Law Facilitator how to finish by default or agreement.   

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20430%20Find-Concl%20on%20Non-Parent%20Custody%20Petition_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20430%20Find-Concl%20on%20Non-Parent%20Custody%20Petition_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20431%20Final%20Non-Parent%20Custody%20Order_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20405%20Residential%20Schedule%20-%20NPC_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Non-Parent%20405%20Residential%20Schedule%20-%20NPC_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/WSCSS_Worksheets2019%2001.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20130%20Child%20Support%20Order_2019%2007.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20131%20Financial%20Declaration_2016%2009%2026.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20131%20Financial%20Declaration_2016%2009%2026.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/All%20Cases%2001_0400.DOC
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/All%20Cases%2001_0400.DOC
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