SMOKE-FR

- HOUSING:

THE RIGHT DECISION FOR BUSINESS AND HEALTH

JOIN THE TREND.

of Washington
renters prefer
smoke-free housing.’

9 2 percent

SAVE MONEY.

per unit can be saved on
Up to $3 000 cleaning costs to refurbish
y

Up to 1 0 percent

¢ Increase your profit.
Half of renters in King
County who prefer
smoke-free housing
say they are willing to
pay more for it.*

units with cigarette damage.?

could be saved on property
insurance through a premium
credit among some insurers.?

PROTECT YOUR PROPERTY.

KEEP RESIDENTS HAPPY.

* Reduce fire risk. Home fires caused by cigarettes inflict
injuries, death, and major property damage.® Across the
nation in 2010, smoking-material fires caused:

* 610 deaths
* 1,970 civilian injuries
s $663 m||.l|0n in property damage

* Preserve resale value. Smoke damage can be a deal-
breaker for prospective buyers.®

e Limit liability. People with breathing problems or
allergies have legal protection under the Americans
with Disabilities Act and the Fair Housing Act.”8

YOU CAN GO SMOKE-FREE.

Property owners and managers can make their properties
smoke-free. Going smoke-free is the best way to protect
resident and staff health, and your investment.

e Attract residents.
92 percent of renters in
Washington state prefer
smoke-free housing—
including more than
75 percent who smoke.’

¢ Reduce resident conflicts
over smoking. Landlords
often report secondhand
smoke as one of their
residents’ most common
complaints.

e Improve resident health. Each year in the
United States, secondhand smoke causes
an estimated 46,000 premature heart
disease deaths among non-smokers.’

For practical tips and tools to go smoke-free, visit

SMOKEFREEWASHINGTON.COM
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