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Employee Group Term Life 
Certificate of Insurance 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098

POLICYHOLDER:    King County 

POLICY NUMBER:  34457-G 

Read Your Certificate Carefully 

You are insured under the group policy shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate.  This 
certificate summarizes the principal provisions of the 
group policy that affect you.  The provisions summarized 
in this certificate are subject in every respect to the group 
policy.  You may examine the group policy at the principal 
office of the policyholder during regular working hours. 

Right to Cancel 

It is important to us that you are satisfied with this 
certificate after it is issued.  If you are not satisfied with  

this certificate, you may cancel it by delivering or mailing a  
written notice or sending a telegram to Minnesota Life 
Insurance Company (Minnesota Life), 400 Robert Street 
North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098 and returning the 
certificate before midnight of the 30th day after you 
received this certificate. 

Notice given by mail and return of the certificate by mail 
are effective on being postmarked, properly addressed, 
and postage prepaid.  If you return this certificate, you will 
receive, within 10 days of the date we receive a notice of 
cancellation, a full refund of any premiums you have paid.   

Upon cancellation of this certificate, it will be void as if it 
had never been issued. 

Secretary President
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                 CERTIFICATE SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

POLICYHOLDER: King County POLICY NO.:  34457-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 
inclusion in the policy. 

POLICY SITUS: The policy was issued and delivered in the state of Washington. 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2016. This specifications page represents the plan in effect as of January 1, 
2018. 

This certificate and/or certificate specifications page replaces any and all certificates and/or certificate 
specifications pages previously issued to you under the group policy.  Please replace any certificate and/or 
certificate specifications page previously issued to you with this new certificate and/or specifications page. 

GROUP: The group is composed of all active employees  of the policyholder and its associated 
companies working in the United States in the following classes: 

Class 1 JLMIC – All employees other than those listed in classes 2, 3, 4, 
5, 6 and 7 

Class 2 LEOFF I- Employees in Law Enforcement, Firefighters and Deputies 

Class 3 Full-time employees of Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) Local 587 

Class 4 Part-time Transit Operators (PTTO) 

Class 5 Union employees of Technical Employees Association (TEA) 
regularly working a half-time schedule or more whose collective 
bargaining union has not ratified the collective bargaining  
agreement (W2) 

Class 6 Union employees of Technical Employees Association (TEA) 
regularly working a half-time schedule or more whose collective 
bargaining union has ratified the collective bargaining agreement 
(W3, W4) 

Class 7 Employees who are eligible for benefits through the provisions of the 
Affordable Care Act (ACA). 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Not applicable for noncontributory insurance; 30 days from the first day of eligibility 
for contributory employee insurance.  The enrollment period to elect contributory 
dependent coverage is 60 days from the first day of eligibility. 

WAITING PERIOD: Classes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6:  The period commencing with the employee’s date of 
employment and ending with the first day of the month next following or coinciding 
with the employee’s date of employment.   

Class 7:  The period commencing with the employee’s date of employment and ending 
with the first of the month following the date the employee becomes eligible for 
benefits. 

MINIMUM HOURS 
PER WEEK REQUIRED: All Classes:  20 hours per week 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 

Basic Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 

Classes 1, 3, 5 and 6 One times annual earnings, rounded to the next higher $1,000 if not already a 
multiple thereof, subject to a minimum of $1,000 and a maximum of $200,000. 

Class 2 $6,000 

Classes 4 and 7 $25,000 

Supplemental Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Life Insurance 

Classes 1, 3, 5 and 6 One, two, three or four times annual earnings, multiplied and then rounded to 
the next higher $1,000 if not already a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum of 
$1,000 and a maximum of $400,000.   

Class 2 One times annual earnings, rounded to the next higher $1,000 if not already a 
multiple thereof, less the basic life insurance amount of $6,000, subject to a 
maximum of $400,000. 

Classes 4 and 7 An amount elected by the employee in increments of $25,000, subject to a 
maximum of $100,000. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 
portability provision.     

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental insurance is 
contributory insurance. 

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 
without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 
enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

For basic insurance: 
All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 

For supplemental insurance: 
For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the 
effective date of the group policy:  

An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 
the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 
the day immediately preceding the effective date of the policy.  

For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of the 
policy:  

All supplemental insurance is guaranteed issue.  

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES 
AND DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE 
IN ELIGIBLE CLASS OR EARNINGS: 

Increases and decreases due to a change in eligible class or earnings will 
become effective during the month of the class or salary change.  All increases 
are subject to the actively at work requirement.   
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DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

 
DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE:  
 
An employee must be insured for supplemental life insurance in order to be insured for dependents life insurance. 
 
Spouse/Domestic Partner Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Domestic Partner Life Insurance 
   
 Classes 1, 3, 5 and 6 The lesser of 50% of the employee’s supplemental life insurance or $200,000 

with a plan minimum of $500. 
   
 Classes 4 and 7 The lesser of 50% of the employee’s supplemental life insurance or $50,000 

with a plan minimum of $500. 
   
Child Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Child Life Insurance 
   
 Classes 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7  
   
    Live birth but less than six months: $500 
    Six months but less than 26 years: $10,000 
   
  An employee’s eligible newborn children are automatically covered for $500 

for 60 days from the child’s live birth.  To continue coverage on the children,  
the employee must elect child coverage within those 60 days; otherwise the 
coverage shall terminate at the end of the 60-day period. 

   
Packaged Dependent Term Life Insurance  
  
 Eligible Class Amount of Packaged Dependent Life Insurance 
   
 Class 2 Spouse/Domestic Partner:  $1,000 
  Child:   $1,000 
   

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
 

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Spouse/domestic partner life and child life insurance is contributory insurance; 
Package Dependents insurance is noncontributory insurance.   

  
GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 
provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 
follows: 

  
 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of the policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 
insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  
 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of the policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 
 

  For spouse/domestic partner life insurance for classes 1, 3, 5 and 6:  
$100,000 

  For spouse/domestic partner life insurance for classes 4 and 7:  All 
coverage is guaranteed issue. 

  For child life insurance for all classes except class 2:  All coverage is 
guaranteed issue. 

  For packaged dependent life insurance in class 2:  All coverage is 
guaranteed issue. 
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EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the certificate and for an amount 

of insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
  
EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement.   

 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
  
SUICIDE EXCLUSION FOR LIFE 
INSURANCE:   

A suicide exclusion does not apply to any life insurance under this certificate. 

  
WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance.  

 
QUALIFIED STATUS CHANGES: An employee who experiences one of the Qualified Status Changes listed below 

may make the following election changes without providing evidence of 
insurability, provided enrollment is made within 30 days of the status change 
and the insured receiving the increase has not previously been declined any 
insurance amount under this policy due to failure to provide satisfactory 
evidence of insurability: 
 

• An employee may elect or increase his or her supplemental life 
coverage up to the plan maximum as defined by the employee 
classification.   

 
Coverage will be effective on the date of the election, subject to the actively at 
work requirement for employees.   
 
Qualified Status Change for this purpose means: 

• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child 
• Marriage or creation of a domestic partnership 

  
SUPPLEMENT(S) TO THE CERTIFICATE  
  
Accelerated Benefits Applies to all classes.  
Dependents Term Life Applies to all classes.    
Portability Applies to all classes.  
Waiver of Premium Applies to all classes.    
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Definitions 

age 

Attained age as of most recent birthday. 

application 

Your application for insurance under the group policy and, 
if required, your evidence of insurability application. 

associated company 

Any company which is a subsidiary or affiliate of the 
policyholder which is designated by the policyholder and 
agreed to by us to participate under the group policy. 

certificate effective date 

The date your coverage under this certificate becomes 
effective. 

contributory insurance 

Insurance for which you are required to make premium 
contributions. 

earnings 

Your basic rate of compensation not including 
commissions, overtime or premium pay, bonuses, or any 
other additional compensation. 

employee 

An individual who is employed by the policyholder or by an 
associated company.  A sole proprietor will be considered 
the employee of the proprietorship.  A partner in a 
partnership will be considered an employee so long as the 
partner’s principal work is the conduct of the partnership’s 
business.  The term employee does not include temporary 
employees nor corporate directors who are not otherwise 
employees. 

employer 

The policyholder or any designated associated 
companies. 

evidence of insurability 

Evidence satisfactory to us of the good health of the 
prospective insured and any other underwriting 
information we require. 

insured 

A person who is eligible for and becomes insured 
according to the terms of this certificate. 

non-work day 

A day on which you are not regularly scheduled to work, 
including scheduled time off for vacations, personal 
holidays, weekends and holidays, and approved leaves of 
absence for non-medical reasons. 

Non-work day does not include time off for medical leave 
of absence, temporary layoff, employer suspension of 
operations in total or in part, strike, and any time off due to 
sickness or injury including sick days, short-term disability, 
or long term disability. 

noncontributory insurance 

Insurance for which you are not required to make premium 
contributions. 

policyholder 

The owner of the group policy as shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate. 

specifications page 

The outline which summarizes your coverage under the 
policyholder’s plan of insurance. 

waiting period 

The period, if any, of continuous employment with the 
employer required prior to becoming eligible for coverage 
under this certificate.  The waiting period is shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate. 

we, our, us 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company. 

you, your, certificate holder 

An insured employee. 

General Information 

What is your agreement with us? 

You are insured under the group policy shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate.  Your 
application as defined under this certificate is attached 
and is a part of this certificate.  This certificate 
summarizes the principal provisions of the group policy 
that affect your life insurance coverage.  The provisions 
summarized in this certificate are subject in every respect 
to the group policy. 

Any statements made in your attached application as 
defined in this certificate will be considered 
representations and not warranties.  Also, any statement 
made will not be used to void your insurance nor defend 
against a claim unless a copy of the instrument containing 
the statement is furnished to you. 

This certificate is issued in consideration of your 
application and the payment of the required premium. 

Can this certificate be amended? 

Yes.  We retain the right to amend this certificate at any 
time without your consent.  Any amendment will be 
without prejudice to any claim incurred for benefits prior to 
the date of the amendment. 
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Who is eligible for insurance? 

You are eligible if you: 

(1) are a member of the group and of an eligible class 
as defined in the group policy; and 

(2) work for the employer for at least the number of 
hours per week shown as the minimum hours per 
week requirement on the specifications page 
attached to this certificate; and 

(3) have satisfied the waiting period as shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate; 
and 

(4) meet the actively at work requirement as shown in 
the section entitled “What is the actively at work 
requirement?”. 

Are retired employees eligible for insurance? 

If the policyholder’s plan of insurance, as reflected in the 
specifications page attached to this certificate, does not 
specifically provide insurance for retired employees, a 
retired employee shall not be eligible to become insured, 
nor have his or her insurance continued.  If the 
policyholder’s plan of insurance specifically provides 
insurance for retired employees, the minimum hours per 
week and actively at work requirements will not apply to 
such persons. 

What is the actively at work requirement? 

To be eligible to become insured or to receive an increase 
in the amount of insurance, you must be actively at work, 
fully performing your customary duties for your regularly 
scheduled number of hours at the employer’s normal 
place of business, or at other places the employer’s 
business requires you to travel. 

If you are not actively at work on the date coverage would 
otherwise begin, or on the date an increase in your 
amount of insurance would otherwise be effective, you will 
not be eligible for the coverage or increase until you return 
to active work.  However, if the absence is on a non-work 
day, coverage will not be delayed provided you were 
actively at work on the work day immediately preceding 
the non-work day. 

Except as otherwise provided for in this certificate, you are 
eligible to continue to be insured only while you remain 
actively at work. 

When will we require evidence of insurability? 

Evidence of insurability will be required if: 

(1) the specifications page attached to this certificate 
states that evidence of insurability is required; or 

(2) the insurance is contributory and you do not enroll 
within the enrollment period shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate; or 

(3) the insurance for which you previously enrolled 
did not go into effect or was terminated because 
you failed to make a required premium 
contribution; or 

(4) during a previous period of eligibility, you failed to 
submit required evidence of insurability or that 
which was submitted was not satisfactory to us; or 

(5) you are insured by an individual policy issued 
under the terms of the conversion right section. 

When does insurance become effective? 

Insurance becomes effective on the date that all of the 
following conditions have been met: 

(1) you meet all eligibility requirements; and 
(2) if required, you apply for the insurance on forms 

which are approved by us; and 
(3) we are satisfied with your evidence of insurability, 

if we require evidence; and 
(4) we receive the required premium. 

Can your coverage be continued during sickness, 
injury, leave of absence, strike, lockout, other labor 
dispute or temporary layoff? 

Yes.  The employer may continue your noncontributory 
insurance or allow you to continue your contributory 
insurance when you are absent from work due to 
sickness, injury, leave of absence, strike, lockout, other 
labor dispute or temporary layoff.  Continuation of your 
insurance is subject to certain time limits and conditions 
as stated in the group policy.  If you stop active work for 
any reason, you should discuss with the employer what 
arrangements may be made to continue your insurance. 

Premiums 

When and how often are your premium contributions 
due? 

Unless the policyholder and we have agreed to some 
other premium payment procedure, any premium 
contributions you are required to make for contributory 
insurance are to be paid by you to the policyholder on a 
monthly basis.  We apply premiums consecutively to keep 
the insurance in force. 

How is the premium determined? 

The premium will be the premium rate multiplied by the 
number of $1,000 units of insurance in force on the date 
premiums are due.  The premium may also be computed 
by any other method on which the policyholder and we 
agree. 

We may change the premium rate: 

(1) on any premium due date following the expiration 
of any rate guarantee period, or following the date 
that the amount of insurance in force for any one 
coverage changes by more than 25% from that 
which was used to determine the current rates 
(active employee coverage and retiree coverage 
are considered separate coverages, as are basic 
life, supplemental life, spouse/domestic partner 
life, child life and AD&D) or 
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(2) anytime, if the policy terms are amended or the 
total amount of insurance in force changes by 
25% from the volume that was used to determine 
the current rates or more. 

Death Benefit 

What is the amount of the death benefit? 

The amount of the death benefit is the amount of 
insurance shown on the specifications page attached to 
this certificate.   

Can you request a change in the amount of your 
contributory insurance? 

You can request a change in your contributory insurance 
amount only during an annual open enrollment period, as 
determined by the employer, or within 31 days of a 
Qualified Status Change.  Qualified Status Change shall 
be as determined by the employer.  

If you request an increase in the amount of your 
contributory insurance, we will require evidence of 
insurability, unless otherwise noted on the specifications 
page.   

When will changes in your coverage amount be 
effective? 

Requested increases in the amount of your contributory 
insurance, if approved, are effective on the date we 
approve the increase.  Requested decreases in the 
amount of your contributory insurance are effective on the 
first day of the month following receipt of your request for 
a decrease or if different, according to the administrative 
practices of the employer. 

Requests for a change made during a special enrollment 
period offered by the employer will not become effective 
prior to the general effective date of elections made during 
that enrollment. 

Increases and decreases in insurance amounts which 
result from a change in your eligible class or earnings will 
be effective as shown on the specifications page attached 
to this certificate. 

All increases in the amount of insurance are subject to the 
actively at work requirement. 

When will the death benefit be payable? 

We will pay the death benefit upon receipt at our home 
office of written proof satisfactory to us that you died while 
insured under this certificate.  All payments by us are 
payable from our home office. 

The death benefit will be paid in a single sum or by any 
other method agreeable to us and the beneficiary.  We will 
pay interest on the death benefit from the date of your 
death until the date of payment.  Interest will be at an 
annual rate determined by us, but never less than 0.1% 
per year compounded annually, or the minimum required 
by state law, whichever is greater. 

Payment of the death benefit will extinguish our liability 
under the certificate for which the death benefit has been 
paid. 

To whom will we pay the death benefit? 

We will pay the death benefit to the beneficiary or 
beneficiaries.  A beneficiary is named by you to receive 
the death benefit to be paid at your death.  You may name 
one or more beneficiaries.  You cannot name the 
policyholder or an associated company of the policyholder 
as a beneficiary. 

You may also choose to name a beneficiary that you 
cannot change without the beneficiary’s consent.  This is 
called an irrevocable beneficiary. 

If there is more than one beneficiary, each will receive an 
equal share, unless you have requested another method 
in writing.  To receive the death benefit, a beneficiary must 
be living on the date of your death.  In the event a 
beneficiary is not living on the date of your death, that 
beneficiary’s portion of the death benefit shall be equally 
distributed to the remaining surviving beneficiaries.  In the 
event of the simultaneous deaths of you and a beneficiary, 
the death benefit will be paid as if you survived the 
beneficiary. 

If there is no eligible beneficiary, or if you do not name 
one, we will pay the death benefit to: 

(1) your lawful spouse (this does not include a 
domestic partner), if living, otherwise; 

(2) your natural or legally adopted child (children) in 
equal shares, if living, otherwise; 

(3) the personal representative of your estate. 

Can you add or change beneficiaries? 

Yes.  You can add or change beneficiaries if all of the 
following are true: 

(1) your coverage is in force; and 
(2) we have written consent of all irrevocable 

beneficiaries; and 
(3) you have not assigned the ownership of your 

insurance. 

A request to add or change a beneficiary must be made in 
writing.  All requests are subject to our approval.  A 
change will take effect as of the date it is signed, but will 
not affect any payment we make or action we take before 
receiving your notice. 

Termination 

When does your coverage terminate? 

Your coverage ends on the earliest of the following: 

(1) the date the group policy ends; or 
(2) the date you no longer meet the eligibility 

requirements; or 
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(3) the date the group policy is amended so you are 
no longer eligible; or 

(4) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any premium contribution which is not paid; or 

(5) the last day for which premium contributions have 
been paid following your written request to cease 
participation under this certificate. 

If your coverage under the group policy terminates due to 
non-payment of premiums, your coverage may be 
reinstated if all premiums due are paid and received by us 
within 31 days of the date of termination and during your 
lifetime. 

Can your insurance be reinstated after termination? 

Yes.  When your coverage terminates because you are no 
longer eligible, and you become eligible again within 30 
days after the date your coverage under this certificate 
terminated, your coverage may be reinstated. 

Provided you are not then covered by an individual policy 
issued under the terms of the conversion right section, 
your coverage under the group policy shall be reinstated 
automatically, without evidence of insurability or 
satisfaction of any waiting period. Your amount of 
insurance will be that which applies to the classification to 
which you then belong, on the date you again become 
eligible.  If the policyholder’s plan of insurance provides for 
contributory insurance under the group policy, your 
amount of contributory insurance will be limited to that for 
which you were insured immediately prior to the loss of 
coverage. 

When does the group policy terminate? 

The policyholder may terminate the group policy by giving 
us 31 days prior written notice.  We reserve the right to 
terminate the group policy on the earliest of the following 
to occur: 

(1) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any premiums which are not paid; or 

(2) on any subsequent policy anniversary after the 
date the number of employees insured is less 
than any minimum established by us or as 
required by applicable state law; or 

(3) 31 days after we provide the policyholder with 
notice of our intent to terminate the group policy. 

Conversion Right 

What is the conversion right? 

You may be able to convert this insurance to a new 
individual life insurance policy if all or part of your life 
insurance under the group policy terminates. 

At any time while your coverage is in force, you may 
convert all or a portion of your insurance which is reduced 
due to age. 

You may convert up to the full amount of terminated 
insurance if termination occurs because you move from 

one existing eligible class to another, or you are no longer 
in an eligible class. 

Limited conversion is available if, after you have been 
insured for at least five years, insurance is terminated 
because: 

(1) the group policy is terminated; or 
(2) the group policy is changed to reduce or terminate 

your insurance.  

In such case, you may convert up to the full amount of 
terminated insurance, but not more than the maximum.  
The maximum is the lesser of: 

(a) $10,000; and 
(b) the amount of life insurance which terminated 

minus any amount of group life insurance for 
which you become eligible under any group policy 
issued or reinstated by us or any other carrier 
within 31 days of the date the insurance 
terminated under the group policy. 

Neither the conversion right nor the limited conversion 
right is available if your coverage under the group policy 
terminates due to failure to make, when due, required 
premium contributions. 

Under both the conversion right and the limited conversion 
right, you may convert your insurance to any type of 
individual policy of life insurance then customarily issued 
by us for purposes of conversion, except term insurance.  
The individual policy will not include any supplemental 
benefits, including, but not limited to, any disability 
benefits, accidental death and dismemberment benefits, 
or accelerated benefits. 

How do you convert your insurance? 

You convert your insurance by applying for an individual 
policy and paying the first premium within 31 days after 
your group insurance terminates.  No evidence of 
insurability will be required. 

How is the premium for the individual policy 
determined? 

We base the premium for the individual policy on the plan 
of insurance, your age, and the class of risk to which you 
belong on the date of the conversion. 

When is the individual policy effective? 

The individual policy takes effect 31 days after the group 
insurance provided under the group policy terminates. 

What happens if you die during the 31-day period 
allowed for conversion? 

If you die during the 31-day period allowed for conversion, 
we will pay a death benefit regardless of whether or not an 
application for coverage under an individual policy has 
been submitted.  The death benefit will be the amount of 
insurance you would have been eligible to convert under 
the terms of the conversion right section. 
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We will return any premium you paid for an individual 
policy to your beneficiary named under the group policy.  
In no event will we be liable under both the group policy 
and the individual policy. 

Additional Information 

What if your age has been misstated? 

If your age has been misstated, the death benefit payable 
will be that amount to which you are entitled based on 
your correct age. A premium adjustment will be made so 
that the actual premium required at your correct age is 
paid. 

When does your insurance become incontestable? 

Except for the non-payment of premiums, after your 
insurance has been in force during your lifetime for two 
years from the effective date of your coverage, we cannot 
contest your  coverage.  However, if there has been an 
increase in the amount of insurance for which you were 
required to apply or for which we required evidence of 
insurability, then, to the extent of the increase, any loss 
which occurs within two years of the effective date of the 
increase will be contestable. 

Any statements you make in your application as defined 
under this certificate will be considered representations 
and not warranties.  Also, any statement you make will not 
be used to void your insurance, nor defend against a 
claim, unless the statement is contained in the application 
attached to your certificate. 

Can your insurance be assigned? 

Yes.  However, we will not be bound by an assignment of 

the certificate or of any interest in it unless it is made as a 
written instrument, and you file the original instrument or a 
certified copy with us at our home office, and we send you 
an acknowledged copy. 

We are not responsible for the validity of any assignment.  
You are responsible for ensuring that the assignment is 
legal in your state and that it accomplishes your intended 
goals.  If a claim is based on an assignment, we may 
require proof of interest of the claimant.  A valid 
assignment will take precedence over any claim of a 
beneficiary. 

Is the policyholder required to maintain records? 

Yes.  The policyholder is required to maintain adequate 
records of any information necessary for us to administer 
this certificate.  We own the records relating to the 
insurance provided by this certificate, and can obtain them 
from the policyholder at any reasonable time. 

If a clerical error is made in keeping records on the 
insurance under the group policy, it will not affect 
otherwise valid insurance.  A clerical error does not 
continue insurance which is otherwise stopped.  If an error 
causes a change in premium payment, we will make a fair 
adjustment. 

Will the provisions of this certificate conform with 
state law? 

Yes.  If any provision in this certificate, or in the provisions 
of the group policy, is in conflict with the laws of the state 
governing the certificates or the group policy, the provision 
will be deemed to be amended to conform to such laws. 
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Accelerated Benefits 
Certificate Supplement 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098

The accelerated life benefit is intended to qualify under 
Section 26 U.S.C. 101(g) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986 as amended by Public Law 104-191.  If you receive 
payment of accelerated benefits under this Certificate 
Supplement, you may lose your right to receive certain 
public funds, such as Medicare, Medicaid, Social Security, 
Supplemental Security, Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI), and possibly others.  Also, receiving accelerated 
benefits from this certificate supplement may have tax 
consequences for you.  You may wish to obtain advice 
from a tax professional or an attorney before you decide to 
request an accelerated payment of death benefits. 

General Information 

This certificate supplement is subject to every term, 
condition, exclusion, limitation, and provision of your 
certificate unless otherwise expressly provided for herein. 

What does this supplement provide? 

This supplement provides for the accelerated payment of 
either the full or a partial amount of an insured’s death 
benefit provided under your certificate.  If an insured has a 
terminal condition as defined in this supplement, you may 
request an accelerated payment of the applicable death 
benefit.  

Definitions 

accelerated benefit 

The amount of the death benefit we will pay if the insured 
is eligible under this supplement. 

death benefit 

The amount of the insured’s life insurance as shown on 
the specifications page attached to your certificate. 

immediate family 

Your spouse/domestic partner, children, parents, 
grandparents, grandchildren, brothers and sisters, and 
their spouses. 

insured 

For purposes of this supplement, an insured employee, an 
insured spouse/domestic partner, or an insured dependent 
child. 

physician 

An individual who is licensed to practice medicine or treat 
illness in the state in which treatment is received.  This 

does not include you or a member of your immediate 
family. 

Terminal Condition 

What is a terminal condition? 

A terminal condition is a condition caused by sickness or 
accident which directly results in a life expectancy of 
twenty-four months or less. 

What evidence do we require of the insured’s terminal 
condition? 

We must be given evidence that satisfies us that the 
insured’s life expectancy, because of sickness or accident, 
is twenty-four months or less.  That evidence must include 
certification by a physician. 

We reserve the right to ask for independent medical 
verification of a terminal condition. In the case of a 
difference of opinion, the insured has the right to 
mediation or binding arbitration conducted by a 
disinterested third party who has no ongoing relationship 
with either party. 

Do we have the right to obtain independent medical 
verification? 

Yes.  We retain the right to have the insured medically 
examined at our own expense to verify the insured’s 
medical condition.  We may do this as often as reasonably 
required while accelerated benefits are being considered 
or paid. 

Payment of Accelerated Benefit 

How do we calculate the accelerated benefit? 

We will multiply the death benefit by the accelerated 
benefit factor to determine the accelerated benefit 
available. 

How do we calculate the accelerated benefit factor? 

The accelerated benefit factor will be stated as a 
percentage of the insured’s death benefit.  When we 
calculate this factor, we will consider the insured’s age 
and gender. 

We will also base our calculation on certain assumptions, 
which we may change from time to time, including but not 
limited to assumptions about: 

(1) expected future premiums; and 
(2) the insured’s life expectancy. 



MHC-96-13185.46 Minnesota Life  2 

EdF84229  10-2015  

What are the conditions for the payment of an 
accelerated benefit? 

We will consider the payment of an accelerated benefit, 
subject to all of the following conditions: 

(1) coverage must be in force and all premiums due 
must be fully paid; and 

(2) application must be made in writing and in a form 
which is satisfactory to us.  We will tell you what 
form is required; and 

(3) you must be the sole owner of the certificate; and 
(4) the insured’s insurance must not have an 

irrevocable beneficiary. 

Who may request an accelerated payment of the death 
benefit? 

You may request an accelerated payment of the insurance 
on your life or on the life of a spouse/domestic partner or 
dependent child insured under your certificate. 

Is the request for an accelerated benefit voluntary? 

Yes.  An accelerated benefit will be made available on a 
voluntary basis only.  An accelerated benefit under this 
supplement is not intended to cause an involuntary 
reduction of the death benefit ultimately payable to the 
named beneficiary.  Therefore, payment of the death 
benefit cannot be accelerated under this supplement if the 
insured: 

(1) is required by law to use this option to meet the 
claims of creditors, whether in bankruptcy or 
otherwise; or 

(2) is required by a government agency to use this 
option in order to apply for, obtain, or keep a 
government benefit or entitlement. 

Is there a minimum or maximum death benefit eligible 
for an accelerated benefit? 

Yes.  The minimum death benefit to be eligible for an 
accelerated benefit under this supplement is $10,000.  
The maximum death benefit to be eligible for an 
accelerated benefit is 100% of the insured’s amount of life 
insurance.   

Do you have to take the entire accelerated benefit? 

No.  You may choose to receive a partial accelerated 
benefit.  If you do so, the insured’s remaining coverage 
will stay in force. 

If you elect to receive only a partial accelerated benefit 
amount available under this supplement, the insured’s 
remaining death benefit under the certificate must be at 
least $25,000. 

You may reapply for the payment of the remaining amount 
of insurance at any time.  However, we may ask for further 
satisfactory evidence that the insured meets all 
requirements for the accelerated benefit.   

What is the effect on the insured’s coverage of the 
receipt of an accelerated benefit? 

If you elect to accelerate the full amount of an insured’s 
death benefit, the insured’s coverage and all other 
benefits under the certificate and any certificate 
supplements for that insured will end.  If such termination 
causes a certificate holder’s covered spouse/domestic 
partner or dependent children to lose coverage, each of 
them will be allowed to convert any such insurance to a 
policy of individual life insurance according to the 
conversion right section of the certificate to which this 
supplement is attached. 

If a partial accelerated benefit is chosen, coverage will 
remain in force and premiums will be reduced accordingly.  
The remaining amount of insurance under your certificate 
will be the full amount of insurance minus the amount of 
insurance that was accelerated, except any accidental 
death benefit which may be payable under the terms of 
your certificate. 

How will we pay the accelerated benefit? 

We will pay the accelerated benefit in one lump sum or in 
any other mutually agreeable manner. 

To whom will we pay accelerated benefits? 

All accelerated benefits will be paid to you unless you 
validly assign them otherwise.  If you die before all 
payments have been made, we will pay the remainder to 
the beneficiary named under this certificate.  Payment will 
be made in one lump sum which will be the present value 
of the payments that remain, using the interest rate we 
use to determine the payments.  The maximum interest 
rate used shall be no greater than the greater of : A) the 
current yield on ninety (90) day treasury bills; or B) the 
current maximum statutory adjustable policy loan interest 
rate. 

Termination 

When does an insured’s coverage under this 
supplement terminate? 

An insured’s coverage ends on the date the insured is no 
longer covered for life insurance under the group policy. 

When does this supplement terminate? 

This supplement will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request from the 
policyholder to cancel the Accelerated Benefits 
Policy Rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 

Secretary President
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Dependents Term Life Insurance 
Certificate Supplement 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

General Information 

This certificate supplement is issued in consideration of 
the required premium and is subject to every term, 
condition, exclusion, limitation, and provision of your 
certificate unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.  
Any Accidental Death and Dismemberment coverage 
provided by a certificate supplement to your certificate will 
not apply to dependents coverage provided by this 
certificate supplement. 

What does this supplement provide? 

This supplement provides insurance on the lives of your 
eligible dependents. 

What members of your family are eligible for 
insurance under this supplement? 

The following members of the insured employee’s family 
are eligible for insurance under this supplement: 

(1) your lawful spouse who is not legally separated 
from you and who is not eligible for insurance as 
an employee under the policy to which this 
supplement is attached; and  

(2) Applicable to Classes 1, 3, 4, 6 and 7: 
the insured’s employee’s Washington state-
registered domestic partner who is not eligible for 
insurance as an employee under the policy to 
which this rider is attached.  
Applicable to Classes 2* and 5:  
the insured’s employee’s non-registered or 
Washington state-registered domestic partner 
who is not eligible for insurance as an employee 
under the policy to which this rider is attached. In 
order to be eligible as a non-registered domestic 
partner, an employee and his or her domestic 
partner must sign a declaration of domestic 
partnership or submit a copy of their marriage 
certificate; and  

(3) your and your domestic partner’s biological 
children, stepchildren, legally adopted children 
including children legally placed with you for 
adoption, foster children and children placed with 
you as a legal guardian and children named in a 
Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO).  
Children are eligible from live birth (stillborn or 
unborn children are not eligible) to the attainment 
of age 26.  Children age 26 or older are also 
eligible if they are physically or mentally incapable 
of self-support, were incapable of self-support 
prior to age 26 and are financially dependent on 
you for more than one-half of their support and 
maintenance.   

*Class 2 members that are currently working in a position
with access to another class will follow the domestic 
partner eligibility rules of the other class.  

If both parents of a child qualify as eligible employees 
under the group policy, the child shall be considered a 
dependent of only one parent for purposes of this 
supplement.  If any child qualifies as an eligible employee 
under the group policy, he or she is not eligible to be 
insured as a dependent child. 

Any dependent child who, subsequent to the effective date 
of your child life insurance, meets the requirements of this 
provision will become insured on the date he or she so 
qualifies. 

When will we require evidence of insurability? 

Evidence of insurability will be required if: 

(1) the specifications page attached to your certificate 
states that evidence of insurability is required; or 

(2) the insurance is contributory and you do not enroll 
for coverage under this supplement within the 
enrollment period shown on the specifications 
page attached to your certificate; or 

(3) dependents insurance for which you previously 
enrolled did not go into effect or was terminated 
because you failed to make a required premium 
contribution; or 

(4) during a previous period of eligibility, you failed to 
submit evidence of insurability that was required 
for a dependent or that which was submitted was 
not satisfactory to us; or 

(5) the dependent is insured by an individual policy 
issued under the terms of the conversion right of 
this supplement. 

When does insurance on a dependent become 
effective? 

Insurance on a dependent becomes effective on the date 
when all of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) the dependent meets all eligibility requirements; 
and 

(2) if required, you apply for dependents coverage on 
forms which are approved by us; and 

(3) we are satisfied with the dependent’s evidence of 
insurability, if we require evidence; and 

(4) we receive the required premium. 

If a dependent is hospitalized or confined because of 
illness or disease on the date his or her insurance would 
otherwise become effective, his or her effective date shall 
be delayed until he or she is released from such 
hospitalization or confinement.  This does not apply to a 
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newborn child.  However, in no event will insurance on a 
dependent be effective before your insurance is effective. 

Death Benefit 

What is the amount of life insurance on each insured 
dependent? 

The amount of life insurance on each insured dependent 
is shown on the specifications page attached to your 
certificate.   

To whom will we pay the death benefit? 

The death benefit payable under this supplement will be 
paid to you if living, otherwise to your estate. 

Termination 

When does an insured dependent’s coverage under 
this supplement terminate? 

An insured dependent’s coverage ends on the earliest of 
the following: 

(1) the date the dependent no longer meets the 
eligibility requirements; or 

(2) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any premium contribution which is not paid; or 

(3) the last day for which premium contributions have 
been made following your written request that 
insurance on your eligible dependents be 
terminated; or 

(4) the date you are no longer covered under the 
group policy. 

 
You must notify us or your employer when a dependent is 
no longer eligible for coverage under this supplement so 
that premiums may be discontinued.  All premiums paid 
for dependents who are no longer eligible for coverage 
under this supplement will be refunded without any 
payment of claim. 

When does this supplement terminate? 

This supplement will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request from the 
policyholder to cancel the Dependents Term Life 
Insurance Policy Rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 
 

Additional Information 

What is the conversion right under this supplement? 

If an insured dependent’s coverage under this supplement 
terminates because he or she is no longer eligible, or 
because of your death, or because of termination or 
amendment of this supplement, the insurance may be 
converted to a policy of individual insurance with 
Minnesota Life. 

Conversion may be requested by you, an insured 
dependent of legal capacity, or the insured dependent’s 
guardian, if applicable.  All other conditions and provisions 
of the conversion right section of your certificate to which 
this supplement is attached will apply. 

Does the Waiver of Premium supplement to your 
certificate apply to insured dependents? 

The Waiver of Premium supplement to your certificate will 
not apply to disabilities for dependents covered under this 
supplement. 

However, if, due to your disability, your insurance is 
continued in force without further payment of premiums 
due to the Waiver of Premium supplement to your 
certificate, any dependents insurance provided by this 
supplement shall also continue in force without further 
payment of premiums until the dependent’s eligibility 
terminates or until your insurance is no longer continued in 
force due to the Waiver of Premium supplement to your 
certificate. 

This provision is not applicable if the dependent’s 
insurance has been converted under the conversion right 
section of this supplement, unless the converted policy is 
surrendered without claim except for refund of premiums. 

 
  
 
Secretary President 
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Term Life Insurance Portability 
Certificate Supplement 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098

General Information 

This certificate supplement is issued in consideration of 
the required premium and is subject to every term, 
condition, exclusion, limitation and provision of your 
certificate unless otherwise expressly provided for herein. 

What does this supplement provide? 

This supplement provides for continuation of your group 
life insurance if you no longer meet the eligibility 
requirements of your certificate, except as provided for 
herein. 

To continue coverage under the provisions of this 
supplement, you must make a written request and make 
the first premium contribution within 31 days after 
insurance provided by the group policy would otherwise 
terminate.  Evidence of insurability will not be required.  
Coverage provided by this supplement will then be 
deemed effective retroactive to the beginning of the 31-
day period.  This date is considered to be your portability 
date and you are then considered to have portability 
status. 

Who is eligible to continue insurance under this 
supplement? 

You are eligible to continue your group life insurance 
under the terms of this supplement if you, except as 
provided by this supplement, no longer meet the eligibility 
requirements of your certificate due to any of the following: 

(1) you terminate employment, including retirement; 
or 

(2) you are no longer in a class eligible for insurance 
or you are on a leave or layoff; or 

(3) a class or group of employees insured under the 
policy is no longer considered eligible and there is 
no successor plan for that class or group.  
Successor plan means an insurance policy or 
policies provided by us or another insurer that 
replaces insurance provided under this policy.  

You will not be eligible to request coverage under this 
supplement if you: 

(1) have attained the age of 99; or 
(2) have converted your insurance to an individual life 

policy under the terms of your certificate’s 
conversion right section; or 

(3) were not actively at work due to sickness or injury 
on the date immediately preceding your portability 
date; or 

(4) have been insured for fewer than six months as of 
your portability date; or 

(5) lose eligibility due to termination of the group 
policy. 

What insurance can be continued under this 
supplement? 

Contributory life insurance and non-contributory life 
insurance may be continued under this supplement.  If you 
elect to continue your own coverage according to the 
provisions of this supplement, you may also elect to 
continue contributory insurance for any other individual 
insured under your certificate.  You may also continue 
coverage under all supplements to your certificate which 
apply to contributory and non-contributory life insurance 
and by which you were insured immediately preceding 
your portability date, except the Term Life Waiver of 
Premium Certificate Supplement, which shall terminate 
upon porting. 

The amount of insurance continued under this supplement 
for any individual will be subject to any applicable state 
law or regulation relating to allowable amounts of 
insurance. 

What is the minimum amount of insurance that can be 
continued under this supplement? 

The minimum amount of insurance that can be continued 
on an insured’s life under this supplement is $10,000 for 
you and $1,000 for each of your insured dependents.  

What is the maximum amount of insurance that can 
be continued under this supplement? 

The maximum amount of insurance that can be continued 
under this supplement is the amount of insurance that was 
in force on the insured’s portability date, but not more than 
$500,000 for an employee or $150,000 for a 
spouse/domestic partner.   

The amount of ported AD&D insurance under Voluntary 
AD&D policy number 34458 cannot exceed the amount of 
ported life insurance.   

Will the amount of insurance continued under this 
supplement change? 

Yes.  On the first day of the month following the date an 
insured attains age 70, the amount of insurance on his or 
her life continued under this supplement will reduce to 
40% of the amount of insurance in force on the day prior 
to his or her attainment of age 70.  Upon the attainment of 
age 75, the amount of insurance on his or her life 
continued under this supplement will reduce to 25% of the 
amount of insurance in force on the day prior to his or her 
attainment of age 75.  Insurance terminates at age 99. 
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Can you request a change in your amount of 
insurance continued under this supplement? 

Yes.  You may elect to reduce the amount of insurance on 
your life.  Your remaining amount of insurance must be at 
least $10,000. 

The amount of insurance continued under this supplement 
will never increase. 

How will premium contributions be paid? 

Premium contributions will be paid directly to us on a 
monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, or annual basis and will 
be subject to an administrative charge per billing period.  
We may adjust the amount of the charge, but not more 
often than once per year. 

Can the premium rate change? 

Yes.  The premium rate may increase on the portability 
date.  The premium rate may also increase in the future 
but will not change more often than once per year. 

Can insurance continued under this supplement be 
converted to a policy of individual insurance? 

Yes.  At any time after insurance has been continued 
under the provisions of this supplement, it may be 
converted to a policy of individual insurance with 
Minnesota Life.  All other conditions and provisions of the 
conversion right section of your certificate to which this 
supplement is attached will apply. 

What happens if you again become eligible under 
your certificate? 

If you are continuing coverage under the terms of this 
supplement, and again meet the eligibility requirements of 
your certificate, not including the terms of this supplement, 
you shall no longer be considered to have portability 
status.  Insurance may be continued only under the terms 

of your certificate, not including this supplement unless 
and until you no longer meet the eligibility requirements of 
your certificate and again return to portability status as 
provided for herein. 

What happens to insurance provided under this 
supplement when the group policy terminates? 

Anything in the group policy notwithstanding, termination 
of the group policy by the policyholder or us will not 
terminate life insurance then in force for any person under 
the terms of this supplement.  The group policy will be 
deemed to remain in force solely for the purpose of 
continuing such insurance, but without further obligation of 
the policyholder. 

Any insurance continued under the terms of this 
supplement will remain in force until terminated by the 
provisions of the section entitled “When will insurance 
continued under this supplement terminate?”. 

No individual may elect coverage under this supplement 
on or after the date of termination of the group policy. 

When will insurance continued under this supplement 
terminate? 

Insurance being continued under this supplement will 
terminate on the earliest of the following: 

(1) the insured’s 99th birthday; or 
(2) the date the insured again meets the eligibility 

requirements of your certificate, not including the 
terms of this supplement; or 

(3) in the case of a dependent child or a 
spouse/domestic partner who is insured by a 
supplement to your certificate, the date your 
coverage is no longer being continued under this 
supplement or the date the spouse/domestic 
partner or child ceases to be eligible as defined 
under the terms of your certificate; or 

(4) 31 days after the due date of any premium 
contribution which is not made. 

Secretary President
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Term Life Waiver of Premium 
Certificate Supplement 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

General Information 

This certificate supplement is issued in consideration of 
the required premium and is subject to every term, 
condition, exclusion, limitation, and provision of your 
certificate unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.  
The specifications page attached to your certificate 
indicates whether this supplement applies to contributory 
insurance or noncontributory insurance.  Coverage under 
this supplement will not be included in any insurance 
issued under the conversion right section of your 
certificate. 

What does this supplement provide? 

This supplement provides for waiver of premium if you 
become totally disabled, as defined herein.  Upon 
approval of proof of such disability, your insurance, 
including all supplements to your certificate which were in 
force on the date of the onset of your disability, will be 
continued in force without payment of premiums during 
the uninterrupted continuance of the total disability.   

You are considered totally disabled if you are eligible for 
and receiving disability income benefits under the 
employer’s long term disability (LTD) plan.  The disability 
for which LTD benefits are ultimately payable must 
commence while your insurance is in force under the 
group policy. 

For employees not covered under the employer’s LTD 
insurance plan, total disability shall mean a disability 
which occurs while your insurance is in force and prior to 
your 60th birthday, which results from an accidental injury 
or an illness that continuously prevents you from engaging 
in any occupation for which you are reasonably suited by 
education, training or experience.  The disability must 
have existed continuously for at least six months.  You 
must be under the care of a licensed physician.  The 
licensed physician cannot be you or a member of your 
immediate family.  For purposes of this supplement, your 
immediate family consists of your spouse, domestic 
partner, children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, 
brothers and sisters, and their spouses. 

Do premiums have to be paid after you become 
disabled? 

Yes.  Premiums have to be paid after you become 
disabled, but only until we approve your total and 
permanent disability claim.  Continued payment prevents 
the possible loss of your coverage and eligibility if your 
claim is not approved.   

What if you convert your group life insurance to a 
policy of individual insurance prior to the approval of 
your disability claim? 

If your coverage has been converted in accordance with 
the conversion right section of your certificate, benefits 
under this supplement will apply only if the converted 
policy is surrendered without claim, except for refund of 
premiums. 

What will be considered due proof of total disability? 

You must furnish evidence satisfactory to us that your 
disability: 

(1) commenced while your insurance under your 
certificate was in force; and 

(2) meets the definition of total disability.   

We will, from time to time, also require additional proof 
satisfactory to us that you continue to be totally disabled.  
We may also require that you submit to one or more 
medical examinations at our expense. 

If you die within one year of the date of onset of your 
disability, your beneficiary may claim benefits under this 
supplement even if your premium payments were 
discontinued and you had not submitted due proof 
satisfactory to us of your total disability.  Your beneficiary 
must submit due proof satisfactory to us that your total 
disability, which began before premium payments on your 
behalf were discontinued, continued without interruption 
until your death. 

When must we be notified of your disability or death? 

We must receive written notice at our home office of your 
total disability within one year of the date of onset of such 
disability.  However, failure to give notice within the time 
provided will not invalidate the claim if it is shown that 
notice was given as soon as reasonably possible. 

We must receive written notice at our home office within 
one year of death that you died during the period of 
continuance provided by this supplement.  Proof must be 
furnished that you continued to be totally disabled during 
the entire period of continuance until death.  If such notice 
and proof are not provided within the required time frame, 
there shall be no liability for any payment under this 
supplement. 

What is the amount of insurance to be continued 
without payment of premium under this supplement? 

The amount of insurance continued without payment of 
premium shall be the amount of insurance that was in 
force on the date of onset of total disability.  
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If your certificate provides for reductions in amounts of 
insurance based on age or retirement, such reductions 
shall apply to your insurance being continued under this 
supplement.  

How long will insurance be continued without 
payment of premium? 

If you become totally disabled, insurance will be 
continued, without payment of premium, until the earliest 
of: 

(1) the date you recover so that you are no longer 
totally disabled; or 

(2) the date you are no longer receiving LTD benefits, 
or if you are not covered for LTD, on your 65th 
birthday; or 

(3) the date you fail to furnish proof of continued 
disability when requested or you refuse to submit 
to a required medical examination. 

However, if you are an employee and your certificate 
provides for termination of insurance at retirement, 
insurance provided under this supplement will terminate 
when you retire, including normal or early retirement.  
Your retirement date shall be the earlier of: 

(1) the date you actually retire; or 
(2) your presumed normal retirement date as 

established by the employer’s applicable 
retirement plan.  If no such date has been 
established, your presumed retirement date shall 
be age 65. 

What happens to your insurance when the waiver of 
premium benefit ends? 

When the benefits under this supplement end according to 
the provisions of the section entitled “How long will 

insurance be continued without payment of premium?,” 
the following will apply: 

(1) If you are then eligible for coverage under your 
certificate, your insurance may be continued 
under your certificate provided that premiums are 
paid.  The first such premium payment must be 
made within 31 days of the date the waiver of 
premium benefit ends. 

(2) If you are no longer eligible for coverage under 
your certificate, you may convert coverage to an 
individual policy, as provided for under the 
conversion right section of your certificate. 

Your insurance will end unless, within 31 days of the date 
benefits under this supplement end, premium payments 
on your behalf are resumed or you apply to convert your 
coverage. 

When does this supplement terminate? 

This supplement will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request from the 
policyholder to terminate the Term Life Waiver of 
Premium Policy Rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 

Insurance being continued without further payment of 
premiums in accordance with the provisions of this rider 
will not end due solely to the termination of this rider or of 
the group policy. 

Secretary President
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