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Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Certificate of Insurance 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

Read Your Certificate Carefully 

You are insured under the group policy shown on the 
certificate specifications page.  This certificate 
summarizes the principal provisions of the group policy 
that affect you.  The provisions summarized in this 
certificate are subject in every respect to the group policy.  
You may examine the group policy at the principal office of 
the policyholder during regular working hours.   

Legal Actions 

No legal action may be brought to recover on this 
certificate within the first sixty days after written proof of 
loss has been given as required by this certificate.  No 
such action may be brought after three years from the 
time written proof of loss is required to be given. 

Secretary President 
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ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 

Effective January 1, 2018
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AD&D INSURANCE CERTIFICATE SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

POLICYHOLDER: King County POLICY NO.:  34458-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 
inclusion in the policy.

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2016. This specifications page represents the plan in effect as of 
January 1, 2018. 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: January 1 of each year beginning January 1, 2017 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): The first day of each month. 

GROUP: The group is composed of all active employees of the policyholder and its 
associated companies working in the United States in the following classes: 

Class 1: JLMIC – All employees other than those listed in classes 2, 
3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 

Class 2: LEOFF 1- Employees in Law Enforcement, Firefighters and 
Deputies 

Class 3: Full-time employees of Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) 
Local 587 

Class 4: Part-time Transit Operators (PTTO)   

Class 5: Union employees of Technical Employees Association 
(TEA) regularly working a half-time schedule or more whose 
collective bargaining union has not ratified the collective 
bargaining agreement (W2) 

Class 6:  Union employees of Technical Employees Association 
(TEA) regularly working a half-time schedule or more whose 
collective bargaining union has ratified the collective 
bargaining agreement  
(W3, W4) 

Class 7: Employees who are eligible for benefits through the 
provisions of the Affordable Care Act (ACA). 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Not Applicable for noncontributory insurance; 30 days from the first day of 
eligibility for contributory employee insurance.  The enrollment period to elect 
contributory dependent coverage is 60 days from the first day of eligibility. 

WAITING PERIOD: Classes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6:  The period commencing with the employee’s date 
of employment and ending with the first day of the month next following or 
coinciding with the employee’s date of employment.   

Class 7:  The period commencing with the employee’s date of employment and 
ending with the first of the month following the date the employee becomes 
eligible for benefits. 

MINIMUM HOURS PER 
WEEK REQUIREMENT: 

All Classes:  20 hours per week 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Basic Employee AD&D Insurance  

Eligible Class Amount of Basic AD&D Insurance 

Classes 1, 3, 5 and 6: One times annual earnings, rounded to the next higher $1,000 if not already a 
multiple thereof, subject to a maximum of $200,000. 

Class 2:  $6,000 

Classes 4 & 7: $25,000 

Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance  

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental AD&D Insurance 

Classes 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7:  An amount elected by the employee in an increment of $50,000, subject to a 
maximum of $500,000.    

Class 2: None 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All AD&D insurance terminates upon retirement, except as provided for under 
the portability provisions. 

CONTRIBUTORY/ 
NONCONTRIBUTORY: 

Basic AD&D insurance is noncontributory insurance.  Supplemental AD&D 
insurance is contributory insurance. 

INCREASES AND DECREASES: Increases and decreases due to a change in eligible class or earnings will 
become effective during the month of the class or salary change.  All 
increases are subject to the actively at work requirement. 

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

An employee must be insured for supplemental AD&D insurance in order to be insured for dependents AD&D insurance. 

Supplemental Spouse/Domestic Partner AD&D Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Domestic Supplemental AD&D Insurance 

Classes 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7: 50% or 100% of the employee’s amount of supplemental insurance, subject 
to a maximum of $500,000 

Class 2 None 

Supplemental Child AD&D Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Child AD&D Insurance 

Classes 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7: 

 Live birth but less than six months: $500 
 Six months but less than 26 years: 10% of the employee’s amount of supplemental insurance, subject to a 

maximum of $50,000. 

Class 2 None 



F.57594 C 

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/ 
NONCONTRIBUTORY: 

All dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 

  
INCREASES AND DECREASES: Dependents insurance shall automatically increase or decrease as the 

employee’s amount of insurance increases or decreases. 
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Definitions 

age 

Attained age as of most recent birthday. 

associated company 

Any company which is a subsidiary or affiliate of the 
policyholder which is designated by the policyholder and 
agreed to by us to participate under the group policy. 

certificate effective date 

The date your coverage under this certificate becomes 
effective. 

contributory insurance 

Insurance for which the employee is required to make 
premium contributions. 

earnings 

An employee’s basic rate of compensation not including 
commissions, overtime or premium pay, bonuses, or any 
other additional compensation. 

employee 

An individual who is employed by the policyholder or by an 
associated company.  A sole proprietor will be considered 
the employee of the proprietorship.  A partner in a 
partnership will be considered an employee so long as the 
partner’s principal work is the conduct of the partnership’s 
business.  The term employee does not include temporary 
employees, seasonal employees nor corporate directors 
who are not otherwise employees. 

employer 

The policyholder or any designated associated company. 

insured 

A person who is eligible for and becomes insured under 
the terms of this certificate.    

licensed physician 

An individual who is licensed to practice medicine or treat 
illness in the state in which treatment is received.  The 
physician cannot be you or your spouse/domestic partner, 
children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, brothers or 
sisters, or the spouse of any such individuals. 

non-work day 

A day on which the employee is not regularly scheduled to 
work, including scheduled time off for vacations, personal 
holidays, weekends and holidays, and approved leaves of 
absence for non-medical reasons. 

Non-work day does not include time off for medical leave 
of absence, temporary layoff, employer suspension of 
operations in total or in part, strike, and any time off due to 

sickness or injury including sick days, short-term disability, 
or long-term disability. 

noncontributory insurance 

Insurance for which the employee is not required to make 
premium contributions. 

policyholder 

The owner of the group policy as shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate. 

specifications page 

The outline which summarizes your coverage under the 
policyholder’s plan of insurance. 

waiting period 

The period, if any, of continuous employment with the 
employer that the employee must satisfy prior to becoming 
eligible for coverage under this certificate.  Any such 
waiting period is shown on the specifications page 
attached to this certificate. 

we, our, us 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company. 

you, your, certificate holder 

The individual who applies for and becomes insured under 
the group policy. 

General Information 

What is your agreement with us? 

This certificate summarizes the principal provisions of your 
accidental death and dismemberment insurance provided 
by the group policy.  The provisions summarized in this 
certificate are subject in every respect to the group policy.  
Your signed application is deemed a part of this certificate. 

Any statements made in your application will, in the 
absence of fraud, be considered representations and not 
warranties.  Also, any statement made will not be used to 
void your insurance nor defend against a claim unless the 
statement is contained in your signed application, and a 
copy containing the statement is furnished to you, the 
beneficiary, or your or the beneficiary’s personal 
representative. 

This certificate is issued in consideration of your 
application and the payment of the required premium. 

Can this certificate be amended? 

Yes.  Your consent is not required to amend this 
certificate.  Any amendment will be without prejudice to 
any claim for benefits incurred prior to the effective date of 
the amendment.  
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Who is eligible for insurance? 

An employee is eligible if he or she: 

(1) is a member of the eligible group and of an 
eligible class identified in the group policy; and 

(2) works for the employer for at least the number of 
hours per week shown as the minimum hours 
per week requirement on the specifications 
page attached to this certificate; and 

(3) has satisfied the waiting period, if any; and 
(4) meets the actively at work requirement 

described in the  “What is the actively at work 
requirement?” provision of this section. 

 
An eligible employee’s spouse/domestic partner must be 
under age 80 to apply for accidental death and 
dismemberment insurance.  

Are retired employees eligible for insurance? 

If the policyholder’s plan of insurance, as shown on the 
specifications page attached to the group policy, does not 
specifically provide insurance for retired employees, a 
retired employee shall not be eligible to become insured, 
nor to have his or her insurance continued.  If the 
policyholder’s plan of insurance specifically provides 
insurance for retired employees, the minimum hours per 
week and actively at work requirements will not apply to 
such persons. 

What is the actively at work requirement? 

To be eligible to become insured or to receive an increase 
in the amount of insurance, an employee must be actively 
at work fully performing his or her customary duties for his 
or her regularly scheduled hours at the employer’s normal 
place of business, or at other places the employer’s 
business requires him or her to travel. 

Employees not working due to illness or injury do not meet 
the actively at work requirement nor do employees 
receiving sick pay, short-term disability benefits or long-
term disability benefits. 

If the employee is not actively at work on the date 
coverage would otherwise begin, or on the date an 
increase in his or her amount of insurance would 
otherwise be effective, he or she will not be eligible for the 
coverage or increase until he or she returns to active 
work.  However, if the absence is on a non-work day, 
coverage will not be delayed provided the employee was 
actively at work on the work day immediately preceding 
the non-work day. 

Except as otherwise provided for in this certificate, an 
employee is eligible to continue to be insured only while 
he or she remains actively at work. 

When does your insurance become effective? 

Your insurance becomes effective on the date that all of 
the following conditions have been met: 

(1) you meet all eligibility requirements; and 
(2) if required, you apply for the insurance on forms 

which are approved by us; and 
(3) we receive the required premium. 

 
Can an insured's coverage be continued during the 
employee’s sickness, injury, leave of absence or 
temporary layoff? 

Yes.  The employer may continue your noncontributory 
insurance or allow you to continue your contributory 
insurance when you are absent from work due to 
sickness, injury, leave of absence, or temporary layoff.   

Continuation of your insurance is subject to certain time 
limits and conditions as stated in the group policy.  If you 
stop active work for any reason, you should discuss with 
the employer what arrangements may be made to 
continue your insurance. 

Continuation of insurance must be in accordance with a 
plan that precludes individual selection. 

Premiums 

When and how often are premiums due? 

Unless the policyholder and we have agreed to some 
other premium payment procedure, any premium 
contributions you are required to make for contributory 
insurance are to be paid by you to the policyholder on a 
monthly basis.  We apply premiums consecutively to keep 
the insurance in force. 

How is the premium determined? 

The premium will be the premium rate multiplied by the 
number of $1,000 units of insurance in force on the date 
premiums are due.  The premium may also be computed 
by any other method on which the policyholder and we 
agree. 

We may change the premium rate: 

(1) on any premium due date following the 
expiration of any rate guarantee period, or 
following the date that the amount of insurance 
in force for any one coverage changes by more 
than 25% from that which was used to 
determine the current rates (employee AD&D, 
spouse/domestic partner AD&D and child AD&D 
are considered separate coverages; or 

(2) anytime, if the policy terms are amended or the 
total amount of insurance in force changes by 
25% from the volume that was used to 
determine the current rates or more. 
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Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Benefit 

What does accidental death or dismemberment by 
accidental injury mean? 

Accidental death or dismemberment by accidental injury 
means that an insured’s death or dismemberment results, 
directly and independently of all other causes, from an 
accidental injury which is unintended, unexpected, and 
unforeseen. 

The injury must occur while the insured’s coverage is in 
force.  The insured’s death or dismemberment must occur 
within 365 days after the date of the injury and while his or 
her coverage is in force. 

What is the amount of the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefit? 

The amount of the benefit shall be a percentage of the 
amount of insurance shown on the specifications page 
attached to this certificate.  The percentage is determined 
by the type of loss as shown in the following table: 

 PERCENT OF 
TYPE OF LOSS AMOUNT OF INSURANCE 

Life .............................................................................. 100% 
Both Hands or Both Feet ............................................ 100% 
Sight of Both Eyes ...................................................... 100% 
Speech and Hearing .................................................. 100% 
One Hand and One Foot ............................................ 100% 
One Foot and Sight of One Eye ................................. 100% 
One Hand and Sight of One Eye................................ 100% 
Quadriplegia ............................................................... 100% 
Paraplegia .................................................................... 75% 
Loss of One Arm .......................................................... 75% 
Loss of One Leg ........................................................... 75% 
Sight of One Eye .......................................................... 50% 
Speech or Hearing ....................................................... 50% 
One Hand or One Foot ................................................. 50% 
Hemiplegia ................................................................... 50% 
Thumb and Index Finger of One Hand ........................ 25% 
Uniplegia ...................................................................... 25% 
 
Loss of hands or feet means complete severance at or 
above the wrist or ankle joints.  Loss of an arm or leg 
means complete severance through or above the elbow or 
knee joint.  Loss of sight, speech, or hearing means the 
entire and irrecoverable loss of sight, speech, or hearing 
which cannot be corrected by medical or surgical 
treatment or by artificial means.  Loss of thumb and index 
finger means complete severance of both the thumb and 
the index finger at or above the metacarpophalangeal 
joints.  Quadriplegia means total paralysis of both upper 
and lower limbs.  Paraplegia means total paralysis of both 
lower limbs.  Hemiplegia means total paralysis of upper 
and lower limbs on one side of the body.  Uniplegia means 
total paralysis of one limb. 

 

 

A benefit is not payable for both loss of one hand and the 
loss of thumb and index finger of one hand or the loss of 
an arm for injury to the same hand as a result of any one 
accident (the largest benefit of these overlapping losses 
only will be paid).  Under no circumstance will more than 
one payment be made for the loss of the same limb, eye, 
finger, thumb, hand, foot, sight, speech or hearing if one 
payment has already been made for that loss.   

Benefits may be paid for more than one accidental injury, 
but the total amount of insurance payable for all of an 
insured’s losses due to any one accident, not including 
any amount paid according to the terms of the Additional 
Benefits section of this certificate, will never exceed such 
insured’s full amount of insurance shown on the 
specifications page attached to this policy.   

Can you request a change in the amount of your 
contributory insurance? 

Yes.  You can request an increase or a decrease in the 
amount of your contributory insurance as shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate.  Requests 
may be made in writing, by telephone or any other method 
made available by us. 

When will changes in coverage amounts be effective? 

Increases and decreases in amounts of contributory 
insurance will be effective as shown on the specifications 
page attached to this certificate.  All increases in the 
amount of insurance are subject to the actively at work 
requirement. 

What are the notice of claim and proof of loss 
requirements? 

Written notice of injury on which a claim may be based 
must be given to us within 30 days after the accident.  
Proof of loss must be furnished to us within 90 days after 
the date of loss.  However, failure to give such notice and 
proof within the time provided will not invalidate the claim 
if it is shown that notice and proof were given as soon as 
reasonably possible. 

When we receive written notice of claim, we will send the 
claimant our claim forms if he or she needs them.  If the 
claimant does not receive the forms within 15 days, we will 
accept his or her written description as proof of loss. 

When will the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit be payable? 

We will pay the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit upon receipt at our home office of written proof 
satisfactory to us that you died or suffered a covered 
dismemberment as a result of a covered accidental injury.  
All payments by us are payable from our home office. 

The benefit will be paid in a single sum.  We will pay 
interest on the benefit from the date of your death or 
dismemberment until the date of payment.  Interest will be 
at an annual rate determined by us, but never less than 
0.1% per year or the minimum required by state law, 
whichever is greater. 
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To whom will we pay the accidental death or 
dismemberment benefit? 

In the case of your accidental death, we will pay the 
accidental death benefit to the beneficiary or beneficiaries.  
All other benefits will be payable to you, if living, otherwise 
to your estate. 

A beneficiary is named by you to receive the accidental 
death benefit to be paid at your accidental death.  You 
may name one or more beneficiaries.  You cannot name 
the policyholder or an associated company as a 
beneficiary. 

You may also choose to name a beneficiary that you 
cannot change without the beneficiary’s consent.  This is 
called an irrevocable beneficiary. 

If there is more than one beneficiary, each will receive an 
equal share, unless you have requested another method 
in writing.  To receive the accidental death benefit, a 
beneficiary must be living at the time of your accidental 
death.  In the event a beneficiary is not living at the time of 
your accidental death, that beneficiary’s portion of the 
accidental death benefit shall be equally distributed to the 
remaining surviving beneficiaries.  In the event of the 
simultaneous deaths of you and a beneficiary, the 
accidental death benefit will be paid as if you survived the 
beneficiary.  

If there is no eligible beneficiary, or if you do not name 
one, we will pay the accidental death benefit to: 

(1) your lawful spouse (this does not apply to a 
domestic partner), if living, otherwise; 

(2) your natural or legally adopted child (children) in 
equal shares, if living, otherwise; 

(3) the personal representative of your estate. 
 
Can you add or change beneficiaries? 

Yes.  You can add or change beneficiaries if all of the 
following are true: 

(1) your coverage is in force; and 
(2) we have written consent of all irrevocable 

beneficiaries; and 
(3) you have not assigned the ownership of your 

insurance. 
 

A request to add or change a beneficiary must be made in 
writing or by any other method made available under the 
plan.  A change will take effect as of the date it is signed, 
but will not affect any payment we make or action we take 
before receiving your request. 

Exclusions 

What are the exclusions under this certificate? 

In no event will we pay the accidental death or 
dismemberment benefit where the insured’s death or 
dismemberment results from or is caused directly or 
indirectly by any of the following: 

(1) suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or 
insane; or 

(2) intentionally self-inflicted injury or any attempt at  
   self-inflicted injury, whether sane or insane; or 

(3)    the insured’s participation in or attempt to 
   commit a crime, assault or felony; or 

(4)    bodily or mental infirmity, illness or disease; or 
(5)   medical or surgical treatment including 

  diagnostic procedures; or 
(6)   alcoholism and drug addiction; or 
(7)   motor vehicle collision or accident where the 

  insured is the operator of the motor vehicle and  
  this insured’s blood alcohol level meets or 
  exceeds the level at which intoxication is defined 
  in the state where the collision or accident  
  occurred, regardless of any legal proceedings, or   
  the absence of any legal proceedings, thereto 
 (applies to basic AD&D only); or 

(8)   the use of poisons, gases, fumes, or other  
  substances unless taken, absorbed, inhaled, 
  ingested or injected accidentally; or 

(9)   bacterial infection, other than infection occurring 
  simultaneously with, and as a result of, the  
  accidental injury; or 

(10)   travel or flight in or on any vehicle used for aerial  
  navigation including getting in, out, on, or off 
  such vehicle, if the insured is: 
(a) riding as a passenger in any aircraft not 

intended or licensed for the transportation of 
passengers; or 

(b) acting as a pilot or a crew member of any 
aircraft, unless riding as a passenger; or 

(c) riding as a passenger in a non-chartered 
aircraft which is owned, leased, operated, or 
controlled by the eligible employee’s 
employer; or 

(d) a student taking a flying lesson, unless riding 
as a passenger; or 

(e) hang gliding; or 
(f) parachuting, except when the insured has to 

make a parachute jump for self-preservation; 
or 

(11)   war or any act of war, whether declared or   
         undeclared; or 
(12) riot or civil insurrection (applies to Voluntary 

   AD&D only); or 
(13) service in the military of any nation.   

 

Additional Benefits 

Unless stated otherwise, additional benefits are payable to 
the same person or persons who receive the accidental 
death and dismemberment benefits.  Additional benefits 
are paid in addition to any accidental death and 
dismemberment benefits described in the Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment section, unless otherwise 
stated.  All provisions of the certificate, including but not 
limited to the Exclusions section, shall apply to these 
additional benefits.  These additional benefits apply to 
both basic and voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment insurance. 
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Air Bag Benefit 

What is the air bag benefit? 

If an insured dies as a result of a covered accident which 
occurs while he or she is driving or riding in a private 
passenger car, we will pay an additional accidental death 
and dismemberment benefit equal to the lesser of $12,500 
or 5% of the amount payable due to the death or 
dismemberment, provided: 

(1) the seat in which the insured was seated was 
equipped with a properly installed airbag at the 
time of the accident; and 

(2) the private passenger car is equipped with 
seatbelts; and 

(3) a seatbelt was in proper use by the insured at 
the time of the accident as certified in the official 
accident report or by the investigating officer; 
and 

(4) at the time of the accident, the driver of the 
private passenger car was a licensed driver and 
was not intoxicated, impaired, or under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs. 

 
Airbag means a passive restraint device in a vehicle which 
inflates upon collision to protect an individual from injury or 
death. 

Seatbelt means a properly installed seatbelt (or child 
restraint if the insured is a child), lap and shoulder 
restraint, or other restraint approved by the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration or any successor 
governmental agency.  A private passenger car means a 
validly registered four-wheeled private passenger car or 
policyholder-owned car, jeep, pickup truck or van, 
including a sport utility vehicle (SUV), that is not licensed 
commercially or being used for racing, or acrobatic or 
stunt driving. 

Anti-Inflation Benefit 

What is the anti-inflation benefit? 

An insured’s amount of insurance will increase by 1% after 
the insured’s insurance has been continuously in force for 
two consecutive years.  The original amount of insurance 
will continue to increase by an additional 1% for every 
twelve consecutive months thereafter while the insured’s 
insurance is in force and until the insured’s amount of 
insurance reaches 10% of your original amount of 
insurance. 

Any increase in an insured’s amount of insurance will 
begin a new consecutive and continuous period under this 
benefit for the amount of the increase. 

Brain Damage Benefit 

What is the brain damage benefit? 

If an insured sustains and is diagnosed by a licensed 
physician as having Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) as a 
result of and within 365 days of a covered accidental 

injury, and such TBI has lasted for a minimum of 12 
consecutive months, we will pay a benefit equal to the 
lesser of: 

(1) 50% of the insured’s amount of insurance; or  
(2) $100,000.     

 
The insured must be hospitalized due to TBI for at least 
seven days within the first 365 days following the accident.  
This benefit will be paid in one lump sum during the 13th 
month following the date of the accident if brain damage 
continues longer than 12 consecutive months.   

Coma Benefit 

What is the coma benefit? 

If an insured lapses into a coma as a result of and within 
365 days of a covered accidental injury, and such coma 
has lasted for a minimum of 31 days, we will pay a benefit 
equal to the lesser of: 

(1) 1% of the insured’s amount of insurance; or 
(2) 1% of the difference between the insured’s 

amount of insurance and the amount of any 
benefits paid under the loss schedule for the 
same accident.   

 
This benefit will be paid monthly until the earliest of the 
following: 

(1) the date the insured recovers such that he or 
she is no longer in a coma as defined herein; or 

(2) the date of the insured’s death.  If an accidental 
death payment is due under this certificate, the 
amount of such payment will be reduced by the 
amount of insurance paid under this coma 
provision; or 

(3) 11 months following the date monthly benefits 
commenced. 

 
Coma means a state of profound unconsciousness with 
no evidence of appropriate responses to stimulation.   The 
insured must be confined in a medical facility and 
diagnosed as comatose by a licensed physician. 

Disappearance Benefit 

What is the disappearance benefit? 

If an insured’s body has not been found after one year 
from the date the conveyance in which he or she was 
traveling disappeared, exploded, sank, became stranded, 
made a forced landing or was wrecked, it shall be 
presumed, subject to all other terms of the policy, that the 
insured has died as a result of an accidental injury which 
was unintended, unexpected and unforeseen.  Such death 
shall be considered a covered loss under this certificate. 
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Exposure Benefit 

What is the exposure benefit? 

If an insured is unavoidably exposed to the elements by 
reason of a covered accident and suffers a loss that is 
included in the list of covered losses as a result of such 
exposure, such loss will be covered under the terms of 
this certificate. 

Felonious Assault Benefit 

What is the felonious assault benefit? 

If an insured employee dies or suffers a covered 
dismemberment as a result of a covered accident caused 
by a felonious assault, we will pay an additional benefit 
equal to the lesser of $100,000 or 25% of the amount 
payable due to the death or dismemberment. 

A felonious assault is a physical assault by another person 
resulting in bodily harm to the insured employee.  The 
assault must take place while the insured employee is 
performing his or her customary duties at the employer’s 
normal place of business or at other places the employer’s 
business requires the insured employee to travel.  The 
assault must involve the use of force or violence with 
intent to cause harm and must be either a felony or a 
misdemeanor. 

No benefit is payable if the assault is a result of a moving 
violation or is committed by an immediate family member 
or a coworker.  Immediate family members are the insured 
employee’s spouse/domestic partner, children, parents, 
grandparents, grandchildren, brothers and sisters, and the 
spouses of such individuals. 

Rehabilitative Physical Therapy Benefit 

What is the rehabilitative physical therapy benefit? 

If an insured suffers an injury which results in a covered 
dismemberment, we will pay an additional benefit for 
rehabilitative physical therapy which is prescribed by the 
attending physician or surgeon.  The benefit will be equal 
to $10,000.   

Seatbelt Benefit 

What is the seatbelt benefit? 

If  an insured dies as a result of a covered accident which 
occurs while he or she is driving or riding in a private 
passenger car, we will pay an additional accidental death 
and dismemberment benefit equal to the lesser of: 

(1) $25,000; or 
(2) 10% of the amount payable due to the death or 

dismemberment. 
 
In order to be eligible for this benefit, the following must 
apply: 

(1) the private passenger car was equipped with 
seatbelts; and 

(2) a seatbelt was in proper use by the insured at 
the time of the accident as certified in the official 
accident report or by the investigating officer; 
and 

(3) at the time of the accident, the driver of the 
private passenger car was a licensed driver and 
was not intoxicated, impaired, or under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs.   

 

Portability Benefit 

What is the portability benefit? 

The portability benefit provides for continuation of your 
group accidental death and dismemberment insurance if 
you no longer meet the eligibility requirements of this 
certificate, except as provided for herein. 

To continue coverage under the provisions of this benefit, 
you must make a written request and make the first 
premium contribution within 31 days after insurance 
provided by the group policy would otherwise terminate.  
Coverage provided by this benefit will then be deemed 
effective retroactive to the beginning of the 31-day period.  
This date is considered to be your portability date and you 
are then considered to have portability status. 

Who is eligible to continue insurance under this 
benefit? 

You are eligible to continue insurance under this benefit if 
you, except as provided by this benefit, no longer meet the 
eligibility requirements of this certificate due to any of the 
following: 

(1) the employee terminates employment, including 
retirement; or  

(2) the employee is no longer in a class eligible for 
insurance or is on a leave or layoff; or 

(3) a class or group of employees insured under the 
policy is no longer considered eligible and there 
is no successor plan for that class or group.  
Successor plan means an insurance policy or 
policies provided by us or another insurer that 
replaces insurance provided under the policy. 

 
You will not be eligible to request coverage under this 
benefit if you: 

(1) have attained the age of 99; or 
(2) were not actively at work due to sickness or 

injury on the day immediately preceding your 
portability date; or 

(3) lose eligibility due to termination of the group 
policy. 

What insurance can be continued under this benefit? 

Contributory AD&D insurance and noncontributory AD&D 
insurance may be continued under this benefit.  If you 
elect to continue your own coverage according to the 
provisions of this benefit, you may also elect to continue 
contributory insurance for any other individual insured 
under your certificate.  You may also continue coverage 
under all additional benefits to such certificate which apply 
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to contributory and noncontributory AD&D insurance and 
by which you were insured immediately preceding your 
portability date, except the Waiver of Premium provisions 
as outlined herein. 

The amount of insurance continued under this benefit for 
any individual will be subject to any applicable state law or 
regulation relating to allowable amounts of insurance. 

What is the minimum amount of insurance that can be 
continued under this benefit? 

The minimum amount of insurance that can be continued 
for an insured is $10,000 for an employee and $1,000 for 
each of your insured dependents.    

What is the maximum amount of insurance that can 
be continued under this benefit? 

The maximum amount of insurance that can be continued 
under this benefit is the amount of insurance that was in 
force on your portability date, but not more than $500,000 
if you are an employee or $150,000 if you are a 
spouse/domestic partner.   

The amount of ported AD&D insurance under this policy 
cannot exceed the amount of ported life insurance under 
Term Life policy number 34457. 

Will the amount of insurance continued under this 
benefit change? 

Yes.  On the first day of the month following the date an 
insured attains age 70, the amount of insurance on his or 
her life continued under this supplement will reduce to 
40% of the amount of insurance in force on the day prior 
to his or her attainment of age 70.  Upon the attainment of 
age 75, the amount of insurance on his or her life 
continued under this supplement will reduce to 25% of the 
amount of insurance in force on the day prior to his or her 
attainment of age 75.  Insurance terminates at age 99.   

Can you request a change in your amount of 
insurance continued under this benefit? 

Yes.  You may elect to reduce the amount of insurance 
provided under your certificate.  The remaining amount of 
insurance must be at least $10,000. 

The amount of insurance continued under this benefit will 
never increase. 

How will premium contributions be paid? 

Premium contributions will be paid directly to us on a 
monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, or annual basis and will 
be subject to an administrative charge per billing period.  
We may adjust the amount of the charge, but not more 
often than once per year. 

Can the premium rate change? 

Yes.  The premium rate may increase on the portability 
date.  The premium rate may also increase in the future 
but will not change more often than once per year. 

What happens if you again become eligible under this 
certificate? 

If you are continuing coverage under the provisions of this 
benefit and again meet the eligibility requirements of this 
certificate, not including the terms of this benefit, you shall 
no longer be considered to have portability status.  Your 
insurance may be provided only under the terms of this 
certificate, not including this benefit, unless and until you 
no longer meet the eligibility requirements of this 
certificate and again return to portability status as provided 
for herein.  An insured cannot be covered under this 
certificate with both portability status and non-portability 
status. 

What happens to insurance provided under this 
benefit when the group policy terminates? 

Notwithstanding anything in this certificate to the contrary, 
termination of the group policy will not terminate insurance 
then in force for any person with portability status.  The 
group policy will be deemed to remain in force solely for 
the purpose of continuing such insurance, but without 
further obligation of the policyholder. 

Any insurance continued under the terms of this benefit 
will remain in force until terminated by the provision 
entitled “When will insurance continued under this benefit 
terminate?” 

No individual may elect coverage under this benefit on or 
after the date of termination of the group policy. 

When will insurance continued under this benefit 
terminate? 

Insurance continued under this benefit will terminate on 
the earliest of the following: 

(1) the insured’s 99th birthday; or 
(2) the date you again meet the eligibility 

requirements of this certificate, not including the 
terms of this benefit; or 

(3) in the case of a dependent child or a 
spouse/domestic partner who is insured under 
your coverage, the date your coverage is no 
longer being continued under this benefit or the 
date your spouse/domestic partner or child 
ceases to be eligible as defined under the terms 
of this certificate; or 

(4) 31 days after the due date of any premium 
contribution which is not made.   

 

Waiver of Premium Benefit 

What is the waiver of premium benefit? 

If you become totally disabled as defined herein, your 
insurance will be continued in force without payment of 
premium during the uninterrupted continuance of the total 
disability.  Insurance continued under this benefit will 
include only insurance amounts and benefits which are in 
force on the date of the onset of the total disability. 



02-30429.46  Minnesota Life 9 

  EdF84235  Rev 2-2018 

No additional insurance or benefits may be added to your 
coverage while you are totally disabled.  However, if you 
have dependents who are insured under this certificate on 
the date of the onset of your total disability, additional 
dependents may become insured, provided additional 
premium would not otherwise be required. 

What is total disability? 

You are considered totally disabled if you are eligible for 
and receiving disability income benefits under the 
employer’s long term disability (LTD) plan.  The disability 
for which LTD benefits are ultimately payable must 
commence while your insurance is in force under the 
group policy. 

If you are not covered under the employer’s LTD 
insurance plan, total disability shall mean a disability 
which occurs while your insurance is in force and prior to 
your 60th birthday, which results from an accidental injury 
or an illness that continuously prevents you from engaging 
in any occupation for which you are reasonably suited by 
education, training or experience.  The disability must 
have existed continuously for at least six months.  You 
must be under the care of a licensed physician.  The 
licensed physician cannot be your or a member of your 
immediate family.  For purposes of this supplement, your 
immediate family consists of your spouse, children, 
parents, grandparents, grandchildren, brothers and sisters 
and their spouses. 

What proof of total disability do we require? 

We require proof satisfactory to us that your total 
disability: 

(1) meets the definition of total disability; and 
(2) commenced while your insurance was in force. 

 
We will, from time to time, also require additional proof 
satisfactory to us that you continue to be totally disabled.  
We may also require that you submit to one or more 
medical examinations at our expense. 

What are the exclusions under this benefit? 

Insurance will not be continued if your total disability 
results from or is caused directly or indirectly by any of the 
following: 

(1) intentionally self-inflicted injury; or  
(2) participation in or any attempt to commit an 

assault or a felony; or  
(3) war or any act of war, whether declared or 

undeclared. 
 
When must we be notified of your total disability? 

We must receive written notice at our home office of your 
total disability within one year of the date of onset of the 
total disability.  However, failure to give notice within the 
time provided will not invalidate the claim if it is shown that 
notice was given as soon as reasonably possible. 

What is the amount of insurance to be continued 
under this benefit? 

The amount of insurance continued under this benefit 
without payment of premium is the amount of insurance 
for which you were insured on the date of the onset of 
total disability.  If this certificate provides for reductions in 
your amount of insurance based on age, such reductions 
will apply to your amount of insurance if you are then 
disabled.   

The amount of insurance continued under this benefit for 
any of your dependents insured under this certificate is the 
amount of insurance for which the dependent was insured 
on the date of the onset of your total disability.  If a 
dependent becomes insured on or after the date of the 
onset of your total disability, the amount of insurance for 
that dependent will be in accordance with the plan of 
dependents insurance in effect for you.  If this certificate 
provides for reductions in a dependent’s amount of 
insurance based on age, such reductions will apply to the 
amount of insurance on the dependent continued under 
this certificate. 

How long will insurance be continued without 
payment of premium? 

If you are totally disabled your insurance will be continued 
without payment of premium until the earliest of: 

(1) the date you recover so that you are no longer 
totally disabled; or 

(2) the date you are no longer receiving LTD 
benefit, or if you are not covered for LTD, your 
60th birthday; or 

(3) the date the employee retires if this certificate 
provides for termination of insurance at 
retirement. 

 
Insurance being continued without further payment of 
premium under the provisions of this benefit will not end 
due solely to the termination of this benefit or of the group 
policy. 

What happens to your insurance when the waiver of 
premium benefit ends? 

When the waiver of premium benefit ends according to the 
provision entitled “How long will insurance be continued 
without payment of premium?,” the following will apply: 

(1) If this certificate is in force and you meet the 
eligibility requirements of this certificate, your 
insurance can be continued.  Premium will no 
longer be waived and premium payment must 
be resumed; or 

(2) If this certificate is not in force or you do not 
meet the eligibility requirements of this 
certificate, insurance shall terminate. 
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When must we be notified of your accidental death or 
dismemberment? 

We must receive written notice at our home office within 
one year of your accidental death or dismemberment that 
you died or suffered a dismemberment during a period of 
continuance provided by this benefit.  Proof must be 
furnished that you continued to be totally disabled during 
the entire period of continuance until accidental death or 
dismemberment occurred.  If such notice and proof are 
not provided within the required time frame there will be 
no liability for any payment under this benefit unless it is 
shown that notice was given as soon as reasonably 
possible. 

What if you are totally disabled and you die as a result 
of a covered accident before a waiver claim is 
submitted and approved? 

If you die as a result of a covered accident within one year 
of the date of onset of your total disability, the beneficiary 
may claim benefits even if your insurance terminated and 
you had not submitted due proof satisfactory to us of your 
total disability or was continuously disabled for less than 
six months.  The beneficiary must submit proof 
satisfactory to us that your total disability, which began 
while your insurance was in force and before your 60th 
birthday, continued without interruption until your death. 

What if you are totally disabled and you suffer a 
covered dismemberment before a waiver claim is 
submitted and approved? 

If you are totally disabled and you suffer a covered 
dismemberment as the result of a covered accident within 
one year of the date of onset of your disability, you may 
claim benefits even if premium payments were 
discontinued and you had not submitted due proof 
satisfactory to us of your total disability or were 
continuously disabled for less than six months. You must 
submit proof satisfactory to us that your total disability, 
which began while your insurance was in force and before 
your 60th birthday, continued without interruption until 
your covered dismemberment. 

Termination 

When does your insurance end? 

Your insurance ends on the earliest of the following: 

(1) the date the group policy ends; or 
(2) the date you no longer meet the eligibility 

requirements, unless the insurance can be 
continued under the portability provisions; or 

(3) the date the group policy is amended so you are 
no longer eligible, unless the insurance can be 
continued under the portability provisions; or 

(4) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any unpaid premium if the premium remains 
unpaid at that time; or 

(5) the last day for which premium contributions 
have been paid following your written request to 
cease participation under this certificate. 

 
If your insurance under this certificate terminates due to 
non-payment of premiums, your coverage may be 
reinstated if all premiums due are paid and received by us 
within 31 days of the date of termination and during your 
lifetime. 

Can your coverage be reinstated after termination? 

Yes.  When your coverage terminates because you are no 
longer eligible, and you subsequently become eligible 
again, the employer may reinstate such coverage under 
this certificate, according to its own rules and time frames, 
without the need to satisfy any waiting period.   

When does the group policy terminate? 

The policyholder may terminate the group policy by giving 
us 31 days prior written notice.  We reserve the right to 
terminate the group policy on the earliest of the following 
to occur: 

(1) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any premiums which are not paid; or 

(2) on any subsequent policy anniversary after the 
date the number of employees insured is less 
than any minimum established by us or as 
required by applicable state law; or 

(3) 31 days after we provide the policyholder with 
notice of our intent to terminate the group policy. 

 

Family Coverage 

If you have dependents, you may elect AD&D coverage 
for your eligible dependents as described below.  All 
provisions of the certificate applicable to an “insured”, 
including but not limited to references in the Exclusions 
and Additional Benefits 

What members of your family are eligible for this 
benefit? 

The following members of your family are eligible for 
insurance under this certificate: 

(1) your lawful spouse who is not legally separated 
from you who is not eligible for insurance as an 
employee under the certificate; and   

(2) Applicable to Classes 1, 3, 4, 6 and 7:  
 the insured’s employee’s Washington state-

registered domestic partner who is not eligible for 
insurance as an employee under the policy to 
which this rider is attached.  

 Applicable to Classes 2* and 5:  
 the insured’s employee’s non-registered or 

Washington state-registered domestic partner 
who is not eligible for insurance as an employee 
under the policy to which this rider is attached. In 
order to be eligible as a non-registered domestic 
partner, an employee and his or her domestic 
partner must sign a declaration of domestic 
partnership or submit a copy of their marriage 
certificate; and  
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(3) your and your domestic partner’s biological 
children, stepchildren, legally adopted children 
including children legally placed with you for 
adoption, foster children, children placed with 
you as a legal guardian and children named in a 
Qualified Medical Child Support Order 
(QMCSO).  Children are eligible from live birth 
(stillborn or unborn children are not eligible) to 
the attainment of age 26.  Children age 26 or 
older are also eligible if they are physically or 
mentally incapable of self-support, were 
incapable of self-support prior to age 26 and are 
financially dependent on the employee for more 
than one-half of their support and maintenance. 
 

*Class 2 members that are currently working in a position 
with access to another class will follow the domestic 
partner eligibility rules of the other class.  

If both parents of a child qualify as eligible employees 
under the group policy, the child shall be considered a 
dependent of only one parent for purposes of this benefit.  
If any child qualifies as an eligible employee under the 
group policy, he or she is not eligible to be insured as a 
dependent child. 

When does insurance on a dependent become 
effective? 

Insurance on a dependent becomes effective on the date 
when all of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) the dependent meets all eligibility requirements; 
and 

(2) if required, you apply for dependents coverage 
on forms which are approved by us; and 

(3) we receive the required premium. 
 
Any dependent who, subsequent to the effective date of 
your dependents accidental death and dismemberment 
insurance, meets the requirements of this provision will 
become insured on the date he or she so qualifies unless 
additional premium is required.  If additional premium is 
required, the insurance of such later-acquired dependent 
shall be effective under the same conditions which apply if 
you were then first becoming eligible for dependents 
insurance under this certificate. 

If a dependent is hospitalized or confined because of 
illness or disease on the date his or her insurance would 
otherwise become effective, his or her effective date shall 
be delayed until he or she is released from such 
hospitalization or confinement.  This does not apply to a 
newborn child.  However, in no event will insurance on a 
dependent be effective before your insurance under this 
certificate is effective. 

What is the amount of the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefit for each insured dependent? 

The amount of insurance for a dependent is shown on the 
specifications page.  The Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment section found earlier in this certificate 

describes the amount of benefits, which are based on the 
insured’s amount of insurance.     

When will the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit be payable? 

We will pay the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit upon receipt at our home office of written proof 
satisfactory to us that an insured dependent died or 
suffered dismemberment as a result of an accidental 
injury.  All payments by us are payable from our home 
office. 

The benefit will be paid in a single sum.  We will pay 
interest on the benefit from the date of the insured 
dependent’s death or dismemberment until the date of 
payment.  Interest will be at an annual rate determined by 
us, but never less than 0.1% per year or the minimum 
required by state law, whichever is greater. 

To whom will we pay a dependents accidental death 
or dismemberment benefit? 

A dependents accidental death or dismemberment benefit 
will be paid to you, if living, otherwise to your estate. 

Family Coverage Additional Benefits 

The following benefits apply to those insureds who are 
insured for dependents insurance. Unless stated 
otherwise, additional benefits are payable to the same 
person or persons who receive the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefits.  Additional benefits are paid in 
addition to any accidental death and dismemberment 
benefits described in the Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment section, unless otherwise stated.  All 
provisions of this certificate, including but not limited to the 
Exclusions section, shall apply to these additional 
benefits. 

Child Care Benefit 

What is the child care benefit? 

If you die as a result of a covered accident and you are 
survived by your dependent spouse/domestic partner and 
one or more dependent children, we will pay additional 
benefits to reimburse the surviving spouse for child care 
expenses for your dependent children. 

The benefit for each child per year will be the lesser of: 

(1) 5% of your amount of insurance; or  
(2) $5,000; or 
(3) incurred child care expenses. 

 
Child care expenses are those expenses which are for a 
service or supply furnished by a licensed child care 
provider or facility for a dependent child’s care.  No 
payment will be made for expenses incurred more than 
four years after the date of your death.  Proof of incurred 
child care expenses shall be required before any benefit 
payment is made.  The child care benefit will be paid to 
the surviving parent.   
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Child Dismemberment Double Benefit 

What is the child dismemberment double benefit? 

If a dependent child suffers a covered loss, other than loss 
of life, the amount payable shall be twice the amount listed 
in the table found in the “What is the amount of the 
accidental death and dismemberment benefit?” section of 
this certificate, subject to a maximum amount of $50,000. 

Dependent Child Education Benefit 

What is the dependent child education benefit? 

We will pay an education benefit on behalf of the insured’s 
dependent children if you die as a result of a covered 
accident and are survived by one or more insured 
dependent children, provided that: 

(1) at the time of your death, the dependent child is 
enrolled as a full-time student at an accredited 
post-secondary educational institution (however, 
no benefit will be payable for the current school 
year); or 

(2) the dependent child enrolls on a full-time basis in 
an accredited post-secondary educational 
institution within one year of your death.   

 
The benefit payable will be the lesser of: 

(1) the actual tuition charged, exclusive of room and 
board; or 

(2) 5% of your amount of insurance; or 
(3) $5,000. 
 

The benefit will be payable at the beginning of each 
school year for a maximum of four consecutive years, 
but not beyond the date the child attains age 26.  The 
benefit will be paid to the insured dependent child if he 
or she is of legal age.  If the insured dependent child is 
not of legal age the benefit will be paid to the person 
who provides proof they have paid or will pay the tuition 
bill for that school year.  Proof of enrollment and tuition 
costs are required for each school year. 

Dependents Benefit Termination 

When does an insured dependent’s coverage 
terminate? 

An insured dependent’s coverage terminates on the 
earliest of the following: 

(1) the date the dependent no longer meets the 
eligibility requirements; or 

(2) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any unpaid premium if the premium remains 
unpaid at that time; or 

(3) the last day for which premium contributions 
have been made following an insured 
employee’s written request that insurance on his 
or her dependents be terminated; or 

 

(4) the date you are no longer covered under the 
group policy; or 

(5) the date a dependent spouse/domestic partner 
attains age 80.   
 

You must notify us or the employer when you no longer 
have a dependent eligible for coverage under this benefit 
so that premiums may be discontinued.  All premiums paid 
for dependents coverage under this benefit will be 
refunded without any payment of claim. 

Additional Information 

Do we have the right to obtain independent medical 
verification? 

Yes.  We retain the right to have an insured medically 
examined at our expense whenever a claim is pending 
and, where not forbidden by law, we reserve the right to 
have an autopsy performed in the case of death. 

What if an insured’s age has been misstated? 

If an insured’s age has been misstated, the accidental 
death or dismemberment benefit payable will be that 
amount to which the insured is entitled based on his or her 
correct age. 

A premium adjustment will be made to the premium you 
pay for the insured's noncontributory insurance and to the 
premium an insured pays for contributory insurance, if 
any, so that the actual premium required at the insured's 
correct age is paid. 

When does an insured's insurance become 
incontestable? 

Except for fraud or the non-payment of premiums, after 
the insured's insurance has been in force during his or her 
lifetime for two years from the effective date of his or her 
coverage, we cannot contest the insured's coverage.  
However, if there has been an increase in the amount of 
insurance for which the insured was required to apply, 
then, to the extent of the increase, any loss which occurs 
within two years of the effective date of the increase will 
be contestable. 

Any statements the insured makes in his or her application 
will, in the absence of fraud, be considered 
representations and not warranties.  Also, any statement 
an insured makes will not be used to void his or her 
insurance, or defend against a claim, unless the statement 
is contained in the application attached to the insured’s 
certificate. 

Can your insurance be assigned? 

Yes.  However, we will not be bound by an assignment of 
the certificate or of any interest in it unless it is made as a 
written instrument, you file the original instrument or a 
certified copy with us at our home office, and we send you 
an acknowledged copy. 
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We are not responsible for the validity of any assignment.  
You are responsible for ensuring that the assignment is 
legal in your state and that it accomplishes your intended 
goals.  If a claim is based on an assignment, we may 
require proof of interest of the claimant.  A valid 
assignment will take precedence over any claim of a 
beneficiary. 

Will the provisions of this certificate conform with 
state law? 

Yes.  If any provision in this certificate or in the group 
policy is in conflict with the laws of the state governing the 
group policy or the certificates, the provision will be 
deemed to be amended to conform to such laws. 
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