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Continuing Your County Benefits 
During a Leave of Absence 
              

During a leave of absence, there are a number of benefits available to you and your eligible family members. To 
access these benefits, you are required to submit applications and other necessary paperwork. This guide is a 
summary of your options and what you need to do if you would like to access these benefits. For a complete 
summary of benefits, please visit kingcounty.gov/benefits. 

Information and Deadlines 

Health benefits: 

 COBRA packet: Due 60 days after end of county coverage/date of COBRA notification 
 Navia Benefit Solutions 800-669-3539 

 Unpaid leaves of absence: Employee responsible to self-pay for coverage 
 King County Benefits, Payroll and Retirement Operations 206-684-1556 
 

Life insurance: 

 Disability premium waiver: Due 9-12 months from last day worked  

 Accelerated death benefit: Contact Minnesota Life to begin claim process 
 Securian/Minnesota Life 866-365-2374 
 

Accidental death and dismemberment insurance (AD&D):  

 Filing a claim: Contact Minnesota Life to begin claim process 
 Securian/Minnesota Life 866-365-2374 
 

Long-term disability insurance (LTD): The Standard 

 Filing a claim: Contact The Standard to begin claim process 
 The Standard 844-239-3567 

 

Health and non-health benefits 

Unpaid Leaves of Absence 
If you enter an unpaid leave of absence (not using paid accruals or donated leave), you become responsible to 
self-pay for all non-health coverage. Non-health coverage includes basic and supplemental life, accidental death 
and dismemberment, and long-term disability insurance. Once the benefits office receives the information from 
your department, a self-pay letter is sent to your home to allow you the choice of self-paying for these benefits. 
If you do not self-pay for these benefits, they will lapse until you actively return to work in a benefits-eligible 
position or convert the coverage to an individual plan upon separation of employment. Failure to self-pay would 
mean that coverage, such as life insurance, would not be available if the covered member passed away. 
 

COBRA 
If you lose access to King County health coverage, you can self-pay to continue coverage under COBRA 
(Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act). Navia Benefit Solutions, the county’s third party 
administrator, will notify you of your enrollment options. You have 60 days after your county coverage ends or 
60 days from the date of Navia’s letter notifying you of your options, whichever is later, to make an election. If 
you elect COBRA continuation coverage, you must make the initial payment by the 45th day after electing it. 
(Note: To expedite your enrollment, you can make your first premium payment at the same time you enroll.) 
 

There is no lapse in coverage—self-paid health benefits begin when county-paid benefits end, even if retroactive 
processing and payments are required. 

http://www.kingcounty.gov/audience/employees/benefits.aspx
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Life insurance 

Disability premium waiver 
If you become disabled before age 60, you may submit a disability premium waiver application to Minnesota 
Life. If the premium waiver is approved, basic or supplemental life insurance premiums are waived by Minnesota 
Life and there is no cost to you or King County until age 65. An application to Minnesota Life must be submitted 
between 9 and 12 uninterrupted months after the last day you worked, but no later than 12 months. 
 
During the 9-12 month waiting period, employees are encouraged to self-pay for their life insurance. If you don’t 
pay premiums during the waiting period, you will be unable to convert coverage if Minnesota Life does not 
approve the premium waiver. In other words, life insurance is not available.  
 

Accelerated death benefit (ADB) 
If you or your spouse/domestic partner are covered under the county’s life insurance plan and have a terminal 
illness, some benefits may be paid before death. This is called the “accelerated benefit option.” If certain 
requirements are met, you may elect to receive up to 100% of the life insurance benefit while you or your 
covered spouse/domestic partner is living. To apply for this benefit, contact Minnesota Life and request an 
accelerated death benefit application. 
 

Accidental death and dismemberment insurance (AD&D) 
The AD&D insurance plan pays benefits if you or a covered family member dies or suffers a specified 
dismemberment, paralysis, or other loss, within 365 days of a covered accident. File a claim within 90 days of 
the loss or death. Contact the King County benefits office for assistance with the AD&D application process. 

Long-term disability (LTD) 
If you become disabled on or off the job and meet the definition of “disabled,” LTD benefits may become 
available after the benefit waiting period. Contact The Standard to file a claim. Once approved, the plan pays 
monthly benefits to you until age 65, as long as you continue to meet the definition of “disabled.”  

Continued coverage when your spouse or domestic partner is also a county employee 
If you lose access to county health coverage and your spouse or eligible domestic partner is a county employee, 
your spouse or domestic partner may add you to his or her benefits within 30 days of the date you lost 
coverage. Your spouse or eligible domestic partner must complete the Dependent Enrollment form, available at 
kingcounty.gov/audience/employees/benefits/enrollment-changes. 

Other benefits to consider 
 Employee Assistance Program and Making Life Easier kingcounty.gov/audience/employees/safety-

claims/MLE-EAP.aspx 

 Employee Assistance Program (EAP): Heather Steffensen 206-477-0631 or Tony Hansen 206-477-0632 

 Making Life Easier (MLE): 888-874-7290 

http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/employees/benefits/documents/forms/add-dependent.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/audience/employees/safety-claims/MLE-EAP.aspx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/audience/employees/safety-claims/MLE-EAP.aspx

