Skip to main content
King County logo

Office of Equity and Social Justice

The Office of Equity and Social Justice supports and works with King County leadership, employees and local and national partners to advance practices, strategies and policies that promote fairness, justice and opportunity for all. 


Matias Valenzuela
Director
(206)263-8697
matias.valenzuela@kingcounty.gov


Contact Matias for information on:
- Strategic direction and history of Equity and Social Justice
- Major King County policies and initiatives
- Regional and national equity partnerships
- Speaking and presentation requests 


Arun Sambataro


Equity Strategies Manager

(206) 263-1104

arun.sambataro@kingcounty.gov

Contact Arun for information on:
- ESJ Strategic Plan and Implementation
- Department/Agency ESJ Work Plans and use of the Cascade tool
- Investing in You enterprise-level work, and spcifically for Workplace 
Culture related efforts (Employee Engagement, Conflict 
Resolution, Accountability, etc.)
- Equity Impact Review
- Lift Every Youth 



Ericka Cox 

Inclusion Manager
(206) 477-2170
ericka.cox@kingcounty.gov

Contact Ericka for information on:
- Community partnerships
- Pro-equity contacting opportunities
- Speaking and collaboration requests


Bookda Gheisar
Immigrant and Refugee Policy & Strategy Analyst
(206) 263-5736
bgheisar@kingcounty.gov


Contact Bookda for information on:
- Immigrant and Refugee community organizations collaboration with King County
- King County strategy and support of immigration issues
- King County Immigrant and refugee Commission


Tynishia Walker
Program Manager
(206) 263-0534
twalker@kingcounty.gov


Contact Tynishia for information on:
- General Office and Social Justice Inquiries
- ESJ Training 
- Programming and Events
- ESJ Support, Technical Assistance and Resource Connection


Janine Anzalota
Civil Rights Manager 
(206) 263- 6980
janzalota@kingcounty.gov




Matthew Butler
Civil Rights Program Manager
(206) 263-2451
matthew.butler@kingcounty.gov


Contact Matthew for information on:
- Civil rights Employment issues and questions
- Civil Rights Public Accommodations issues and questions
- General employment and civil rights questions or concerns, particularly
King County employees
 


The Inter Branch Team (IBT) 

 

The Inter Branch Team (IBT) helps facilitate accountability of and coordination by all branches of county government regarding implementation of the "fair and just" principle of the countywide strategic plan. This work includes tool development, public and community engagement, training and work plan creation.

The Inter Branch Team (click image to enlarge)
The Inter Branch Team (click image to enlarge)


Vision:

A learning team from all agencies in King County government that passionately engages employees and community residents and leverages activities that create equitable opportunities for all.

Mission:

The ESJ Inter-Branch team is a catalyst for change in county government and the community by increasing focus on the determinants of equity and intentionally embedding an equity lens in the county's policies and decision-making, organizational practices, and community engagement and communications.

Purpose:

  • Accountability and coordination:
    Facilitate accountability of and coordination by all branches of county government regarding implementation of the fair and just principle of the countywide strategic plan.
  • Analytical tools:
    Develop and support use of analytical tools to identify and review equity impacts of programs, policies and decisions at all levels of government, in ways to amplify positive impacts and mitigate negative impacts.
  • Public/community engagement:
    Develop and support use of guidelines to be implemented across all branches of government for outreach, communication and community engagement to increase community access to information and opportunities to inform and shape county policies and services.
  • Organizational practices:
    Identify and support mechanisms to improve fairness and increase opportunities in government organizational practices in the areas of employment, contracting and procurement.
  • Support Equity and Social Justice awareness and training:
    Focus on increasing awareness among all employees, encouraging employee-generated ideas and solutions, and providing training support within King County agencies.
  • Forum for ideas:
    Provide a forum for the exchange of ideas, information, and collaborative efforts between all branches of government to embrace equity and social justice policies and practices.
  • Annual work plans:
    Support and identify annual work plans by departments and agencies to apply and incorporate equity and social justice practices into their core lines of business.
  • Annual reports:
    Develop, design and publish an annual report on the status and trends in equity in the county and measures of accountability for work plans and results related to implementation of this ordinance for King County elected leadership, employees and the public.

Competencies for members:

  • Knowledge and commitment to ESJ:
    Possesses an understanding of equity, determinants of equity, as well as race and social justice issues.
  • Initiative and creativity:
    Develops novel solutions to problems, both within and across agency and department.
  • Systemic and holistic approach:
    Applies thinking and problem solving that are comprehensive and address the root problems
  • Teamwork:
    Works to build a sense of empowerment and shared responsibility for advancing the County's work on ESJ. Understands what impedes change and improvements, and works collectively to address those barriers.
  • Training:
    Takes responsibility for continued personal learning and agency/department learning around issues of equity, race and social justice.
  • Leadership:
    Is a persistent and vocal champion and advocate of Equity and Social Justice at all levels of the organization and in the community.

Structure:

  • Role:
    From its leadership position, the Inter-Branch Team will champion Equity and Social Justice within county government and in the community.
  • Membership:
    The Inter-Branch Team shall be composed of the directors or their designees of all branches, departments, agencies and offices of county government.
  • Representatives and alternates:
    Designees shall be at a level with access to senior leadership and able to create focus and sustained attention on equity and social justice issues. In addition, an alternate representative will be selected to assure representation at Inter-Branch Team meetings.
  • Time commitment:
    The Equity and Social Justice Inter-Branch Team will meet on the third Wednesday of each month from 1:00 – 2:30 p.m. with additional time scheduled as needed for planning, training and workgroups.

Equity and Social Justice Inter–Branch Team Roster

Revised August 2018 

Department/ Representing Body

Delegate/Alternate

Email

Telephone

Adult & Juvenile Detention

Runette Mitchell

Runette.Mitchell@kingcounty.gov

477-2320

Assessor

Rose Dotson

Rose.Dotson@kingcounty.gov

263-2301

Community & Human Services

Denise Rothleutner

Denise.Rothleutner@kingcounty.gov

263-8988

 

Pervis Willis

Pervis.Willis@kingcounty.gov

477-7050

Council

Larry Evans

Larry.Evans@kingcounty.gov

477-0923

 

Mike Reed

Mike.Reed@kingcounty.gov

477-0888

 

Carmela Ennis

Carmela.Ennis@kingcounty.gov

477-1017

District Court

Patrick Wells

Patrick.Wells@kingcounty.gov

477-1767

 

Lillian Hawkins

Lillian.Hawkins@kingcounty.gov

477-1716

Elections

Richard Moore

Richard.Moore@kingcounty.gov

477-4118

Equity & Social Justice

Matias Valenzuela

Matias.Valenzuela@kingcounty.gov

263-8697

 

Arun Sambataro

arun.sambataro@kingcounty.gov

263-1104

 

Tynishia Walker

twalker@kingcounty.gov

263-0534

Exec Office

Carrie Cihak

Carrie.Cihak@kingcounty.gov

263-9634

 

Natasha Jones

Natasha.Jones@kingcounty.gov

263-9623

Executive Services

Cecelia Hayes

Cecelia.Hayes@kingcounty.gov

477-3130

Human Resources

Brooke Bascom

brooke.bascom@kingcounty.gov

263-2440

 

Sandra Newton-Hinton

sandra.newton-hinton@kingcounty.gov

477-3231

Information Technology

Darryl Hunt

Darryl.Hunt@kingcounty.gov

263-7890

 

Nicole Franklin

Nicole.Franklin@kingcounty.gov

263-1347

 

John Klein

John.Klein@kingcounty.gov

263-7903

Judicial Administration

Beth Taylor

Beth.Taylor@kingcounty.gov

477-0783

 

Danielle Anderson

danielle.anderson@kingcounty.gov

477-0805

Natural Resources & Parks

Richard Gelb

Richard.Gelb@kingcounty.gov

477-4536

Native American Leadership Council

Pamela Stearns

Pamela.Stearns@kingcounty.gov

263-8068

 

Tino Salud

Tino.Salud@kingcounty.gov

263-8920

 

Katherine Festa

Katherine.festa@kingcounty.gov

263-9053

Performance, Strategy & Budget

Michael Jacobson

Michael.Jacobson@kingcounty.gov

263-9622

 

Anna Markee

anna.markee@kingcounty.gov

263-4176

Permitting & Environmental Review

Don Moritz

Don.Moritz@kingcounty.gov

263-8286

 

Mary Louis

Mary.louis@kingcounty.gov

263-9008

Prosecuting Attorney

Jo Anne Fox

Joanne.Fox@kingcounty.gov

263-9696

 

Jina Kim

Jina.Kim@kingcounty.gov

477-1086

Carla Lee

Carla.Lee@kingcounty.gov

263-1409

Public Defense

Adrien Leavitt

Adrien.Leavitt@kingcounty.gov

477-9142

Laura Federighi

Laura.Federighi@kingcounty.gov

477-3806

Public Health

Cyndi Schaeffer

Cyndi.Schaeffer@kingcounty.gov

477-3264

 

Jesse Chipps

Jesse.Chipps@kingcounty.gov

263-2028

Sheriff

Scott Somers

scott.somers@kingcounty.gov

477-6445

 

Liz Rocca

liz.rocca@kingcounty.gov

263-2559

Superior Court

Jason Clark

Jason.Clark@kingcounty.gov

477-1228

Transportation

Tricia Diamond

tdiamond@kingcounty.gov

477-9617

Metro Transit

Joy Bryngelson

Joy.Bryngelson@kingcounty.gov

477-8667

 

Cheryl Binetti

Cheryl.Binetti@kingcounty.go

477-3801

 

Lori Mimms

Lori.Mimms@kingcounty.gov

477-5864

Anita Whitfield

Anita.Whitfield@kingcounty.gov

477-2669