Skip to main content
King County logo

Due to the restrictions put in place by the King County Executive and Washington State Governor, limited services have been implemented.

Effective October 1, 2020 we will resume processing of NEW Concealed Pistol Licensesby appointment only at our downtown location.  A link for our new scheduling tool QLess is below. The QLess system will allow you to schedule your appointment online or using your smart phone. If you do not have online access please contact our office at 206-263-2626 to schedule your appointment.

Effective October 1, 2020  RENEWAL & REPLACEMENT Concealed Pistol Licenses applications will be processed by appointment only.  Please see instructions above for scheduling your appointment through QLess.  

Appointments for the downtown Seattle location ONLY can be requested on-line or by using your smart phone.

We are unable to provide general fingerprinting services at this time.  Please check back for updates for this service.

To all citizens interested in applying for a Concealed Pistol License:

There are multiple locations in our jurisdiction where you can apply for a Washington State Concealed Pistol License. We have been made aware that when online, citizens are seeing advertisements and websites inviting them to apply for licenses through third party, private companies.

However, to obtain a Washington State Concealed Pistol License, you must apply with the county sheriff in which you reside or the city police (if you reside within city limits).

Companies that offer multi-state licenses cannot issue a Washington Concealed Pistol License, specifically. However, they may be able to process applications and issue a license for states of which there is a Reciprocity for Concealed Carry Firearm Licenses.

Please contact your local law enforcement agency should you have any questions regarding this matter.

This page provides information about Concealed Pistol Licenses, with regards to:

  • Applying for an Original Concealed Pistol License
  • Concealed Pistol Licenses for Out-of-State residents
  • Renewing a Concealed Pistol License
  • Replacing a Concealed Pistol License

Download a Concealed Pistol License application, valid for applying, renewing and replacing Concealed Pistol Licenses.

The application process for an Original Concealed Pistol License typically takes about 30-60 minutes to complete, including fingerprinting. The process may take longer, so we appreciate your patience.

When you apply, the following are required:

  • You must be 21 years of age, or older.
  • You must be a citizen of the United States, or a permanent resident alien.
  • If you are a permanent resident, you must provide your original Immigration issued Permanent Resident Card at time of application
  • You must live in King County, or outside of WA state, in the case of non-resident applicants.
  • You must have a current Driver’s License or State ID issued by Washington State or any other state.  Passports or Military ID’s are not accepted in lieu of a state issued ID.
  • If you have a Driver’s License or State ID issued by a state other than Washington, you may have a 60 day wait for an original application.
  • The fee for an original Concealed Pistol License as of January 1, 2019 is $49.25.
  • The waiting period to receive the Concealed Pistol License is 30 to 60 days, and will be mailed.

Click below for more CPL Information:

    If you reside anywhere within in King County, or are a resident of another state, your Concealed Pistol License may be renewed from 90 days prior to expiration date and up to 90 days after the expiration date. If you apply on or before the expiration date, the fee is $32 for a regular renewal; if you apply after the expiration date, the fee is $42 for a late renewal.  (Please note:  If license is expired beyond 90 days, your application will be processed as an Original Application.  Please refer to information regarding instructions to submit an Original Concealed Pistol License Application.)  You will need to complete a Concealed Pistol License application, marking “renewal of license” as the application type for regular renewals, or “late renewal of license” for late renewals. Your current Concealed Pistol License and picture ID are required; fingerprinting is not a part of the renewal process.

    When renewing or replacing any Concealed Pistol License, please allow at least 4 weeks for all mandated State and Federal background checks to be completed.  If you are eligible, the license will be mailed when all mandated checks have been completed.

    The Sheriff’s Office will replace a lost, stolen or destroyed Concealed Pistol License for Washington State license holders who currently reside anywhere in King County, regardless of where the license was originally issued.  To apply for the replacement license, you will need to bring your current state driver's license or ID and the $10 replacement fee.  Fingerprinting is not a part of the replacement process. 

    When renewing or replacing any Concealed Pistol License, please allow at least 4 weeks for all mandated State and Federal background checks to be completed.  If you are eligible, the license will be mailed when all mandated checks have been completed.

For any and all services provided by the Records Unit, it is recommended that you allow for at least a 2 hour timeframe at our downtown location to ensure adequate time to fulfill your requests to the best of our abilities. During holiday seasons or during major incidents beyond our control we will adjust as we can.

    Records Unit
    King County Courthouse
    516 Third Avenue - Room W-150
    Seattle, WA 98104
    Hours:  Will be listed on your QLess Notification
    Phone: (206) 263-2626
    Closed weekends & holidays        
    Concealed Pistol Licenses are processed by appointment ONLY at the local stations.  Please call the following precincts to inquire about the Concealed Pistol License services offered at the location (original, renewal, replacement), and to schedule appointments:
    • Burien – (206) 477-2200 – 14905 6th Ave SW, Burien WA 98166 (No new CPL applications at this time.)
    • Maple Valley – (206) 477-6446 – 22300 SE 231st St, Maple Valley WA 98038  (Call for appointment)
    • Sammamish – (206) 263-9133 – 801 228th Ave SE, Suite #202, Sammamish WA 98075  (No new CPL applications at this time.)
    • SeaTac – (206) 973-4900 – 4800 S 188th St, SeaTac WA 98188  (No new CPL applications at this time.)
    • Shoreline (Shoreline & Kenmore residents only)– (206) 801-2710 – 17500 Midvale Ave North, Shoreline WA 98133  (No new CPL applications at this time.)
    • Woodinville (Woodinville residents only) – (425) 877-2279 – 17301 133rd Ave NE, Woodinville WA 98072  (No new CPL applications at this time.)

    ** License applications that are processed at these locations are not issued at the time of application.  When renewing or replacing any Concealed Pistol License, please allow at least 4 weeks for the  issuance of the license.  If you are eligible, your license will be mailed when all required state and federal background checks have been completed.

    ** Please note:  Cash is NOT accepted at any of these local stations.  All checks and money orders must be made payable to King County Sheriff’s Office  or K.C.S.O.

     

Fees may be paid by personal check or money order at all locations; cash is accepted at the Courthouse location ONLY. Please note that we do not accept third party checks, and are unable to process payment by debit or cards (Visa, Mastercard, etc).

Personal check/money order requirements:

  • Any check or money order will need to be made payable to King County Sheriff’s Office or K.C.S.O.
  • Checks must be preprinted and match the name on the license.  If payment is to be applied to more than one license, BOTH/ALL names must be preprinted on the check.
  • King County Sheriff’s Office will not accept 3rd party checks.

 

The Sheriff’s Office is able to process Concealed Pistol License applications for anyone who resides outside the state of Washington.  Applicants must appear in person during business hours at the King County Courthouse in downtown Seattle or any of our local locations (by appointment only).  The requirements are the same as with Original Concealed Pistol Licenses, and the fee is also $49.25. The waiting period to receive the Concealed Pistol License for non-residents is 60 days, and will be mailed.

Washington has reciprocity for Concealed Pistol Licenses issued by several other states, so long as the handgun is carried in accordance with WA state law. The Washington State Attorney General's web site provides a list of those states that have reciprocity with WA for Concealed Pistol Licenses.

 

Further information regarding concealed pistol licenses may be obtained at www.dol.wa.gov/business/firearms

Home

Privacy

Accessibility

Terms of use

Links to external sites do not constitute endorsements by King County. By visiting this and other
King County web pages, you expressly agree to be bound by terms and conditions of the site

© 2017 King County

Locations and Times

Records Unit
King County Courthouse
516 Third Ave, Rm W-150
Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: (206) 263-2626
Appointments can be scheduled weekdays during the hours of 09:00 – 15:00.  See QLess information at the top of this page