Skip to main content
King County logo

通往埃利奥特湾的杜瓦米什河的最后五英里是美国污染最严重的河流之一! 2001年,美国环境保护局(EPA)宣布杜瓦米什河下游河道为超级基金所在地。超级基金是联邦法律的名称,该法律要求对美国毒性最严重的场所予以确定并清理。

EPA和华盛顿州生态部(Ecology)正在监督该地点的清理工作。将有数十个潜在责任方(PRPs)为清理买单。

涉及保护公众健康和清理该地点的主要机构是:

  • EPA 领导现场清理河底受污染的污泥。

  • Ecology 领导控制从周围地区进入杜瓦米什河的化学污染。

  • 西雅图市和金县公共卫生部 西雅图市和金县公共卫生部领导EPA的"Fun to Catch, Toxic to Eat"计划,以促进安全食用杜瓦米什河超级基金地点的海鲜。

杜瓦米什河(Duwamish River)与图克维拉(Tukwila)的绿河(Green River)连接。杜瓦米什河经过西西雅图(West Seattle)桥下的西雅图工业中心,流经乔治敦(Georgetown)和南公园(South Park)的南西雅图(South Seattle)社区,然后流入埃利奥特湾 (Elliott Bay)。

杜瓦米什河是一个可以捕捞淡水鱼和海鱼的地方。斯波坎街桥(Spokane Street Bridge)位于杜瓦米什河口,是沿河最受欢迎的垂钓场所之一。

杜瓦米什河是西雅图唯一的河流,并可能有其他名字来称呼,例如"斯波坎街桥钓鱼场","西南桥钓鱼场","南方公园附近的河"或"西西雅图桥附近或下面的河"。

化学污染有多种来源进入我们的环境。大部分进入了水,泥和鱼的化学污染,您看不到,闻不到也尝不到。一个多世纪以来,杜瓦米什河被许多有毒化学物质污染源污染,包括雨水径流,废水和工业活动。

杜瓦米什河中危害人类健康的最有毒化学品是多氯联苯(PCBs),砷,致癌性多环芳烃(cPAHs),二恶英和呋喃。 这些有毒的化学物质在河里的泥土中积聚,并进入在河中度过一生的比目鱼(鲈鱼,龙利鱼,比目鱼),螃蟹,贻贝和蛤的身体中。它们被称为"常驻海鲜"。定期食用河里常驻海鲜可能会增加以后出现健康问题的风险。接触受到污染的污泥也构成健康风险。

鲑鱼是杜瓦米什河唯一可以安全食用的海鲜。他们在河里生活的时间很短。

杜瓦米什河下游的污染物(如PCBs)如何在人体中堆积

  1. 污染物(如PCBs)进入水中并流入杜瓦米什河。一些污染物粘在沉积物(污泥)上,最终留在河底。

  2. 微生物(浮游动物),蠕虫和贻贝生活在沉积物中,污染物进入其体内。

  3. 较大的生物体,例如,食鲈,英国龙利鱼和螃蟹,会吞噬底层生物,并在其体内储存更多的污染物。

  4. 人类可能会捕获和食用受污染的鱼和蟹。一个人食用的海鲜越多,体内可能存储的污染物就越多,这可能影响到他/她的健康。

Illustration of how contaminants get in fish in the Lower Duwamish River.

EPA负责清理杜瓦米什河下游水道超级基金站点的河底污染淤泥。像其他复杂的超级基金站点一样,清理杜瓦米什河超级基金点有多个阶段。

  • 在过去的几年中,西雅图市,金县,西雅图港和波音公司共同组成了杜瓦米什河下游水道集团(LDWG),以清理沿河污染最严重的地区。 EPA和Ecology监督了他们的早期清理工作,发现这种早期清理将河流底部的PCBs污染减少了大约一半。

  • 2014年,EPA颁布了最终清理计划,也称为"决策记录(ROD)",用于清理河底残留的污染淤泥。这将进一步减少河流中的有毒化学物质对人们健康和环境的风险。

    该计划需要积极的清理措施,例如:
    • 疏通(去除有毒泥浆)
    • 封盖(用厚厚的干净淤泥覆盖河底),以及
    • 追加的自然恢复能力(用较薄的干净泥土覆盖河底)。

  • 该计划还要求在某些地区进行自然恢复监测(自然沉降)。

Dredging

Capping

Enhanced natural recovery
Monitored natural recovery

Public Health's community-based health outreach program is part of the EPA's Final Cleanup Plan to protect people who fish and eat the resident seafood.

公共卫生部门的基于社区的健康扩展计划是EPA最终清理计划的一部分,该计划旨在保护捕捉和食用常驻海鲜的人群。

在未来几年中,EPA将监督对剩余污染淤泥的设计和清理。 EPA将随着时间的推移对站点进行监视和维护。随着清理和对源头控制的继续,将重复测试以评估实现长期清理目标的进度。

EPA Duwamish River cleanup timeline

Timeline acronyms
AOC Administrative Order on Consent  
MTCA Model Toxics Control Act  
RA Remedial Action  
RD Remedial Design  

获知更多信息:EPA的杜瓦米什河下游航道超级基金网站

EPA为社区提供了各种机会为清理工作提供进言机会。 EPA考虑到环境正义(EJ),这意味着它将致力于确保所有人的公平待遇和有意义的参与,无论其种族,肤色,国籍或收入。

EPA的社区参与计划概述了EPA在整个LDW超级基金站点的清理过程中将使用的工具和技术。

杜瓦米什圆桌会议是社区参与其中的机会之一。该小组由感兴趣的团体组成,他们将向EPA提供有关清洁设计和实施的建议。

如果您想成为圆桌会议的成员或有兴趣参加其中一次圆桌会议,请致电206-553-2752或电邮congdon.julie@epa.gov与Julie Congdon联系。

有关如何了解最新状态并参与超级基金站点清理的更多信息,请访问EPA的杜瓦米什社区参与网站 或EPA的杜瓦米什清理Facebook页面。

Ecology正在引导人们努力控制化学污染源,防止其从周围地区进入杜瓦米什河。有20,000英亩的土地的地下水排入河中。来自周围地区的土壤和地下水中的有毒化学物质,可以通过暴雨径流和其他途径进入河中。

Contaminant sources

源头控制意味着找到化学污染的来源和程度,然后采取措施在它们到达河流之前停止或减少它们。源头控制措施包括:

  • 调查和清理受污染的场地,
  • 商业检查
  • 控制雨水径流和下水道的综合溢流,
  • 机构之间的协调,以及
  • 教育。

由于源头控制,早期清理行动和自然沉淀,杜瓦米什河的污染程度比以往降低。随着Ecology进一步控制河流的污染源,沉积物再次受到污染(再污染)的风险将非常低。 EPA将逐步清理河底剩余污泥区域。从长远来看,EPA将监测河流的自然恢复,而Ecology将继续减少污染源。这些措施将帮助河水变得尽可能的干净,并使海鲜可以更安全食用。

了解更多信息:Ecology's Lower Duwamish Waterway Source Control Program website.

Skip to main content
Many King County facilities are closed to the public. Learn how to access services remotely or while following social distancing guidelines.  
King County logo

The last five miles of the Duwamish River towards Elliott Bay is one of the most polluted rivers in the country! In 2001, the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) declared it the Lower Duwamish Waterway Superfund Site. Superfund is the name of a federal law that requires the nation’s most toxic sites to be identified and cleaned up.

The EPA and Washington Department of Ecology (Ecology) are overseeing the cleanup of this site. Dozens of Potentially Responsible Parties (PRPs) will be required to pay for the cleanup.

The main agencies involved in protecting public health and cleaning up the site are:

  • EPA leads the cleanup of the contaminated mud of the river bottom at the site.

  • Ecology leads efforts to control chemical pollution from getting into the Duwamish River from the surrounding area.

  • Public Health — Seattle & King County leads the Fun to Catch, Toxic to Eat program for EPA to promote safe seafood consumption for the Duwamish River Superfund Site.

The Duwamish River connects from the Green River in Tukwila. The Duwamish River flows past the South Seattle neighborhoods of Georgetown and South Park, through Seattle’s industrial core, under the West Seattle Bridge and then empties into Elliott Bay.

The Duwamish River is a place you can catch freshwater fish and saltwater fish. The Spokane Street Bridge is at the mouth of the Duwamish River and is one of the most popular fishing sites along the river.

The Duwamish River is Seattle's only river and may be called by other names, such as "Spokane Street Bridge fishing site", "Southwest Bridge fishing site", "the river near South Park", or "the river that is near or goes under West Seattle Bridge".

Chemical pollution gets into our environment from many sources. You cannot see, smell or taste most of the chemical pollution that gets into the water, mud and fish. For over a century, the Duwamish River became polluted with toxic chemicals from many sources, including storm water runoff, wastewater, and industrial practices.

The toxic chemicals in the Duwamish River that are most dangerous to people’s health are polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), arsenic, carcinogenic polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (cPAHs), dioxins and furans.

These toxic chemicals build up in the mud of the river and get into the flatfish (perch, sole, flounder), crab, mussels and clams that spend their entire lives in the river. They are called "resident seafood". Regularly eating resident seafood from the river can increase your chance for health problems later on. Contact with the contaminated mud also poses a health risk.

The only Duwamish seafood safe to eat is salmon
because they spend a short time in the river.

How contaminants (like PCBs) from the Lower Duwamish River build up in humans
  1. Contaminants (like PCBs) get into the water and flow into the Duwamish River. Some contaminants stick to the sediment (mud) and end up staying on the bottom of the river.

  2. Microscopic animals (zooplankton), worms, and mussels live in the sediment and contaminants get into their bodies.

  3. Larger organisms, like Shiner perch, English sole and crabs, eat the bottom-dwellers and store even more contaminants in their bodies.

  4. Humans may catch and eat the contaminated fish and crab. The more seafood that a person eats, the more contaminants may be stored in his/her body which may affect his/her health.

Illustration of how contaminants get in fish in the Lower Duwamish River.

The EPA leads the cleanup of the contaminated mud of the river bottom at the Lower Duwamish Waterway Superfund Site. Like other complex Superfund sites, the Duwamish River Superfund Site has multiple phases.

  • Over the past years, the City of Seattle, King County, the Port of Seattle, and the Boeing Company, joined together as the Lower Duwamish Waterway Group (LDWG) to clean up some of the most polluted spots along the river. EPA and Ecology oversaw their early cleanup work, and found that t his early cleanup reduced the PCB contamination in the river bottom by approximately half.

  • In 2014, the EPA issued a Final Cleanup Plan, also known as a "Record of Decision (ROD)", for cleaning up the remaining contaminated mud on the river bottom. This will further reduce risks to people's health and the environment from toxic chemicals in the river.

    The Plan requires both active and passive cleanup measures, like:
    • Dredging (removing the toxic mud)
    • Capping (covering the river bottom with a thick layer of clean dirt), and
    • Enhanced Natural Recovery (covering the river bottom with a thinner layer of clean dirt)

  • The Plan also calls for Monitored Natural Recovery (natural sedimentation) in some areas.

Dredging

Capping

Enhanced natural recovery
Monitored natural recovery

Public Health's community-based health outreach program is part of the EPA's Final Cleanup Plan to protect people who fish and eat the resident seafood.

Over the coming years, the EPA will oversee the design and cleanup of the remaining contaminated mud. The EPA will monitor and maintain the site over time. As cleanup and source control continue, testing will be repeated to assess progress towards long-term cleanup goals.

EPA Duwamish River cleanup timeline

Timeline acronyms
AOC Administrative Order on Consent  
MTCA Model Toxics Control Act  
RA Remedial Action  
RD Remedial Design  

More information: EPA's Lower Duwamish Waterway Superfund Site website.

The EPA provides various opportunities for communities to give input into the cleanup. The EPA takes into account Environmental Justice (EJ), meaning it will aim to ensure the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin or income.

The EPA's Community Involvement Plan provides an overview on the engagement tools and techniques that the EPA will use throughout the cleanup of the LDW Superfund Site.

One of these opportunities for communities to get involved is with the Duwamish Roundtable. This group is made up of interested parties who will provide recommendations to EPA for the design and implementation of the cleanup.

If you would like to become a member of the Roundtable or are interested in attending one of the Roundtable meetings, please contact Julie Congdon at 206-553-2752 or congdon.julie@epa.gov.

For more information on how to stay updated and get involved in the Superfund cleanup, please visit EPA's Duwamish Community Involvement website, EPA's Duwamish Cleanup Facebook, or Duwamish River Cleanup Coalition page.

Ecology is leading efforts to control sources of chemical pollution from getting into the Duwamish River from the surrounding area. There are 20,000 acres of land that drains into the river. Toxic chemicals in the soil and groundwater from this surrounding area can find their way into the river through storm runoff and other routes.

Contaminant sources

Source control means finding the sources and extent of chemical pollution, then taking actions to stop or reduce them before they reach the river. Source control actions include:

  • investigation and cleanup of contaminated sites,
  • business inspections,
  • controlling storm water runoff and combined sewer overflows,
  • coordination among agencies, and
  • education

Thanks to source control, early cleanup actions, and natural sedimentation, the Duwamish is less polluted than it used to be. As Ecology further controls sources of pollution to the river, the risk that the sediments will become polluted again (recontaminated) will be low enough. EPA will move forward with phased cleanup of remaining areas of contaminated mud on the river bottom. In the long-term, EPA will monitor the natural recovery of the river and Ecology will continue to reduce pollution sources. These actions will help the river get as clean as possible and make seafood safer to eat.

More information: Ecology's Lower Duwamish Waterway Source Control Program website.