Skip to main content
King County logo

The Mental Health, Chemical Abuse and Dependency Services Division is a combined division for mental health and substance abuse services, as well as services for co-occurring disorders.

The mental health part of the division is the Regional Support Network, often referred to as the "RSN." King County is one of 12 RSNs in the state of Washington.

The RSN manages King County's publicly funded mental health plan, often referred to as the KCMHP. Services are provided through a network of 16 outpatient service providers who are licensed as community mental health centers.

The KCMHP also provides residential services. These services are offered in a variety of settings ranging from facilities where treatment is provided within the residential setting, to supported housing where people with mental illness live in their own apartments with supportive services provided.

When a person with a mental illness or an emotional problem experiences a crisis, the KCMHP has crisis services available to assist them. They might receive crisis intervention, stabilization, and if appropriate, referral to ongoing services. Involuntary treatment services are also a part of the KCMHP's crisis services.

The fourth level of service available is inpatient services, or psychiatric hospitalization. While inpatient services are not provided directly by the KCMHP, we do authorize and pay for those services. People who qualify for public assistance get approval for inpatient services through the KCMHP.

King County Mental Health is dedicated to the philosophy that all people who experience mental illness or emotional problems should be provided the kinds of services that will assist them in their recovery. Please see our Mission and Values and Recovery sections that describe the attitudes, values, and Services link to Intro to services that promote recovery from mental illness.

Welcome to our website!

Contact Us

Phone 206-263-9000

TTY Relay: 711

Fax: 206-296-0583