Skip to main content
King County logo

Welcome to the King County Mental Health Recovery and Resiliency Page

"Recovery is a process of change through which individuals improve their health and wellness, live a self-directed life, and strive to reach their full potential."

The King County Council recently voted unanimously to approve a new Recovery Ordinance!  They also approved a five-year plan for further development of recovery and resiliency oriented behavioral health services in King County.  Click on these links to learn more:



Recovery is a journey and a process for everyone. Research and experience has found that for a significant percentage of people diagnosed with a major mental illness, full recovery is possible. People can and do get well. Having a job is a powerful way to fuel recovery. For more information about employment services, please go to the Employment page. Peer support services are mental health services provided by people who live with mental health challenges and are in recovery themselves. Peers provide proof that recovery is real. See the Peer Support Services page for more information. For new job opportunities for people trained as peers, click here.

Resiliency can be defined as an innate capacity that when facilitated and nurtured empowers people to successfully meet life’s challenges with a sense of self-determination, mastery and hope. Resiliency is particularly important for children, youth and families and older adults.

The King County Mental Health, Chemical Abuse and Dependency Services Division (MHCADSD) is proud to partner with mental health agencies in King County to build a recovery and resiliency oriented system, including involving people who participate in mental health services in the design, administration, leadership, services and/or day-to-day program decision-making. Read King County Transformation Initiatives to learn more. Check out the new Recovery Roundup for up-to-date news about system change.

Having a safe place to live is a basic to everyone. MHCADSD has programs to help people with housing. Mental health agencies will help people rebuild their lives, whether that is a job, school or community and family activities.

The federal Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Administration has a new website with resources and information about Shared Decision Making for mental health services.  As the website states: Shared decision making (SDM) is an emerging best practice in health care and mental health services. It pairs a style of communication and decision making tools to help balance clinical information about mental health conditions and treatment options with an individual’s preferences, goals, and cultural values and beliefs.

We welcome your comments and suggestions! Please send us an email to

10 + 1 Fundamental Components of Recovery

In 2004, over 110 experts participated in a conference to come to consensus on the fundamental requirements of recovery. Participants included mental health consumers, family members, providers, advocates, researchers, academicians, managed care representatives, accreditation organization representatives, state and local public officials, and others.

The Recovery Transformation Grant received by the State of Washington has added "Resiliency."

  1. Self-Direction: People lead, control, and find their own path of recovery with providers as partners.
  2. Individualized & Person-Centered: Everyone's unique path toward recovery is supported.
  3. Empowerment: People choose from a range of options and participate in all decisions affecting their lives.
  4. Holistic: Services support the person's whole life; mental health, substance issues, physical health, spirituality, community, housing, employment, education, creativity, having friends and family support.
  5. Non-Linear: Recovery is a process of growth, that can include setbacks and learning from experience.
  6. Strengths-Based: Services focus on valuing and building on people's strengths, resiliencies, talents, coping skills, and interests.
  7. Peer Support: People receiving services help each other on their recovery journeys. Peers can become providers with training.
  8. Respect: Acceptance and appreciation of everyone including: protecting individual rights and eliminating discrimination and stigma.
  9. Responsibility: Everyone has a personal responsibility for their self care and recovery.
  10. Hope: Everyone, their families, friends, providers and others encourages the belief that people can and do recover.
  • + 1. Resiliency: The ability to "bounce back" after difficult experiences. Everyone has the ability to develop resiliency.

Starting in March 2020, households across our region and across the country will have the opportunity to participate in the 2020 Census. Your participation matters. Learn how you can promote a fair and accurate census at

Contact Us

Phone 206-263-9000

TTY Relay: 711

Fax: 206-296-0583