Skip to main content
King County logo


Metropolitan King County
Council News

Redistricting mean changes for some residents



Residents in parts of East Renton are now part of King County Council District 5, represented by Councilmember Julia Patterson.

The changes are a result of a shift in boundaries to the nine King County Council districts. By law, every ten years a committee must redraw King County Council districts to reflect changes in the population of the county. A committee was appointed by the County Council to redraw the boundaries using updated 2010 US census data. The new Districts took effect November 15, 2011.

As part of the redistricting process, District 5 now reaches east into the Cascade Fairwood neighborhood in the City of Renton. The new district boundary extends east past SE 164th St. at 128th Ave SE to 132nd Pl. and then south down 132nd Pl. to Fairwood Crest Park. At the Park, the District boundary line continues south near 134th Avenue S west towards SE Petrovitsky Road, continuing back to 128th Avenue SE.

“I’m looking forward to representing more of the residents of the City of Renton and serving them on the County Council,” said Councilmember Julia Patterson.

The Metropolitan King County Council oversees the 14th most populous county in the nation and the second largest government in Washington State. With close to 2 million people, King County has a population larger than 14 states and covers more territory than the state of Delaware.

King County Council District 5 now includes the cities of Normandy Park and Des Moines and parts of Burien, SeaTac, Tukwila, Renton, and Kent.

To view a map of King County Council Districts online, visit:

Contact the Council
Main phone: