Skip to main content
Many King County facilities are closed to the public. Learn how to access services remotely or while practicing social distancing guidelines.  
King County logo


Metropolitan King County
Council News

Normandy Park, parts of southern Burien join King County District 5



Residents of Normandy Park and parts of southern Burien are now part of King County Council District 5, represented by Councilmember Julia Patterson.

The changes are a result of a shift in boundaries to the nine King County Council districts. By law, every ten years a committee must redraw King County Council districts to reflect changes in the population of the county. A committee was appointed by the County Council to redraw the boundaries using updated 2010 US census data. The new Districts took effect November 15, 2011

As part of the change in boundaries, all residents of Normandy Park are now in District 5, represented by Councilmember Julia Patterson. District 5 also expands into the southern part of the City of Burien. This include those living south of SW 152nd St. going east to 10th Avenue SW, and south to SW 160th St. to 1st Avenue S. and then going north on 1st Avenue to S. 156th St. to the border of the City of SeaTac.

“I’m looking forward to once again representing the residents of Normandy Park and Burien, many of whom were my constituents while serving in the State Senate,” said Councilmember Julia Patterson.

The Metropolitan King County Council oversees the 14th most populous county in the nation and the second largest government in Washington State. With close to 2 million people, King County has a population larger than 14 states and covers more territory than the state of Delaware.

King County Council District 5 now includes the cities of Normandy Park and Des Moines and parts of Burien, SeaTac, Tukwila, Renton, and Kent.

To view a map of King County Council Districts online, visit:

Contact the Council
Main phone: