

# **King County Inclusive Communities Pledge**

As an elected official in King County I make the following commitments to the people of my community:

I will promote safe, welcoming, and inclusive communities – regardless of a person's immigration or refugee status, race, religion, national origin, age, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, disability, housing status, veteran status, political ideology, ancestry, or any other social identity.

I will honor and uphold the dignity, equality, civil and human rights of all people.

I will support policies, programs, and services that benefit all members of my community and foster positive community participation.

I will not deny services or the equal protection of the law to any resident based on immigration status.

I will support fair treatment by our law enforcement officers of all residents regardless of their immigration status.

I will support actions and efforts to inform all immigrants and refugees about their rights and obligations.

I will not tolerate discrimination, harassment, expressions of hate, or any behavior intended to promote fear, intimidation, or isolation.

I will not support directives or policies inconsistent with the values of my community.

I will use my platform as an elected official to promote fairness, equity, and equality.

I will take actions to help residents who are on a path to citizenship.

I will continue to embrace the proposition that being a welcoming jurisdiction is foundational to building a strong, collaborative, prosperous region, and that the plurality of backgrounds, perspectives, and lived experiences of our residents enhances the cultural fabric, vibrancy, economic vitality and growth of our communities.

#### Cynthia F. Adkins

### Jay Arnold

Councilmember, City of Medina

Deputy Mayor, City of Kirkland

Sally Bagshaw	Steve Bush
Councilmember, City of Seattle	Councilmember, Town of Yarrow Point
Nancy Backus	Fred Butler
Mayor, City of Auburn	Mayor, City of Issaquah
David Baker	Elaine Cook
Mayor, City of Kenmore	Councilmember, City of Woodinville
Claudia Balducci	Suzette Cooke
Councilmember, King County	Mayor, City of Kent
Bruce Bassett	Dow Constantine
Mayor, City of Mercer Island	County Executive, King County
Austin Bell	Rod Dembowski
Councilmember, City of Burien	Councilmember, King County
Lauren Berkowitz	Stacey Denuski
Councilmember, City of Burien	Councilmember, City of Kenmore
Debbie Bertlin	Dini Duclos
Deputy Mayor, City of Mercer Island	Councilmember, City of Federal Way
Mariah Bettise	Reagan Dunn
Councilmember, City of Issaquah	Councilmember, King County
Angela Birney	Allan Eckberg
Councilmember, City of Redmond	Mayor, City of Tukwila
Susan Boundy-Sanders	Mary Elmore
Councilmember, City of Woodinville	Councilmember, Town of Yarrow Point
Tina Budell	Brenden Elwood
Councilmember, City of Kent	Councilmember, City of North Bend
Tim Burgess	Brenda Fincher
Councilmember, City of Seattle	Councilmember, City of Kent

Lorena González	Denis Law
Councilmember, City of Seattle	Mayor, City of Renton
Larry Gossett	Conrad Lee
Councilmember, King County	Councilmember, City of Bellevue
Leanne Guier	Kim Lisk
Mayor, City of Pacific	Councilmember, City of Carnation
Nigel Herbig	Alex Marcos
Councilmember, City of Kenmore	Mayor, City of Medina
Lisa Herbold	Hank Margeson
Councilmember, City of Seattle	Councilmember, City of Redmond
Dennis Higgins	Tola Marts
Councilmember, City of Kent	Councilmember, City of Issaquah
John Hayes Holman	Doris McConnell
Councilmember, City of Auburn	Councilmember, City of Shoreline
Susan Honda	Joe McDermott
Councilmember, City of Federal Way	Councilmember, King County
Kathleen Huckabay	Ryan McIrvin
Councilmember, City of Sammamish	Councilmember, City of Renton
Bob Jeans	Marlla Mhoon
Councilmember, City of Snoqualmie	Councilmember, City of Covington
Jeanne Kohl-Welles	Ed Murray
Councilmember, King County	Mayor, City of Seattle
Trevor Kostanich	Mike O'Brien
Councilmember, City of North Bend	Councilmember, City of Seattle
Kate Kruller	Amy Ockerlander
Councilmember, City of Tukwila	Mayor Pro Tem, City of Duvall

Dana Parnello Deputy Mayor, City of Maple Valley Mary Lou Pauly Councilmember, City of Issaquah Jon Pascal Councilmember, City of Kirkland Pat Pepper Councilmember, City of Black Diamond **Ed Prince** Councilmember, City of Renton **Bill Ramos** Councilmember, City of Issaquah Andy Rheaume Mayor, City of Bothell **Chris Roberts** Mayor, City of Shoreline **Dennis L. Robertson** Councilmember, City of Tukwila Lynne Robinson, DPT Councilmember, City of Bellevue Jesse Salomon Councilmember, City of Shoreline **Keith Scully** Councilmember, City of Shoreline Verna Seal Councilmember, City of Tukwila

Megan Sheridan Councilmember, City of Maple Valley **Byron Shutz** Councilmember, City of Redmond **Carol Simpson** Councilmember, City of Newcastle **Catherine Stanford** Deputy Mayor & Council Chair, City of Lake Forest Park Penny Sweet Councilmember, City of Kirkland Nancy Tosta Deputy Mayor, City of Burien Dave Upthegrove Councilmember, King County **Rich Wagner** Councilmember, City of Auburn Amy Walen Mayor, City of Kirkland **Jason Walker** Councilmember, City of Duvall **Paula Waters** *Councilmember, City of Woodinville* **Erin Weaver** Councilmember, City of Maple Valley

## Wendy Weiker

Councilmember, City of Mercer Island

Sheree Wen

Deputy Mayor, City of Medina

#### Carol Ann Witschi

Councilmember, City of Renton

**Benson Wong** 

Councilmember, City of Mercer Island