

Metropolitan King County Council

King County Courthouse 516 Third Avenue, Room 1200 Seattle, WA 98104-3272

206-296-1000 TTY 206-296-1024 Toll Free: 1-800-325-6165 www.kingcounty.gov/council

March 10th, 2014

Dear Julia,

Congratulations on being selected by the Municipal League of King County as the 2014 Public Official of the Year. The Municipal League of King County is one of the county's most highly regarded civics organizations, and your service on behalf of South King County's diverse communities is truly deserving of such an honor.

The residents of SeaTac were lucky to have you as one of the founding city Councilmembers in 1989, as were the people of the 33rd District when you served as their State Representative and then Senator. The citizens of the Fifth Council District were also fortunate to have you represent them on the County Council.

During your 12 years on the Council you served in every major leadership role including Chair of the Council. Your work to help build the Lake to Sound Trail will result in a cherished asset for all of King County. King County is a healthier place thanks to your five years of service as Chair of the Board of Health.

Not only were you a leader here at the County Council, but you also took regional leadership roles as a board member of Sound Transit and Chair of the Puget Sound Regional Council's Transportation Policy Board. Your actions and leadership demonstrated both your dedication to South King County and the region.

We would like to reiterate our appreciation for your work during the past 24 years at the city, state and county levels. Our system of government only works when dedicated individuals choose to set aside other career goals and personal privacy to seek out elected office. You always put your community first and worked tirelessly on behalf of the people you served.

Congratulations again on this prestigious honor.

Sincerely,

Councilmember Rod Dembowski

District 1

Councilmember Larry Gossett

District 2

Councilmember Rathy Lambert
District 3

Councilmember Dave Upthegrove
District 5

Councilmember Pete von Reichbauer

councilmember Reagan Dunn

District 9

District 7

Councilmember Larry Phillips

District 4

Councilmember Jane Hague

District 6

Councilmember Joe McDermott

District 8