skip to main content


Rider information


The Water Taxi’s docks, passenger waiting areas, and vessels are accessible. If you need assistance boarding the vessel, please inform a crew member.


Bicycles are welcome at no additional charge. Please walk your bicycle between the pier entrance and the vessel. A maximum of 26 bicycles are allowed on the Vashon/Downtown Seattle route, and 26 are allowed on the West Seattle/Downtown Seattle route. (The back-up vessel on the West Seattle route, the MV Spirit of Kingston, holds 16 bicycles.)

We regret that we cannot allow gasoline-powered bikes or scooters aboard the Water Taxi. Bicycles powered by batteries, electricity, and people are welcome.


The Water Taxi will not operate on the following holidays:

  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Monday, Jan. 16, 2017
  • Presidents Day, Monday, Feb. 20, 2017
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 29, 2017 (Vashon route only)
  • Independence Day, Tuesday, July 4, 2017 (Vashon route only)
  • Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 4, 2017 (Vashon route only)
  • Veterans Day, Friday, Nov. 11, 2016
  • Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, Nov. 24, 2016
  • The day after Thanksgiving, Friday, Nov. 25, 2016
  • Christmas Day (observed), Monday, Dec. 26, 2016
  • New Year’s Day (observed), Monday, Jan. 2, 2017

The Water Taxi operates on a Sunday schedule, except as noted below, for the following holidays:

  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 29, 2017 (West Seattle route only)
  • Independence Day, Tuesday, July 4, 2017 (West Seattle route only on Saturday schedule)
  • Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 5, 2016 (West Seattle route only)

Lost and found

Paying your fare

Pets and service animals

Pets are not allowed on the Water Taxi. Service animals are allowed; no additional fare is required.


The Water Taxi does not take reservations. Passengers board on a first-come, first-served basis.

King County Water Taxi Water Taxi

Service advisories

Latest news

From The Captain’s Blog »

Contact us