Skip to main content
King County logo

Rural Forest Commission Openings

We are now accepting applications (PDF) for two open positions on the Rural Forest Commission.

Farm and forest aerial photo

The King County Rural Forest Commission is an advisory group of 13 volunteer members who represent a variety of rural forest interests. They advise the County on policies and programs affecting rural forests.

Recognizing that conserving healthy forests is essential to protecting and restoring water and air quality, providing recreational opportunities and maintaining a viable forestry industry in King County, the Commission issued its recommendations for conserving rural forests.  Read the Commission's report here:  Actions Required for King County to Conserve Rural Forests, May 2009 (PDF)

Equal opportunity and fair play are not only urban concerns. See the slideshow about King County's Equity and Social Justice Program that introduced discussion at the January 2016 meeting of the Rural Forest Commission here.


The Commission meets six times a year. Meetings in 2017 will be held from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m. at the Preston Community Center, 8625 310th Ave SE, Preston, WA. The public is welcome to attend.  Meeting dates are as follows:

March 16, Thursday
April 20, 2017
May 18, Thursday
July 20, Thursday
September 21, Thursday
November 16, Thursday

From time to time the Commission meets via conference call. Members of the public may listen to the discussion at a central location. The next conference call is scheduled for Thursday, April 20, 2017, from 8:30 to 9:30 a.m. at the Chinook Building, Room 116, 401 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA.

For agendas or to be added to the mailing list, please contact Linda Vane.

Past meeting minutes (Adobe Acrobat PDF format):

January 19, 2017

January 21, 2016
March 10, 2016
May 12, 2016
July 14, 2016
September 8, 2016
November 10, 2016

January 15, 2015
March 12, 2015
May 14, 2015
July 9, 2015
September 10, 2015
November 12, 2015

January 16, 2014
March 13, 2014
May 8, 2014
July 10, 2014
September 11, 2014 
November 13, 2014

November 14, 2013
September 12, 3013
July 11, 2013
May 9, 2013
March 14, 2013
January 10, 2013

This page is provided and maintained by the King County Forestry Program.

Related information

Commission members

Nate Veranth (Chair)
Forest landowner

Rex Thompson (Vice-Chair)
Cascadia Pacific Group

Bernie McKinney
Green River Coalition

Andy Chittick
Forester/Sawmill operator

Daryl Harper
Forest landowner

Amy LaBarge
Forest ecologist

Laurie Benson
Washington State Department of Natural Resources

Steven Mullen-Moses
Snoqualmie Tribe

Monica Paulsen Priebe
Green River College

Brandy Reed (ex officio)
King Conservation District

Dick Ryon
North Bend resident

Martie Schramm (ex officio)
USDA Forest Service
Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest

Grady Steere
Campbell Global

Commissioner list (PDF)

Commission Staff

Linda Vane
King County Forestry Program