See this page for information about:
- Applying for a New License
- Concealed Pistol Licenses for Out-of-State Residents
- Renewing A Concealed Pistol License
- Replacing a Concealed Pistol License
Applying for a New License
Click here for application
The initial application process takes around 30 to 60 minutes, including fingerprinting. When you apply the following is required:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must be a citizen of the United States or be a legal permanent resident (immigrant) alien residing in the State of Washington.
- You must live in King County, or outside the State of Washington in the case of a non-resident concealed pistol license.
- You need to have picture ID (a Washington State Drivers License or ID card is preferred). In addition, resident aliens must present their permanent resident alien card or similar document.
- There is a fee of $52.50.
Concealed Pistol Licenses for Out-of-State Residents
Washington has reciprocity for concealed pistol licenses issued by certain other states, so long as the handgun is carried in accordance with Washington law. The Washington State Attorney General's web site provides a list of those states that have reciprocity with Washington for concealed pistol licenses.
The Sheriff’s Office will issue concealed pistol licenses to out-of-state residents. You must appear in person at the King County Courthouse in downtown Seattle. The requirements and fees are the same as listed above under “Applying for a New License”. The waiting period may take up to 60 days for non-residents. We will mail your concealed pistol license once approved.
Renewing A Concealed Pistol License
If you are a citizen of King County or a resident of another state, your Concealed Pistol License may be renewed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date through 90 days after the expiration date. If you apply on or before the expiration date, the fee is $32; if you apply after the expiration date, the fee is $42. You will need to bring your current license and picture ID.
Replacing a Concealed Pistol License
Replacing your lost, stolen or destroyed concealed pistol license (issued by the King County Sheriff's Office) can only be done in person. To receive a replacement license, you will need to bring your picture ID. There is a $10 replacement fee for this service.
Further information regarding concealed pistol licenses may be obtained at www.dol.wa.gov/business/firearms
Links to external sites do not constitute endorsements by King County. By visiting this and other
King County web pages, you expressly agree to be bound by terms and conditions of the site
© 2010 King County