Skip to main content
King County logo

2017 grant recipients

2017 grant list - 200 KB PDF

Community Service Areas offer expanded ways for King County to engage with the 255,000 residents who live outside city boundaries. Residents are widely spread across the unincorporated area, except in the mountainous eastern third of King County.

King County serves as the local government for residents of unincorporated areas.

Public engagement framework for unincorporated areas - 639KB PDF
Learn how King County is reaching out to all residents in the rural and urban unincorporated areas.

Final 2017 line up of King County town halls


Hundreds of residents across unincorporated King County have been attending King County Community Service Area’s town hall meetings. Councilmembers Lambert, Dunn and McDermott along with the Sheriff, Assessor and leaders in the Department of Natural Resources and Parks, Department of Transportation, and the Department of Permitting and Environmental Review among others have met with local residents and responded to questions and concerns. We have three more meetings scheduled offering local residents an opportunity to connect with County officials. All meetings will run from 7 to 9 p.m. We look forward to seeing you in June.

Bear Creek/Sammamish
Councilmember Kathy Lambert, Sr. Deputy Executive Fred Jarrett, Sheriff John Urquhart
Monday, June 5, 7 – 9 pm
Woodinville Library
17105 Avondale Road NE
Woodinville, WA

North Highline/White Center
Councilmember Joe McDermott, Deputy Executive Rhonda Berry, Sheriff John Urquhart
Wednesday, June 7, 7 – 9 pm
Seola Garden-Providence Building
11215 5th Ave SW
Seattle, WA

West Hill/Skyway
Councilmember Larry Gossett, Sr. Deputy Executive Fred Jarrett, Sheriff John Urquhart
Thursday, June 15, 7 – 9 pm
Secondary Learning Center
7800 South 132nd St.
Seattle, WA

Start thinking now about 2018 CSA Community engagement grants

We’ve been celebrating the implementation of past Community Service Area grants supporting local projects in unincorporated King County. We were recently in Hobart where we joined local residents and Councilmember Dunn in celebration of new playground equipment funded in part by a CSA community engagement grant. Information about who received grants in 2017 is available on the CSA grant page. We will be opening applications for 2018 grants in the late summer. In the meantime, start thinking about how your community might benefit from this resource.

Fall City Community Association

Fall City Fire Station
June 9, 11:30 a.m. — 1 p.m.
4301 334th Place Southeast in Fall City. Monthly board meeting, open to the public. For more information visit the Fall City Community Association website or contact Ashley Glennon.

Neighborhood Community Organization Meetings

North Highline Unincorporated Council -- North Highline Fire Station
June 1, 2017, 7 — 9 p.m.
1243 SW 112th Street (parking and entrance in the back of the station)
Open to the public. All-volunteer community council monthly meeting. Agenda topics for June include a presentation on block watches, King County Sheriff’s Citizens Academy and more. For more information contact Liz Giba.

CSA Days in Vashon – Vashon Community Service Center
June 6, 2017, Noon — 7 p.m.
10011 SW Bank Rd, Vashon Island
Open to the public. Community Service Areas Program staff Bong Sto. Domingo will open the office for walk-ins and appointments. For appointments call 206.351.8071 or email Bong.

Skyway Solutions
June 12, 2017, 6 — 7:30 p.m.
13470 MLK Jr. Wy So., Seattle 98178
Open to the public. Monthly board meeting of a community based organization in Skyway. Contact Michael Majeed.

West Hill Community Association – Skyway Fire District 20
June 14, 2017, 7 — 9 p.m.
12417 76th Ave. S., Seattle WA 98178
Monthly board meeting open to the public. Stay in the loop about local issues, events and news from this all-volunteer nonprofit: proud hosts of Skyway Outdoor Cinema; leaders of West Hill Action Mob; community connectors and problem solvers. More information on their website or send an email.

West Hill Business Association – Skyway VFW
June 20, 2017, 9 — 11 a.m.
12424 76th Ave S, Seattle WA 98178
Open to the public. Business owners monthly meeting. Contact Cynthia Lamothe.


Bear Creek/Sammamish Area – This unincorporated rural area east of Woodinville, Redmond and Sammamish, includes the Redmond Ridge Urban Planned Development and the Sammamish Valley Agriculture Production District (APD).  This forested area is characterized by several lakes, including Cottage Lake; the Sammamish River Valley which contains both the APD and the Sammamish River Trail, along with  hills to the south and east.

Snoqualmie Valley/Northeast King County Area – This unincorporated rural area surrounds the rural cities of Duvall, Carnation, Snoqualmie, North Bend and Skykomish, along with the rural towns of Fall City and Snoqualmie Pass.  The eastern portion of this CSA is the Snoqualmie Valley which contains the Snoqualmie Valley Agriculture Production District and several rural cities and towns.  The majority of the land area in this CSA is made up of the forested Cascade Range which contains portions of the Mount Baker – Snoqualmie National Forest, and the Alpine Lakes Wilderness Area.

Four Creeks/Tiger Mountain Area – This unincorporated rural area lies east of the cities Renton and Newcastle and east and south of Issaquah and contains the May Valley Basin and the foothills of the Cascade Range, including Cougar Mountain Regional Wildland Park, Squak Mountain State Park  and Tiger Mountain State Forest.

Greater Maple Valley/Cedar River Area – This unincorporated rural area lies east of the  cities of Renton and Kent and north of Covington, Maple Valley and Black Diamond and extends east to the border with Kittitas County.  The western portion of this CSA has low rolling hills with several lakes, while the eastern portion moves into the Cascade Range, including portions of the Forest Production District and part of the Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest.

Southeast King County Area – This unincorporated rural area lies south of Maple Valley, Covington and Black Diamond, east of Auburn, surrounds the City of Enumclaw.  The northeastern portion of this CSA contains the lower and middle Green River basins, and includes the Middle Green River Valley Agriculture Production Districts along with Hanging Gardens State Park, Kanaskat-Palmer State Park, Nolte State Park and Flaming Geyser State Park.  To the south and slightly east of the river basins is the Enumclaw Plateau.  The land  further to the east is forested and contains a portion of the Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest.

West King County Area – This Community Service Area includes urban unincorporated areas of King County including East Federal Way, North Highline, West Hill, Fairwood and East Renton. These communities represent potential annexation areas to neighboring cities.

Vashon/Maury Island Area – This unincorporated rural area encompasses the entirety of Vashon-Maury Island.  Accessible only by ferry or boat, the island is home to a rich mix of parks, beaches and local craft and agricultural production.

For additional information, please contact:

Unincorporated Area Community News

Unincorporated Area Community NewsA monthly newsletter designed to provide valuable information about the services King County provides to unincorporated areas and how residents can be engaged in King County's programs and planning.

All unincorporated area residents should have the opportunity for meaningful involvement in the decisions that impact their communities.
Dow Constantine
King County Executive

For more information, please contact Alan Painter, Manager, Community Service Areas (CSAs).