skip to main content

Cool Counties

Cool Counties Climate Stabilization Initiative

Cool Counties

What is the Cool Counties initiative?

On July 16, 2007 at the National Association of Counties Annual Conference in Richmond, Virginia, 12 pioneering counties representing 17 million people launched “Cool Counties.” The Cool Counties initiative seeks to marshal the resources of all 3,066 counties across the nation to address the challenges climate change poses to our communities.

Participating counties commit to four smart actions:

  1. reducing our own contributions to climate change through our internal operations;
  2. demonstrating regional leadership to achieve climate stabilization and protect our communities;
  3. helping our community become climate resilient;
  4. urging the federal government to support our efforts.

King County, Washington, Fairfax County, Virginia, and the Sierra Club led the effort to draft this declaration and organize support for its approval. King County will continue to serve as the lead organizing government as we build support across the nation.

Why join?

Cool Counties - Signatories

  1. King County, Washington
  2. Fairfax County, Virginia
  3. Nassau County, New York
  4. Cook County, Illinois
  5. Alameda County, California
  6. Hennepin County, Minnesota
  7. Dane County, Wisconsin
  8. Queen Anne's County, Maryland
  9. Montgomery County, Maryland
  10. Yolo County, California
  11. Hamilton County, Ohio
  12. Carroll County, Maryland
  13. Lake County, California
  14. Miami Dade County, Florida
  15. Arlington County, Virginia
  16. Shelby County, Tennessee
  17. Santa Clara County, California 
  18. Contra Costa County, California
  19. New Kent County, Virginia
  20. James City County, Virginia
  21. San Mateo County, California
  22. Los Angeles County, California
  23. Cuyahoga County, Ohio
  24. Clark County, Nevada
  25. Johnson County, Kansas
  26. Richland County, South Carolina
  27. Albemarle County, Virginia
  28. Marin County, California
  29. Clackamas County, Oregon
  30. Multnomah County, Oregon
  31. Bucks County, Pennsylvania
  32. Sacramento County, California
  33. Skagit County, Washington
  34. Prince George's County, Maryland
  35. Monmouth County, New Jersey
  36. Broward County, Florida
  37. Orange County, North Carolina
  38. Wakulla County, Florida
  39. San Miguel County, Colorado

In the News


Press releases