skip to main content

Community Service Areas

King County, Washington

For more information about King County's Community Service Areas, please contact Alan Painter, Manager.
Tel: 206-477-4521
TTY: 711

Community Service Areas
King County, Washington


Meet your County representatives at a town hall and open house

The 2016 Unincorporated Community Service Area (CSA) town hall and open houses in unincorporated King County began in April. The open houses bring together the local County Councilmember and representatives from the Executive, Sheriff and numerous other County departments to meet with local residents and discuss issues affecting local communities. All meetings except Vashon will run from 7 - 9 p.m.

Southeast King County
Monday, May 23
Councilmembers Dunn/ Fred Jarrett (invited Councilmember von Reichbauer), Sheriff Urquhart
Neuwaukum Grange Hall, 38402 180th Ave. SE, Auburn

North Highline/White Center
Tuesday, May 24
Councilmember Joe McDermott/Dwight Dively, Sheriff Urquhart
Location: Seola Gardens - Providence Building
11215 5th Ave SW, Seattle, WA 98146

Vashon/Maury Island
Councilmember McDermott/Fred Jarrett, Sheriff Urquhart
Wednesday, May 25, 6:30 - 8:30 p.m.
Location: McMurray Middle School
9329 SW Cemetery Rd., Vashon, WA 98070

West Hill/Skyway
Tuesday, May 31
Councilmember Larry Gossett/Rhonda Berry, Sheriff Urquhart
Location: King County Fire District 20
12424 76th Ave South, Seattle, WA 98178

Wednesday, June 1
Councilmember Reagan Dunn, Chief of Operations Rhonda Berry, Sheriff John Urquhart
Carriage Crest Elementary, 18235 140th Ave. SE, Renton

Four Creeks/Tiger Mountain
Tuesday, June 7
Councilmember Dunn, Whitney Abrams – Executive Office, Sheriff Urquhart
Maple Hills Elementary, 15644 204th Ave. SE, Renton

Community Service Areas

Community Service Areas offer expanded ways for King County to engage with the 255,000 residents who live outside city boundaries. Residents are widely spread across the unincorporated area, except in the mountainous eastern third of King County.

King County serves as the local government for residents of unincorporated areas.

Public engagement framework for unincorporated areas - 639KB PDF
Learn how King County is reaching out to all residents in the rural and urban unincorporated areas.

Bear Creek/Sammamish Area – This unincorporated rural area east of Woodinville, Redmond and Sammamish, includes the Redmond Ridge Urban Planned Development and the Sammamish Valley Agriculture Production District (APD).  This forested area is characterized by several lakes, including Cottage Lake; the Sammamish River Valley which contains both the APD and the Sammamish River Trail, along with  hills to the south and east.

Snoqualmie Valley/Northeast King County Area – This unincorporated rural area surrounds the rural cities of Duvall, Carnation, Snoqualmie, North Bend and Skykomish, along with the rural towns of Fall City and Snoqualmie Pass.  The eastern portion of this CSA is the Snoqualmie Valley which contains the Snoqualmie Valley Agriculture Production District and several rural cities and towns.  The majority of the land area in this CSA is made up of the forested Cascade Range which contains portions of the Mount Baker – Snoqualmie National Forest, and the Alpine Lakes Wilderness Area.

Four Creeks/Tiger Mountain Area – This unincorporated rural area lies east of the cities Renton and Newcastle and east and south of Issaquah and contains the May Valley Basin and the foothills of the Cascade Range, including Cougar Mountain Regional Wildland Park, Squak Mountain State Park  and Tiger Mountain State Forest.

Greater Maple Valley/Cedar River Area – This unincorporated rural area lies east of the  cities of Renton and Kent and north of Covington, Maple Valley and Black Diamond and extends east to the border with Kittitas County.  The western portion of this CSA has low rolling hills with several lakes, while the eastern portion moves into the Cascade Range, including portions of the Forest Production District and part of the Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest.

Southeast King County Area – This unincorporated rural area lies south of Maple Valley, Covington and Black Diamond, east of Auburn, surrounds the City of Enumclaw.  The northeastern portion of this CSA contains the lower and middle Green River basins, and includes the Middle Green River Valley Agriculture Production Districts along with Hanging Gardens State Park, Kanaskat-Palmer State Park, Nolte State Park and Flaming Geyser State Park.  To the south and slightly east of the river basins is the Enumclaw Plateau.  The land  further to the east is forested and contains a portion of the Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest.

West King County Area – This Community Service Area includes urban unincorporated areas of King County including East Federal Way, North Highline, West Hill, Fairwood and East Renton. These communities represent potential annexation areas to neighboring cities.

Vashon/Maury Island Area – This unincorporated rural area encompasses the entirety of Vashon-Maury Island.  Accessible only by ferry or boat, the island is home to a rich mix of parks, beaches and local craft and agricultural production.

For additional information, please contact:

For more information, please contact Alan Painter, Manager, Community Service Areas (CSAs).

New initiatives

Unincorporated initiatives in the 2014 King County Budget - 53 KB PDF

2015 grant recipients

2015 grant list - 190 KB PDF

CSA News

Unincorporated Area Community News

Unincorporated Area Community NewsA monthly newsletter designed to provide valuable information about the services King County provides to unincorporated areas and how residents can be engaged in King County's programs and planning.

Related information

Forest stewardship class in Black Diamond – Thursday evenings, 6:30 to 9:30 pm, April 30 through June 18, 2015, at the Black Diamond Community Center. Field trip on Saturday, May 23.

Rual Directory Rural Services Directory -- a handy reference guide to the wide range of services King County provides to rural residents.

CSA Brochure

Related agencies

All unincorporated area residents should have the opportunity for meaningful involvement in the decisions that impact their communities.
Dow Constantine
King County Executive