Skip to main content
King County logo
Before you can become a deputy, you must complete 720 hours of basic law enforcement academy (BLEA) training within six months of hire.  The Washington State Criminal Justice Center (WSCJTC) is located in Burien, WA near SeaTac Airport.  KCSO must sponsor you to attend WACJTC; there are no self-sponsorships.  Classes generally run Monday-Friday business hours, with some evening and weekend sessions.  No dorm rooms are available for KCSO hires.  You go home each day after class.  All academy recruits must be physically able to actively and fully participate in the defensive drills and other required physical activities in accordance with WAC 139-05-230.

The 720 hour Basic Academy curriculum is designed to provide recruit officers with the basic knowledge and skills necessary for safe, proper, and effective law enforcement service. Instructional blocks include: Criminal Law and Procedures; Traffic Enforcement; Cultural Awareness; Communication Skills; Emergency Vehicle Operations Course; Firearms; Crisis Intervention; Patrol Procedures; Criminal Investigation; and Defensive Tactics.

The Criminal Justice Training Commission Basic Law Enforcement Academy will not accept Jane Doe or John Doe applications.  In order to be processed, all applications must be received from the sponsoring agency prior to the posted selection date.

Learn more at the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Center web page.

Questions? Let us help.

Email: kcso.recruiter@kingcounty.gov
Phone: (206) 391-1615