Compliance Check

Youth Training

THE PROBLEM:

Nicotine is an addictive drug in tobacco,
which is illegal to sell or give to persons
under 18. However, all too often it is
possible for teenagers under 18 to purchase
tobacco products and electronic smoking
devices. The Tobacco Prevention Program
conducts retailer compliance checks
throughout the year in an effort to reduce
youth access to age restricted products in
King County. We would like to make it
possible for everyone to make informed
choices about their health as adults without
the manipulation tactics that 22.5 million
dollars per day in tobacco advertising buys.
Approximately 26% of high school seniors
in King County smoke regularly. We hope
to see a reduction in this number.

THE PROCESS:

Youth are trained completely before
conducting checks. This training includes
procedures for conducting compliance
checks and information regarding the health
risks of tobacco use.

Employees of the Tobacco Prevention
Program of Public Health — Seattle and King
County (PHSKC) drive youth volunteers
around to retailers in King County where the
volunteers will attempt to purchase tobacco
products, electronic smoking devices (e-
cigarettes), or e-juice for electronics. Ifa
teen does not feel comfortable with a
particular retail site, we will use another
volunteer to check that location.

Results of our purchase attempts are
reported to the Washington State
Department of Health and to the Washington
State Liquor Control Board (LCB). If a sale
of tobacco is made to our youth operatives, a
LCB agent will issue the clerk and retailer a
citation in accordance with RCW 70.155.
There is a slight chance that a retailer may
contest the violation and teen volunteers
may be asked to attend an administrative
hearing.

LEGAL IMMUNITY:

While working with local health districts to
check retailer compliance, youth volunteers
are specifically exempt from laws
prohibiting minors from purchasing and
possessing tobacco products. During the
compliance checks the health department
employee will be in possession of a letter
explaining this immunity in case their
activities are questioned.

PUBLICITY:

As a part of raising public awareness
regarding tobacco, volunteers may be given
the option of participating in local press
conferences and may have the opportunity
to be quoted either in print or on television.

PHOTOS & VIDEOS:

Youth volunteers will be photographed or
have video taken on the day of the check in
order to counter any criticism from the
tobacco industry or retailers that participants
were chosen only if they appeared older than
the age of 18.

REPRESENTATION:

Teen volunteers will not be allowed to lie or
misrepresent themselves in any way. They
should make no attempt to disguise their age
or to appear older.

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT:

Public Health }:

Seattle & King County

Tobacco Prevention Program
401 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1100
Seattle, WA 98104-1818
Phone: (206) 263-8203
Fax: (206) 296-0177



Policies & Requirements of Youth Volunteers

Requirements of Youth
Compliance check youth must meet the following requirements:
e Be 15to 17 years of age at the time of recruitment
May not appear older than 18 years of age
Be considered trustworthy by health department employees
Be willing & able to ask for tobacco products or electronic smoking devices
Be willing & able to identify clerks who sell to them
Be willing & able to testify in LCB administrative hearings
Be willing to allow photos and/or dialog to be used as evidence
There is no minimum or maximum requirement of hours you may volunteer, but
we would ask that you be willing to volunteer a minimum of 4-6 hours a month
(or 1-2 shifts).

Enrollment Procedures
All youth volunteers must provide:
1. Consent form signed by parent/legal guardian
2. Proof of age for our files (a copy of youth’s birth certificate, Washington State
ID card, Washington State drivers permit or drivers license)

Termination Policy
If any youth does not meet all of the above requirements, they will no longer be
allowed to participate in the compliance check program. This includes youth that
may mature and appear 18 or older prior to reaching the age of 17 years and 6
months.

Rules for Minor Operatives

1. While conducting compliance checks, you should dress the way you would normally.
NEVER attempt to make yourself look older (make-up, big hair, dresses, suit and tie,
etc.).

2. Under no circumstances will laughing or making fun of a clerk be tolerated. Our goal is
to educate retailers and this can only be achieved if we maintain a positive relationship
with the retailers.

3. Youth operatives should NEVER lie about their age. If you are asked about your age by
anyone (clerk or other customers), tell them the truth.

4. No more than two youth should enter an establishment at one time. If two youth conduct
the compliance check together, only one may interact with the clerk. The other should
remain silent and witness the transaction. Sometimes a clerk will ask the 2" youth for ID.
At this time you may respond and present your ID as if you were conducting the check.



Compliance Check Shifts

e The retail locations to be checked are selected by Tobacco Prevention staff.

e Your adult escort (PHSKC Staff) will pick you up from your home or school at the
prearranged time and drop you off at home when your shift is finished.

Average Compliance Check Shift
Weekdays: Pick you up usually immediately after school gets out, unless other
arrangements are made. You can expect to do approximately 12-14 checks and be

out about 2-4 hours, depending on where the checks are located.

Weekends: Pick you up usually from home. You can expect to do at least 18-20
checks and be out 3-5 hours, depending on where the checks are located.

e  After your shift is completed, you will receive a gift certificate from a selection of
various stores. Recent stores include: Safeway, Target and Fred Meyer.

Compliance Check Procedures

e PHSKC staff drives the underage operative to the locations.

e The money for the purchase attempt is provided by PHSKC and will be given to you
during your shift. You must return all money provided to you at the end of your shift.

e Youth enters the store (with only the money furnished by PHSKC and his/her ID, if
any), locates the tobacco or electronic device or e-juice, and attempts the purchase.

e The adult escort will attempt to monitor the interaction between the youth and the

clerk if at all possible. When conducting checks in larger grocery and drug stores, the
adult escort will probably be inside the store observing the transaction.

**DO NOT INTERACT WITH YOUR ESCORT WHILE IN THE STORE.

e  After each compliance check, the youth returns to the car and helps complete the
reporting form.



Purchase Attempt Guidelines

e Locate the tobacco, electronic device, or e-juice immediately and stand in the
shortest/fastest line.

e Select the product from a “self-serve” display and set it down on the counter or if
the product is sold “over the counter,” then ask the clerk for the specific brand name.

DO NOT ask, “Can I buy a pack of cigarettes?”
ALWAYS ask for a specific brand. For instance: “Can I get a pack of
Camel Blues?” If you have difficulty pronouncing a brand name, then do not
ask for that brand.

e ALWAYS tell the truth

If asked about your age (even by a customer), always state your correct age.

e If asked for ID and...

m You don’t have valid ID
| INTEREDIATE LICENSE Tell the clerk, “I don’t have one.”
exp 07-01-2006

NEVER say anything like, “I forgot it.” or “It’s in the car.”

71985 You have a valid WA State ID, Drivers Permit or License
Present your ID to the clerk. Always wait until the clerk asks for the ID.
Do not present the ID before being asked.

e If the clerk does not sell
Simply walk away. NEVER plead or attempt to coerce the clerk into selling.
You may walk back up with your escort to present the clerk with resources.

e If the clerk sells to you
> Present the money, take the change, and leave casually. DO NOT laugh
or giggle. Do not ask for a receipt, however take one if offered.

> After the transaction, proceed directly back to the car. Do not stop to talk
with your adult escort until completely back at the car.

> Return any change to your escort, bag and tag the evidence, assist with the
reporting information, and take an evidence picture.

> Be prepared to re-enter the establishment with your escort to identify who
the clerk was. You will not have to interact with the clerk upon re-entry.
The entire interaction from then on will be the responsibility of your
PHSKC escort.



Locating and Obtaining the Product

Locating the Tobacco, Electronic Cigarette, or e-Juice

Convenience Stores & Gas Stations (7-Eleven, Chevron, 76, Shell, etc.):
Usually the products are located behind the counter. Sometimes there is a display
rack that you may take a pack from and set on the counter.

Grocery Stores (Safeway, QFC, Albertsons, etc.):
Products are located towards the front of these stores near the check out stands. Often
times sold at a Customer Service counter, movie rental, and/or Lottery counter.

*QFC — May have them in a glass cabinet at the front of one central
aisle. (The cabinet is often unlocked.)

Drug Stores (Rite Aid, Bartell Drug, Walgreens, etc.):
Products are located behind (over the counter) one or all of the registers. Sometimes
located behind (over the counter) the film developing and electronics counter.

Department Store (Wal-mart, Fred Meyer, etc.):
Products are typically located at one register or customer service area near the front
of the store, where they sell Lottery tickets and take customer returns.

Tobacco Discount Store (Cigarettes Cheaper, CigarLand):

Products are displayed and available throughout this type of store, usually on some
kind of self-serve wall display. Cigarettes are most often at the counter or behind the
counter and should be asked for similar to other convenience stores.

99 Cent Stores, Discount Stores, Deli, Gift Shops:
Products are located at the main counter, usually over the counter.

Obtaining the Tobacco, Electronic Cigarette, or e-Juice

Self-Serve: Usually this is a display rack, but also includes any tobacco that you are
able to pick up yourself and place on the counter (not as common.)

Over the Counter: You will have to ask for the tobacco. Make sure you know how to
ask for them. This is the most common way they are sold in King County.



How to Ask for Cigarettes

Asking for cigarettes:
DO NOT ask for a pack of cigarettes. Be sure to ask for a specific brand.
For example: “Can I get a pack of Camel Blues?”

What brands to ask for:
Ask for a brand of product that you are able to pronounce correctly.

Camel Marlboro Kool Newport
Blu (e-cig)  JUUL (e-cig) Vuse (e-cig) Mark Ten (e-cig)

Ask any of your friends, or youth you may know, what brands they smoke.

Brands are often times target marketed to specific groups:
African Americans = Newport, Kool, and Marlboro Menthol
Asian/Pacific Islander = Marlboro, Kools, and Newports
Caucasian = Camel, Marlboro, Winston
Females = Camel Blue (“light”), Virginia Slims

Cigarettes come in several varieties:

Filter/Non-filter Packaging: Soft pack or Hard pack
Different “Strengths” Size: Regular/100°s/72s
Menthol Wides

A typical transaction:
If a clerk were to ask you, “filter or non-filter,” don’t hesitate, just pick one. The
following is an example of a clerk/customer dialog.

Youth: Can I get a pack of Camel Blues?

Clerk: Sure...oh no, we’re out.

Youth: Okay, how about Marlboro Lights?

Clerk: Man, today is not your day. All I have are Newports.
Youth: Okay, that will do.

Clerk: Hard or soft pack?

Youth: Hard.

Clerk: That will be $9.60.

Youth: Here you go.

Clerk: Thanks, and have a good day.



Washington State Compliance Check Form

The form below is filled out after each site is checked. The youth is responsible for
answering the questions in section 1.

f Waskngton St Deprtmet o YOUTH TOBACCO PREVENTION PROGRAM

DHealth COMPLIANCE CHECK DATA REPORTING

Flumsmws UBI NUMBER

DATE OF CHECK [TIME OF CHECK (CHECK ONE BOX)

OAM. (1) OPM.(2

Type of Business: Q Convenience Store (1) Q Grocery Store (6)
Q Convenience/Gas Station (2) Q Pharmacy/Drug Store (7)
Q Gas Station Only (3) Q Department Store (8)
Q Restaurant (4) Q Tobacco Discount e\9)
Q Bar/Lounge (5) Q Other:

Were you asked your age? QYes (1) QNo (2)

Were you asked for identification? QYes (1) QNo (2)

If YES, did you show ID? QYes, Driver's License (1) Dé@péepndendID (3)
QYes, State ID (2) i IDX4)

If YES, did escort check ID,

Was the required yellow sign posted at the p; ? QaNo (2)

Q Vending machine (2) 3 9 ask clerk (3)

Q Cigaft ASmoR ' Q Bidis (5)

Q Sfgle flette ig2 Q Clove Cigarette (6)
Was Q Male (2)
How old YK ? Q Under 18 (1) 018-29 (2) Q30-49(3) Q50+ (4)

: ge? QYes (1) QNo (2)
If YES, what was the amount of the purchase? $
If YES, was the violation referred to the Liquor Control Board for enforcement? QdYes (1) ANo (2)

NAME OF YOUTH OPERATIVE YOUTH'S GENDER YOUTH'S AGE OFFICE USE ONLY-DATA ENTRY
Q0 Female (1) QMale (2) e SIS
NAME OF ADULT ESCORT ESCORT’S TELEPHONE RETURN COMPLETED FORM TO: Youth Tob: F ion Prog
P.O. Box 47848, Olympia, WA 98504-7848

SECTION II (Optional) Complete the following only if a sale was made and you want violations issued by the Liquor Control Board. If
necessary, the adult escort may wish to go back into the store to discreetly collect this information.

CLERK NAME FIRST Mi LAST CLERK TELEPHONE

( )
CLERK ADDRESS CcITY zIP
DATE OF BIRTH DRIVER'S LICENSE # EYE COLOR HAIR COLOR HEIGHT WEIGHT

OTHER INFORMATION

DOH 345-023 (Rev. 4/01) White-DOH Yellow-LCB Pink-Contractor




Letter of Immunity for Youth Participants

Tobacco Prevention Frogram Public Health}
201 Fifth Evenue, 5ot 900

Seatta, WA SE104- 1818 Seattle & King County
206-2096-7613 Fax 205-296-017F

T Relay: 711

wyw, Kngosunty.god health

Movember 1, 2010

RE: Eetailer Compliance Checks—Immumity for Youth Parhicipants

To determine the ease to which youth under the age of eighteen can access tobacco products, retailer
compliance checks are being conducted by local health departments and districts. Youth voluntears
have agreed to parbicipate in these controlled buys with the approval of thewr parents or guardians.

State law (RCW 70.155.080) srants immmumity o youth participating mn fobacco retaler comphance
checks:

(1) A person under the age of eighteen who purchases or attempts to
purchase, possesses, or obtains or attermnpts to obtzin c1garettes or
tobacco products comamits a class 3 civil infraction under chapter
7.80 RCW and is subject to a fine as set out in chapter 7.80 RCW
‘or parficipation in up to four hours of commumity service, or both.
Th.emtunya]son&mmpa:hnpa‘tmumasmnhﬂgcemtm

of el wﬂhmfa]andmma‘h "a' 'ma
conirolled purchase as part of a iguor run'lrn] b law
enforcement, or local health departinent activity, [1993c 507 §9.]

This youth is attempting to purchase tobacco as a comphance check vohmteer for Public Health-Seattle
and Emg County. All tobacco products obtained through these compliance checks will be refuned to
the local health department to be used as evidence.

If there are any questions regarding this immunity, please contact Public Health — Seattle and King
County, vour local Liquor Control Board office or the Depariment of Health's Tobacco Prevenfion
Program. Public Health — Seattle and Emmg County may be reached at (206) 296-T613.

Sincerely,
Dr. Diavid Flemmng, M D. Scott Neal
Director and Health Officer Tobacco Prevention Program Manager

Consent Form (Separate Document)

Once the consent form is completed, please call our office to schedule your training.

206-263-8203



