skip to main content

Metropolitan King County Council

Earning public trust, enhancing quality of life, protecting public health and safety
Metropolitan King County Council
516 Third Ave., Rm. 1200
Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: 206-477-1000
Toll Free: 800-325-6165
TTY/TDD: 206-296-1024
Fax: 206-296-0198
Photo banner of Councilmembers
Dec. 3, 2009

Advisory Committee recommends four to fill Constantine vacancy in District 8

Committee of the Whole to interview recommended candidates next Monday

An Advisory Committee has completed interviews of 11 candidates seeking to fill the King County Council seat vacated by Dow Constantine upon his election as King County Executive. The Advisory Committee has recommended four candidates for consideration by the County Council.

The committee recommended two individuals who intend to run for the seat in the November 2010 general election:

• Rep. Zack Hudgins—State Representative from the 11th District
• Sen. Joe McDermott—State Senator from the 34th District

The committee also recommended two individuals who intend to serve in a caretaker capacity until the general election in November 2010:

• Jan Drago—A member of the Seattle City Council who is leaving the Council this year
• Rep. Sharon Nelson—State Representative from the 34th District

All four candidates recommended by the Committee will be interviewed next Monday at a meeting of the Council's Committee-of-the-Whole:

Monday, December 7
9:30 a.m.
Council chambers
10th floor, King County Courthouse

The advisory committee was chaired by former Seattle Deputy Mayor and Municipal Court Judge Anne Levinson and Mark Okazaki, Executive Director of Neighborhood House, a human service agency with facilities in High Point and Greenbridge. They were joined on the 12-member advisory committee by community leaders and elected officials who live or work in Council District 8:

• Aileen Balahadia, Executive Director of the White Center Community Development Association,
• Steve Daschle, Executive Director of Southwest Youth and Family Services,
• Tom Dean, Executive Director of the Vashon/Maury Island Land Trust,
• David Johnson, CEO of NAVOS, a mental health care facility that provides housing,
• Joan McGilton, Mayor of Burien
• Patti Mullen, CEO, West Seattle Chamber of Commerce
• Behnaz Nelson, co-chair of the King County Coalition of Unions
• Kathy Nyland, chair of the Georgetown Merchants Association and chair of the City Neighborhood Association
• Doug Osterman, Normandy Park City Councilmember
• Chris Porter, business owner and a nurse practitioner who is active on park and recreation issues.

Co-Chairs Levinson and Okazaki said the committee represented a diversity of perspectives and experiences and took to heart the charge from the Council to forward a slate of candidates who would best serve the needs of the County and District 8.

“We had a remarkable pool of applicants and appreciated the number of people willing to step forward to serve. The finalists each bring experience and understanding of the complex array of issues facing the County. Each would hit the ground running and be a very effective addition to the Council,” said Levinson and Okazaki.

The committee’s criteria for evaluation of candidates included:

• Knowledge of the functions of King County government;
• Knowledge of the issues and challenges facing King County government;
• Knowledge of the issues affecting the constituents of Council District 8;
• A demonstrated ability to develop a responsible budget;
• A demonstrated ability to respond to public concerns; and
• Demonstrated leadership skills.

The County Council has final authority for making the appointment. The Council is expected to take action by Monday, December 14, the last Council meeting of 2009.